Hi Alex!
Great job getting the mid-cycle tests in, as well as the preshots! woot! I would encourage you to get at least one pm cycle test - if you test just before you go to bed it will tell a lot. Many cats have their lowest blood sugar at night.
Have you had a chance to look at the Tight Reg Protocol? The gist of it is that people are trying to get their cat's blood sugar into normal numbers (50-120) so that 1) their pancreas can heal if at all possible and/or 2) their organs are protected from damage from high blood sugar. We don't know in advance which cats are able to heal, but we do know that the sooner a newly diagnosed cat becomes regulated the better the chances are for that to happen.
This protocol has us testing a minimum of 3 times a day, most people probably test around 5 times per day, and adjusting the dose every few days to achieve control of their blood sugar. People who are at work all day can still follow it with some creativity - we have single people who work full time that manage to do it. If you are interested, I'd really encourage you to start to post on the
Tight Reg Insulin Support Group. There's nothing wrong with continuing to post here, but if you post there, you would have many more experienced Lantus users to keep an eye on you & help you as you move forward.
If you're not interested in that, there is also the option of the Relaxed Lantus group. There is a more comprehensive explanation of the two groups
here on the TR Protocol page.
For now, I'd just encourage you to keep on and make sure to get an evening cycle test in. The protocol does suggest:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
If Oz doesn't start getting some regular numbers below 300 by tomorrow evening, you could increase the dose by 0.5u on Tuesday morning.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
The reason the doses are adjusted frequently is to prevent a cat from sitting in higher numbers and having their body get used to those high numbers. Cats will grow to accept high blood sugar as normal and then it takes even more insulin to bring them back down into normal numbers. That's why the protocol suggests holding the dose for 5-7 days EXCEPT if the cat is experiencing high flat curves or is prone to ketones.
Given that it took him 4u of Novolin to just get into the high 100's, it's very likely he's going to need to have his dose increased.