Need Advice again Paula & kitty Michael

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
I sent Michael's bgs for the past week to the vet. For the past 2 days I have been giving 1u bid if 200 or over.The vet suggested i give him 1u bid if 300 or over as she believes he is better. I feel i need to stay with the 1u bid if 200 or over so the insulin
can settle. I'm confused again. Please look at the SS. Also need to know if the bounce has cleared.
Thanks to all in advance.
Paula
 
I myself would reduce the dose, It seems that 1 is too much. Since lantus is a depot insulin, missing does leads to inconsistent BGs.
I would try 1/2 or 3/4 unit.
 
Thanks for the reply, Larry.
His amps was 53. He had gone from 214 pmps( last night 7/25/14) to 53 this Morning. I wanted to be safe so I didn't shoot.
( being as confused as I am, I don't think I have enough data to shoot low #'s.) I will test again to see which way he is going.
Reducing the dose sounds reasonable to me.
Paula
 
I think you were right, not to shoot the 53 at AMPS, and I agree that you should try to reduce the dose to 0.75 units if you can see it okay. Do you have the syringes with the 1/2 unit marks on them? Yes, to your question about whether Michael has cleared the bounce, but he may be working on a new one, now.

Good luck with the new dose. You are doing a good job.
 
Hi, Dyana and a big thank you.
I just tested. Bg is 327 so he bounced again. The vet said to give 1u bid only if he tested 300 or over before i give the insulin.
I'm only going to give .75 and if I can't see I will give .5u. Now do I give this same dose until the bounce clears? I will also need for someone to look at the SS. to tell me that this new bounce has cleared. I realize it will take about 3days.
Paula
 
Lantus works better for most kitties if you can keep the dose consistent. So yes, try to hold the dose for at least 6 cycles or 3 days, UNLESS Michael drops below 50 on a human meter. Some cats take longer to settle into a dose, 5-7 days so you may need some patience pants.

What's your favorite color? I'll send along a pair of patience pants from my vast lending closet. These will have to do for now.

They kind of match the rainbow colors of his spreadsheet.
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 234
Deb, thanks, for the reply.
I like the pants you sent me. The colors are nice & bright, and yes they certainly do mach M's SS. The colors help make me feel better.
I couldn't see that well to give .75 so I think he got .5. I'll try and stick to this dose.
Even though i'm frustrated and confused, I'm learning patience. The pants are a very cute idea and will always remind to be patient.
Thanks again,
Paula
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top