Nava march 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

nava075

Member Since 2014
I have no idea what to name this or if i am in the correct spot. Sorry. I hope everone that helped me yesterday can find this. I have filled out Nava's chart so far today. exept I did only give him one unit instead of 2 this morning. I got worried because he had 210 for a number this morning and that has been his lowest number ever in the morning. He did move while I was giving him his shot today so I dont know if he really got it or not. I went home for an early lunch and tested him since I couldnt give him insulin early enough to have my husband test him at 8. He is now at 345. I will probably do this till I get him to 6 am shot. I havent called the vet yet. I am a little nervous. I do believe in you guys I just have to get my facts together for him first. I called around to my local pharmacy and they do not do box of syringes with out perscriptions and said i could get 10 for $10.00. I called walmart and they said if I filled the perscription there they would do it or will do it if the vet calls. Their 10 pack is $2.00. So i will run to Walmart right after work and get 10. I am sure this vet will be fine with it all he is super nice but I dont want to try and explain something I am confused about.
I do have a question about the insulin. So how late is too late and how early is too early? Mondays are busy. Tonight is worse then normal Mondays. Normally I will give Nava his insulin at 745 when i get back from running around. his usual time is 630ish on week days and i try to keep it around 7 on weekends. Today he didnt have it till 6:55 since it was so late last night. The vet said if it was with in an hour or 2 (2 pushing it) not a big deal but anything after that skip if you dont make it in time. I want to make sure I am doing this correctly. I do love Nava to pieces and i do want the best for him but some days I cannot be 2 places at once. How do I make this all work?
 
Yesterday you posted on the tight regulation board - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. Your post was here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114739&p=1208745#p1208745.

This current post is on health ( look above where it says ‹ FELINE HEALTH: The Main FDMB Forum).

Anyway I suspect todays results are a direct response to him dropping into green yesterday - his body isn't used to normal numbers and is overreacting. This overreaction this will pass in a day or two and you will then see how the new 2 unit dose is actually working.

If you can update your SS to put 1 unit for this morning if you only gave 1?

Try and give the shots within 12 hours of each other - give or take 30 minutes. say 7am and 7pm?

Wendy
 
Hi again Becky!!

The quick thing regarding the syringes (and cheaper) would be to call your vet and tell him that you have learned that the "dial a dose" isn't really accurate for small doses, and would like him to call in a prescription for regular insulin syringes. U100 3/10mL 31 gauge (or 30), 8mm needle length with 1/2 unit markings. WalMart has these in their Relion Brand (although some pharmacists don't realize they are in 1/2 unit markings)

That way you wouldn't necessarily have to say much to your vet yet if you're not comfortable with it yet.

It's important that we find a time that works for you every day, as close to 12 hours apart as possible. I was thinking last night maybe 6am? That way it seems you could usually get a +2 (or your husband could) on the way out the door. I know it's not great waking up earlier than necessary, but the knowledge that you're going to have a much better idea of how Nava will do that day while you're at work is well worth it (in my opinion)......and if you do get a +2 that's lower than the Pre-shot, you'll know that it's more important for you to try to maybe get home over lunch for a +6 or so....OR you can leave a little higher carb food down for Nava. Most cats will get hungry if their blood glucose drops low, so leaving a higher carb food down when you're pretty sure he's going to go low during the day is another trick we use if you can't make it home to test.

You say you only gave 1 unit this morning, but you have 2 units on your spreadsheet.

At this point, it's better for you to go ahead and continue posting on the Lantus Tight Regulation Forum like you did yesterday. Everyone there uses Lantus and you'll get the most experienced eyes watching over you there.

Each day, you start a new post (we call them condo's) and put the date, cat's name and the AMPS number, so today's would look like this 3/3 Nava AMPS 210

Then, as you get tests during the day, you go back to that first subject line and "edit" it and add your tests, so today's would now look like 3/3 Nava AMPS 210,+3 345

In the body of the condo, you'd give the WCR (Whole Cat Report)..How Nava is doing. Good appetite? How are the 5 P's? (Purring, playing, preening, peeing, pooping) Anything you think would be helpful in helping us get to know your wonderful cat! This is also where you'd ask any questions.

