Nadir within 2 hours and glucose dropping to lower values, help?

This is Corky’s ese the red part is the sweet spot, where I test, notice the swollen capillaries
IMG_4322.png
 
Last edited:
The Libre has a few down falls, it reads lower on low numbers, it tends to stop working before the 14th day, that's how long the sensors work for, so every 14 days it needs to be removed and re-shave the area and place a new on, you can do this yourself you do not need the vet for this. and YES! they are expensive. the numbers on Corky's Spreadsheet will time will be your numbers as well, there is no difference, Corky is regulated, as you saw I shoot at low numbers, after the injection did you give some food? 53 is banging it , in another words Bob needs to eat several times a day, did you lower the dose 0.25u as Suzanne advice you? We need you to create a new Thread we like to keep our threads with no more than 50, because of yesterday's emergency we are at 100, you can name your title the same but place continuation in the front, one of the member will joint this thread with the new one, so your title is going to be "Continuation of Bob's Staff", by the way Bob is Gorgeous. You know I had so many trials and tribulations at the beginning, that I made it very simple, I just go by the numbers on the meter the BG, I constantly read the word Nadir, I am aware of what those numbers are, but I needed to make it simple or was going to lose my head, I spend 3 months after Corky left the hospital after 8 days with a BG of 650 and had lost 8.5 lbs,. without his all-time vet, he fired me, I left the hospital with a bag of supplies a simple explanation and told that a diabetic cat's BG needed to be between 200-300 , and a Libre sensor that fell off that same evening, when I went to the vet he said sorry I can't! I had no idea what I was doing or how, like I said I banged it for 3 months, I kept researching on the Web, and Corky's numbers were all over the place, sleepless nights, crying fits, not eating, I would not leave my house, it was a nightmare, until by coincidence I found this Forum, so I only based his numbers, ( a non diabetic cat's BG should be between 50- 120), the easy way what the meter says, what his Pre-shot numbers are. it took almost 2 years for me to get used to shoot on 2 digits BG, is a process to be learned and have guts, but after the first Hypo and the issue with the Libre, I became a compulsive tester, today I'm
thankful for this forum, Suzanne gave me a very powerful phrase " Take a step Back, Breath in, Breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress, you stress they stress" and I began to say those words in my head every time something went wrong, or it was time to test, at the beginning of learning how to hand test I used as many as 5 strips, but the first time I got it the first time, I said out loud "I GOT THIS"
I began to have confidence in myself, and got better at it and with the assistance of Suzanne and other members, I was willing to do whatever it took for Corky, I adopted him from the shelter at 8 weeks old at a very dark time in my life, he was 10 when diagnosed, he would get on my laps and licked my tears away, so believe me I KNOW your desperation, but it gets better, Bob knows you love him, you can try associating testing with a small bit of a snack, low carb, right after testing, soon the capillaries will swell and it will be a breeze to get blood. You are doing great!
Waw, I admire your perseverance, even though in the end you have no choice, just like me. I guess I will succeed in this challenge too after a while, because we have been through a lot together the past two years with all his other conditions.
The Libre is attached for three days now, so it should not have reached its end, hopefully! Most of the time it gave an error today, sometimes it pops up again. I read online it gives errors when there are too much swings in the values, thinking of itself it doesn't work properly anymore and therefore disabling itself. It is time for his next shot now, and the Libre showed only 139. I couldn't believe it so I tested manually with my own gluco meter (after three attempts I finally managed to get some blood!) and surprisingly enough it also read 131. So I guess the value of 53 that the Libre showed from time to time in the afternoon when he hadn't disappeard was also correct then and our Bob was low all afternoon ... That means I should not give his shot tonight because he will definitely go down too much then. Should I give it at night when he goes too high then? Or do I always wait until the next dose time, even when having skipped one?

So he seems to be bouncing up and down a lot, do you know if that means anything?

I do try to give him food after his shot, but since he does not want to eat, that's difficult... However, with these lower numbers, he did attempt to eat something today all by himself so maybe they do make him feel better. I just don't want him to go below 50 and you have less control once the insulin shot has been given and the decrease has started while kitty does not eat....
 
This is Corky’s ese the red part is the sweet spot, where I test, notice the swollen capillaries View attachment 75884
These are huge, what a difference! How long does ik take to become that big? It looks a lot easier with a size like that. So to get them like that, I guess I always have to use that particular spot over and over again when measuring?
 
Sorry, I was doing all the errands I have neglected all week, the capillaries take just about two weeks to swell, you pinch thru the sweet spot vein the picture I send you, you can alternate ears, unfortunately at least for Corky, I have used the same ear for 3 years, I have never ever been able to draw blood from her right ear, look at Bob's ear with a flashlight from the inside of the ear so you can see where the vein is and memorize it, I still to this day use the flashlight I that stays on and place it in my mouth, Corky's hair is dark, so I can see the droplet of blood
 
Is liquid snack high enough in carbs? We only have renal food, a 1000 calories per kg, is that a good reference? We are new to this and totally not prepared for these low numbers. He wouldn’t go there with his acromegaly, the vet said… Oh boy 🫣
Thanks for your precious support!!!
I will continue reading the rest of your posts, but why are u not calling the emergency number for your vet, 1.5 sounds too high. When I gave 1.5 units of a shorter acting insulin (caninsulin) to my cat with 255 before food, she dropped down to 148 before the nadir and at at 6 or 7 hours post insulin, 99, and my vet said FEED HER NOW! and continue checking. She took her down to 1.0 units and wants her to get used to that dose again first, and see what her levels do.
 
Please stop posting on a thread initiated by Bob’s Staff. Bob jas passed away and we do not want to keep resurrecting and hijacking this thread.
 
Back
Top