The Libre has a few down falls, it reads lower on low numbers, it tends to stop working before the 14th day, that's how long the sensors work for, so every 14 days it needs to be removed and re-shave the area and place a new on, you can do this yourself you do not need the vet for this. and YES! they are expensive. the numbers on Corky's Spreadsheet will time will be your numbers as well, there is no difference, Corky is regulated, as you saw I shoot at low numbers, after the injection did you give some food? 53 is banging it , in another words Bob needs to eat several times a day, did you lower the dose 0.25u as Suzanne advice you? We need you to create a new Thread we like to keep our threads with no more than 50, because of yesterday's emergency we are at 100, you can name your title the same but place continuation in the front, one of the member will joint this thread with the new one, so your title is going to be "Continuation of Bob's Staff", by the way Bob is Gorgeous. You know I had so many trials and tribulations at the beginning, that I made it very simple, I just go by the numbers on the meter the BG, I constantly read the word Nadir, I am aware of what those numbers are, but I needed to make it simple or was going to lose my head, I spend 3 months after Corky left the hospital after 8 days with a BG of 650 and had lost 8.5 lbs,. without his all-time vet, he fired me, I left the hospital with a bag of supplies a simple explanation and told that a diabetic cat's BG needed to be between 200-300 , and a Libre sensor that fell off that same evening, when I went to the vet he said sorry I can't! I had no idea what I was doing or how, like I said I banged it for 3 months, I kept researching on the Web, and Corky's numbers were all over the place, sleepless nights, crying fits, not eating, I would not leave my house, it was a nightmare, until by coincidence I found this Forum, so I only based his numbers, ( a non diabetic cat's BG should be between 50- 120), the easy way what the meter says, what his Pre-shot numbers are. it took almost 2 years for me to get used to shoot on 2 digits BG, is a process to be learned and have guts, but after the first Hypo and the issue with the Libre, I became a compulsive tester, today I'm
thankful for this forum, Suzanne gave me a very powerful phrase " Take a step Back, Breath in, Breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress, you stress they stress" and I began to say those words in my head every time something went wrong, or it was time to test, at the beginning of learning how to hand test I used as many as 5 strips, but the first time I got it the first time, I said out loud "I GOT THIS"
I began to have confidence in myself, and got better at it and with the assistance of Suzanne and other members, I was willing to do whatever it took for Corky, I adopted him from the shelter at 8 weeks old at a very dark time in my life, he was 10 when diagnosed, he would get on my laps and licked my tears away, so believe me I KNOW your desperation, but it gets better, Bob knows you love him, you can try associating testing with a small bit of a snack, low carb, right after testing, soon the capillaries will swell and it will be a breeze to get blood. You are doing great!