Need a little help 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SashaV

Member Since 2020
Link to previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-a-little-help.229604/

SS up to date.
I'm so excited to see her PMPS! Today has been the most stable day ever. A bit high, but overall stable.

When does PZI peak?
When will I see the full effect? And when will I see if it's time to change dose?
Hold for at least three cycles right? I won't change dose on my own.

I really want to test her during PM cycle, and I will. I get up multiple times every night but I'm simply not trustworthy with a needle, but I do make sure she's fine.
 
Prozinc's peak depends on the cat. Keep doing spot checks every day and you will notice a pattern on when Mauer dips the lowest.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit (note: ANY time she drops under 90 change the next dose to 0.25 units less)
Here is the Prozinc Dosing Method thread for you to review:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
 
Prozinc's peak depends on the cat. Keep doing spot checks every day and you will notice a pattern on when Mauer dips the lowest.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit (note: ANY time she drops under 90 change the next dose to 0.25 units less)
Here is the Prozinc Dosing Method thread for you to review:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
So no specific time to test?
Usually I test before and +6 between shots
 
Those are good times to test but it would help if you were getting a couple more in as well. You want to be able to see the whole picture; when the insulin starts to take effect (usually 1-2 hours after injection) and where it dips (usually 4-7 hours after injection). You can do this by alternating days - for example, one day you can test at +1, +3, and +5, and the next day test at +2, +4, and +6.

Once you find out when Mauer's onset is (onset is when the insulin starts to kick in), you can check every day you're able to see where the dose is going to take her that day. If her BG has dropped noticeably, you'll know to be on guard to make sure she doesn't drop too much later in the cycle.
 
Those are good times to test but it would help if you were getting a couple more in as well. You want to be able to see the whole picture; when the insulin starts to take effect (usually 1-2 hours after injection) and where it dips (usually 4-7 hours after injection). You can do this by alternating days - for example, one day you can test at +1, +3, and +5, and the next day test at +2, +4, and +6.

Once you find out when Mauer's onset is (onset is when the insulin starts to kick in), you can check every day you're able to see where the dose is going to take her that day. If her BG has dropped noticeably, you'll know to be on guard to make sure she doesn't drop too much later in the cycle.
Aaah good idea! Holy cow that's a lot of testing. And a lot of teststrips. Those aren't cheap :woot:
 
Haha true! That's why we go with the cheapest meter!
And you'll see some people here only get a couple spot checks in a day and others that do 6+ a day. There's no hard and fast rule.
Personally for me if I saw if my girl was running a little high that day I wouldn't waste the strips/bother her with testing as much.
 
Haha true! That's why we go with the cheapest meter!
And you'll see some people here only get a couple spot checks in a day and others that do 6+ a day. There's no hard and fast rule.
Personally for me if I saw if my girl was running a little high that day I wouldn't waste the strips/bother her with testing as much.
I already have the cheapest meter. Still they cost 75-100$ for 100 strips
They go fast with 5 tests a day :banghead:
 
I already have the cheapest meter. Still they cost 75-100$ for 100 strips
They go fast with 5 tests a day :banghead:
Nope, you don’t. I had freestyle and just switched over to ReliOn from Walmart. It’s $9.99 and $17.99 for 100 test strips. If you do want to stay with Freestyle the best deal I found is on affordablediabetic you can use “save5” code for 5% off and 100 strips will cost you $56
 
Exactly.
However.. the meter and strips are cheaper overseas. I just don't know if my insurance covers. And if UK means business about Brexit I'll need to learn German in a rush.
US is out of the question I'll have to pay taxes and duties witch is about 50% of the cost.
Oh while I have a cheaper meter I don’t have pet insurance so you’re still winning lol! :p Love your country btw and have a good friend from college who went back and is there
 
Oh while I have a cheaper meter I don’t have pet insurance so you’re still winning lol! :p Love your country btw and have a good friend from college who went back and is there
I'm so glad for the insurance but it starts over every 125 days. That 160$ to get coverage. The 125 days runs out in a week, and I'm moving next month and my own health insurance also starts over in june. I might have to eat the dry food myself!
Then you'll have to visit! Learn all about "hygge" and jump a bicycle everywhere you go! :D:D
 
Id do some research and see what you can find. It is the cost of the test strips that are the ongoing cost. It is hard when the strips are so expensive. I feel your pain.
I found a supplier on eBay who sold for a good price and I got all my strips from her. Earlier I got them from all over the world. Even South America.
 
Id do some research and see what you can find. It is the cost of the test strips that are the ongoing cost. It is hard when the strips are so expensive. I feel your pain.
I found a supplier on eBay who sold for a good price and I got all my strips from her. Earlier I got them from all over the world. Even South America.
I am researching. Right now I'm looking in France.
You use freestyle optium? Is those strips not identical to freestyle precision neo?
 
Like so? :oops:
 

Attachments

  • 20200521_090424.jpg
    20200521_090424.jpg
    28.6 KB · Views: 83
  • 20200521_090430.jpg
    20200521_090430.jpg
    29.5 KB · Views: 90
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top