Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
Cinco's vet is not happy with the way his numbers have been fluctuating. She especially doesn't like the fact that he has dipped into the 40s and 50s a couple of times. She is not a fan of the Tight Regulation protocol and wants his BG above 100. She did a complete blood panel and urinalysis to make sure there is nothing else going on, and everything was fine. She has told me to take him off the insulin for a few weeks and to just monitor his BG. She says as long as it's below 300, it's fine. She has suggested we try an herbal supplement called Myrtle Seng, which has been shown to regulate blood sugar in humans. She says she has seen it used in cats with success. I was wondering if anyone on the Board has ever heard of it, or used it? We just aren't sure this is the right course for Cinco. We don't like the 200s he's been having, but we didn't like the high pre-shot numbers and low post shot numbers he had on the .5 units, either! I plan to do a curve tomorrow to see how he does throughout the day without the insulin. Any feedback would be much appreciated.