Also, it's important that you put the link to the prior condo in too. You just copy the link address to the prior post, click on the URL tab, and "paste" the link in. It would look like Your Link Here[url] Don't worry......d lots of questions. We really do understand!
 
Awesome info. I really had no idea where to put this post. I can move or change it right now but I can change it later to read his numbers. I am trying to get him to 6o'clock I know this would work best for us. I am jus worried about the days where life happens. What then? I am at work so I am doing this from my phone. I will correct the spread sheet this evening.
 
Chris & China said:
U100 3/10mL 31 gauge (or 30), 8mm needle length with 1/2 unit markings. WalMart has these in their Relion Brand (although some pharmacists don't realize they are in 1/2 unit markings)
There are actually two different lengths of insulin syringe needles that come with half-unit markings:
  • u100, 3/10cc, 31gauge, 5/16" (8mm), "short" needle
  • u100, 3/10cc, 29gauge, 1/2" (12.7mm), "long"needle
 
Depending on your state, you may not even need a prescription for the syringes. Call the pharmacy to see if a script is required.
 
Life happens to all of us Becky, and we just have to deal with it when it does. Since each time "it" happens, the circumstances will be different, it's hard to tell you in advance what to do about it.

You can either leave this one here for today, or go ahead and transfer the link to this one over to the Lantus forum and continue from there as you get more tests in.
 
3/3 Nava PMPS 480

Thank you everyone for checking in on us. Nava is much better today. im just sitting down after a very busy day. I talked to the vet he is getting me the needles but i did stop by walmart and his call hadnt come in yet so they gave me reli on 1/2mlcc 30 gauge 8mm, I dont know if this is what he is prescribing me i did explain to him I wanted some on hand if we needed them. he totally agreed. He is saying he should be on 1 unit 2x a day. Whats your take on this?
 
Hi Becky!

I usually post on the Lantus Tight Reg forum - just read your adventure from yesterday. so glad you caught Nava's blood sugar yesterday and were able to get help to take care of him.

Last night you reduced to 2u and this morning to 1u. Looks like tonight's shot was 1u also.

We say that Lantus "likes" consistency. What we know is that for many cats, when the dose gets changed it's a bit like you set a boat rocking and you have to wait while things settle down. I think now that you've given 2 shots at 1u I would hold it there and let it settle, then we can re-evaluate what it's doing. It's easier on the nerves to go up in dose than have too high of one. Now that you've got the syringes you'll be able to fine tune the dosing. That's essential with cats. You'll find that an adjustment of one-quarter of one unit (0.25u) will make a difference in his blood sugar.

So for now, hold the dose. When you post tomorrow, follow this link to the Lantus TR forum and click "New Topic" in red, right above the heavy blue line on the left side of the page. That'll get you to where you were yesterday.
 
For now, since you've given him 1 unit this morning and tonight, that's a good place to start.

Now you want to hold that dose for at least 6 cycles total (so at least 4 more cycles) and try to get tests in at different times in both the AM and PM cycle.

Glad you got the insulin syringes! That will make your dosing much more consistent!

I wish vets understood that although the pens are great for getting the most "bang for the buck", they're lousy for dosing our kitties!

See you tomorrow in Lantus Land!!
 
Thank you all and goodnight. I will be on the right chat tomorrow.. But i cannot promise i wont mess something
 
We don't expect perfection until at least your 50'th post Becky :lol:

Don't stress about it. Soon you'll be posting like a pro and we'll help you!
 
Re: 3/3 Nava PMPS 480

nava075 said:
I talked to the vet he is getting me the needles but i did stop by walmart and his call hadnt come in yet so they gave me reli on 1/2mlcc 30 gauge 8mm, I dont know if this is what he is prescribing me i did explain to him I wanted some on hand if we needed them.
As long as they're u100, you can use these, however, it's going to be much harder spotting the dose. Going forward, you want 3/10cc sized syringes for the smaller doses we use in our cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top