KarenAmelia
Member Since 2012
My cat had a dramatic drop in BG this last 12 hours: from in the 300 and 400s yesterday to today: 378 preinjection, 114 at +6, and 133 at next preinjection. My vet says to continue with the 2 units of Lantus as before, but with such a low reading I'm concerned she'll become hypoglycemic in the next 12 hours. I did change the cat's diet from dry, high carb, to low carb canned just in the past two days. Should I listen to my vet (which I'm skeptical about) or should I give a lower dose, such as 1 unit? He doesn't know about the change in diet, because he told me not to change the cat from her dry high carb food until regulation occurred.
Should I err on the side of caution or stick with the higher dose?
Should I err on the side of caution or stick with the higher dose?