Napoleon AMPS - 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,

So... this morning was a doozy. I took Napoleon's BG at our normal time. It was 83. He is definitely a spiker after he eats so I felt comfortable waiting 15, 20 minutes testing again and if he was rising then shoot. 15 minutes later he was 96, so I shot our usual 3u fat and went about getting ready for work until I tested before I left. While I was in the shower he vomited EVERYTHING up. So, I fed him again and he ate and kept it down and left out more food for him after I tested him at +1 and he was 112, he definitely didn't spike like I thought he would. So he ate a lot this morning, definitely much more than usual. I took an early lunch and flew home to test him fearing that he would have dropped too low but he was 344!!!! My question is - could the extra food spike him that high? Next time I will feel more confident shooting low cause I know his numbers will rise, but the low number plus the vomiting scared the bejesus out of me this morning since I wouldn't be home. He is positively energetic today literally bouncing off the walls when I stopped home so I think he is feeling better than this morning :smile:
 
I think the 344 is a bounce from low numbers.

I really, really, really want to encourage you to get at minimum, a before bed test every night. You have no idea where Napoleon's numbers came from this morning or how low he went over night. It is even possible he was in the 40s last night. Gabby has been known to go from pre-shots at both ends in the 400s to a nadir in the 40s where she earned a dose reduction. Napoleon's numbers dropped over night and you caught an AMPS with numbers on their way up. The fluctuation in numbers is probably why he was so hungry.

I would not base shooting low and then leaving on today. If you are going to shoot this low, especially the first time you are shooting a green, it's best if you are home to catch at least +1 and +2. Please take a look at the data ready sticky.

I just want to make sure that you aren't basing safety issues on a food spike. Usually, the bump up from food doesn't last very long. In a perfect cycle, your AMPS and +2 should be about the same. The spike is at +1.
 
Thanks Sienne. I was actually thinking the same thing about him dropping low overnight.
This definitely makes sense. I am going to test more tonight and get up early tomorrow to test an hour before his shot.

He may need a reduction, that would definitely be nice!
 
Dido what Sienne said and we sent the bedtime spot check police after people sometimes... :lol:

Also, here's another trick... and I admit it wasn't my favourite but it became essential...

before you leave in the AM... if you are anything like me and leave yourself little time after the shot time to monitor, get a PMPS + 11. Yes that means getting up a little earlier, but if you see a blue or green number, you have a few minutes to get yourself together, thinks things through and even come on the board to ask questions. JD/Dyana has done that many many times.

I hope this is helpful.
 
Thanks Helene. Did that this morning with testing at +11, but he was still high. He had an inverse curve last night bouncing from the rebound. I only gave him 3u last night instead of 3fat to see how he reacted to it. I gave him his usual 3fat this morning and I will be running home at lunch to test. I'll do the same with overnight and +11 testing tomorrow on a 3fat dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top