NiandraLaDes21
Member Since 2020
Hi everyone,
I need help figuring out this insulin dosage with Prozinc. I feel I don't know what I am doing. I am not as clueless as the beginning, but I am slowly learning, especially after having come across this forum a couple of days ago. My vet on Wednesday after getting the results of my cat's fructosamine thinks that Chia's insulin needs to increase to 3.0 units. I am scared this is a big jump from 2.0 units, so I only increased it to 2.25 units that Wednesday evening to see what it does. His AMPS/PMPS since the dose increase are lower now....maybe too low from what I am learning in this forum. In fact, I am thinking that I am supposed to skip his insulin dose tonight if it is still below 200. I am doing Chia's first blood glucose curve today. I understand I am supposed to wait 7 days after the change in dosage, but I gave him insulin this morning with a AMPS of 78. I figured I may as well do the BG curve so I can monitor the effect of the insulin dose.
Background on Chia's diabetes diagnosis. My cat Chia had a case of pancreatitis in late September 2019 and was diagnosed as diabetic in October 2019. He was severely dehydrated and not eating . They had to put a feeding tube and spent a few weeks at the vet. He recovered, but the vet told me he needed to be on insulin. She recommended 2.0 units of Prozinc every 12 hours.
Prior to Chia's diagnosis, he was already on a raw food diet. I give him Bobcat' s Raw Foods (from a local business here in Texas) and also Stella and Chewy's dehydrated raw food that is reconstituted with water. I used to leave extra food for both my cats since v they tend to be grazers, but now I am checking his portion size to make sure he is not overeating. I also used to give him this cheese popcorn from Trader Joe's whenever I was snacking on it (he would beg for it....he seems to like corn and breads....i have to make sure such items are out of reach from him), but since his diagnosis, I no longer give him popcorn or other human food. I believe the popcorn was what triggered the initial pancreatitis because I had given Chia some a couple of days prior to his getting sick. I hadn't had that popcorn in a while and that was the only thing that changed prior to his getting sick.
When Chia was at the hospital with a feeding tube, they gave him a prescription diabetic canned cat food (Purina DM, I believe). Since returning home, I have put him back on his raw food.
I started testing his BG at home in November 2019 when I bought the AlphaTrak2 the vet recommended. I wasn't that consistent with checking. I was merely keeping track of the numbers to show the vet. I also think I wasn't as consistent with the 12 hour window now that I look back at my readings.
Chia had another bout of pancreatitis in mid-January 2020. He wasn't eating like normal and he was in pain. The vet gave me some meds to help get him out of pain and back to eating (cerenia, Bupernex, mirataz). I took Chia for a follow-up visit on Tuesday 2/4/2020 and they did some bloodwork. On Wednesday, 2/5/2020, the vet told me Chia's fructosamine was too high still and recommends increasing his dose to 3.0 units. I only increased to 2.25 units because of my concern of it being too much of a change.
For the past couple of weeks, I also have been trying to give him smaller meals throughout the day rather than 2 large meals. On the days I work, I separate the cats and give him one large meal. Then I give him 2 smaller meals in the evening. I am looking into investing in a times feeder for when I am at work.
Any advice on what I should do? Here is his spreadsheet. Thank you so much for whoever created this template. It is very helpful!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...ufU0t7228kEIG7gLPk5KNKL3sZI/edit?usp=drivesdk
I need help figuring out this insulin dosage with Prozinc. I feel I don't know what I am doing. I am not as clueless as the beginning, but I am slowly learning, especially after having come across this forum a couple of days ago. My vet on Wednesday after getting the results of my cat's fructosamine thinks that Chia's insulin needs to increase to 3.0 units. I am scared this is a big jump from 2.0 units, so I only increased it to 2.25 units that Wednesday evening to see what it does. His AMPS/PMPS since the dose increase are lower now....maybe too low from what I am learning in this forum. In fact, I am thinking that I am supposed to skip his insulin dose tonight if it is still below 200. I am doing Chia's first blood glucose curve today. I understand I am supposed to wait 7 days after the change in dosage, but I gave him insulin this morning with a AMPS of 78. I figured I may as well do the BG curve so I can monitor the effect of the insulin dose.
Background on Chia's diabetes diagnosis. My cat Chia had a case of pancreatitis in late September 2019 and was diagnosed as diabetic in October 2019. He was severely dehydrated and not eating . They had to put a feeding tube and spent a few weeks at the vet. He recovered, but the vet told me he needed to be on insulin. She recommended 2.0 units of Prozinc every 12 hours.
Prior to Chia's diagnosis, he was already on a raw food diet. I give him Bobcat' s Raw Foods (from a local business here in Texas) and also Stella and Chewy's dehydrated raw food that is reconstituted with water. I used to leave extra food for both my cats since v they tend to be grazers, but now I am checking his portion size to make sure he is not overeating. I also used to give him this cheese popcorn from Trader Joe's whenever I was snacking on it (he would beg for it....he seems to like corn and breads....i have to make sure such items are out of reach from him), but since his diagnosis, I no longer give him popcorn or other human food. I believe the popcorn was what triggered the initial pancreatitis because I had given Chia some a couple of days prior to his getting sick. I hadn't had that popcorn in a while and that was the only thing that changed prior to his getting sick.
When Chia was at the hospital with a feeding tube, they gave him a prescription diabetic canned cat food (Purina DM, I believe). Since returning home, I have put him back on his raw food.
I started testing his BG at home in November 2019 when I bought the AlphaTrak2 the vet recommended. I wasn't that consistent with checking. I was merely keeping track of the numbers to show the vet. I also think I wasn't as consistent with the 12 hour window now that I look back at my readings.
Chia had another bout of pancreatitis in mid-January 2020. He wasn't eating like normal and he was in pain. The vet gave me some meds to help get him out of pain and back to eating (cerenia, Bupernex, mirataz). I took Chia for a follow-up visit on Tuesday 2/4/2020 and they did some bloodwork. On Wednesday, 2/5/2020, the vet told me Chia's fructosamine was too high still and recommends increasing his dose to 3.0 units. I only increased to 2.25 units because of my concern of it being too much of a change.
For the past couple of weeks, I also have been trying to give him smaller meals throughout the day rather than 2 large meals. On the days I work, I separate the cats and give him one large meal. Then I give him 2 smaller meals in the evening. I am looking into investing in a times feeder for when I am at work.
Any advice on what I should do? Here is his spreadsheet. Thank you so much for whoever created this template. It is very helpful!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...ufU0t7228kEIG7gLPk5KNKL3sZI/edit?usp=drivesdk
Last edited:
Deb, Thank you what you do here to help us......and thank you for explaining all of that. That you and others stick around well after you are not treating your own diabetic kitties is an enormous help. 