Hi all,
Not sure whether this might help anyone, but I thought I'd share a little potentially relevant info about Saoirse's treatment.
Saoirse was started out by the diagnosing vet on the "doggy protocol": Hill's w/d Dry and Caninsulin. (Note: In the UK at that time Caninsulin was only licensed insulin for cats and legally vets had to prescribe that first. Only when it could be demonstrated that a cat was not well-regulated on Caninsulin could other insulins be considered.) Saoirse got up to a dose of 3IU BID and was still poorly regulated because of poor duration of the insulin and the
insane amount of carbs in the prescribed food.
Switched to a different vet who supported home testing, low carb wet diet, etc. (Had been a sugar cat poppa for over 10 years himself, and it showed!)
With the diet change Saoirse's insulin needs plummeted (w/d Dry is basically kitty cornflakes) but she still needed a little insulin. It became impossible to give small enough doses of Caninsulin (not safe due to size of drops it typically produces).
Here's
Saoirse's 2014 Spreadsheet. (Alphatrak 2 meter, custom colour coding - see top of table for key to BG ranges, but the two darker shades of green are roughly the equivalent of blues <150 and greens in the FDMB standard spreadsheet.)
If you look at Saoirse's numbers for July/August, you can see that I had to stop insulin treatment with Caninsulin for dosing safety reasons (I would not be happy with a cat on Caninsulin on any dose likely to produce a nadir below 100mg/dL on Alphatrak). Our vet was willing to prescribe Lantus but wanted to see how Saoirse would do on her own first because he thought she was in remission. Saoirse's numbers were initially OK but a few days without the insulin support and her numbers started heading north again. (Note: the removal of insulin support also triggered a pancreatitis flare-up, and I've seen similar happen with a few other cats here
[ETA - very shortly after they went OTJ].)
With the switch to Lantus Saoirse did much better. I was able to give insulin for longer because Lantus typically does not produce precipitous drops in BG levels so it is possible to administer at lower PS levels without taking the cat too low at nadir. The small dose of Lantus enabled Saoirse's insulin treatment to continue safely for a longer period, allowing time for the pancreas to rest and heal further. Her first Lantus OTJ trial didn't quite take, but because of Lantus' 'gentler' action profile I was able to continue with microdoses safely for a while longer. Her second OTJ trial was successful.
Maybe for kitties on Caninsulin, Prozinc, etc., who are
almost in remission but just can't quite get there due to dosing safety constraints, it might be worth considering switching to Lantus* to provide them with that little bit of extra support to get them those last few steps along the path to the Falls.
Mogs
* (Don't know enough about Levemir to suggest it here but it might be another contender.)
.