My sick cat (symptoms)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wendy&Tiggy said:
hey! are you using the spreadsheet? :)

Sounds like he is bouncing from the low. I think also Carl will recommend a small dose decrease after that low. Maybe 1.25units instead of 1.5. When is his next shot due?

Wendy

I'm on the fence. Depends on what number shows up at +12.

Carl
 
Cannot post spreadsheet yet technical difficulties.Anyway Bennys PMPS BG 191 and getting ready to feed him his dinner.
Not sure what to shot.According to the scale I should only shot 1 to .5
 
He didn't bounce sky high, which is great:-)
You mentioned a scale. Did your vet give you one?

Some cats will be more sensitive to insulin after a low like that 37 today. I think the .5u dose sounds good to me.

Carl
 
Hi carl, I'm just wondering why Bennys BG was so low?.The instructions on dosing give you a recommended dose vs BG numbers.I called it a scale. .5 I guess, I think 1 unit seems to be to much... but what do I know.I could wait until later to dose maybe after Benny eats and his numbers go up .That will move his schedule up though.
 
His bg went that low because that dose on that preshot worked really well...maybe too well? There are other things at work inside his body every day as well. Insulin and food aren't the only things that influence his BG levels.

The instructions or scale you mentioned... can you post those here?

Carl
 
Saved spreadsheet to my computer.I am able to use it... but not able to transfer it to FDMB page.
 
No worries...first thing you need to do is set up a google docs account .. Click this link to do it https://www.google.com/accounts/NewAccount.

You do not need to have a gmail (email hosted by google) account. You can use your current email address and link it to the google account so you can have access to google docs.

Let me know when you have done that, then we can do the next step. :)
 
Chuck,
I just noticed in your sig that it says "freestyle lite". Have you always used that meter? Only asking because though I didn't use one, some members have noted that their freestyle meters were a problem, and that they found that overall, it gave lower readings than they got once they switched to other meters. Apparently there was some sort of problem with the new strips that freestyle made. I think they were called 'butterfly' strips.

Carl
 
I had one of those with the butterfly strips. Not only were they expensive but for anything over 200 they would read low.. So it would say 200 when Tiggy was much higher.. Like 300! It explained part of the problem I had regulating him!

Better going to Walmart and getting a relion or arkay. Cheaper and more accurate. I would get one too but they don't do them in Canada :(
 
Geee wiz ... just bought freestyle test strips $60.00 bucks. I purchased a reli-on meter last year first and was having a problem getting enough blood for the test.Someone then recommended the freestyle.
well I will try to use the relion again.
what meter works best with the least amount of a blood sample?
There is something else going on with benny other then just his BG numbers and his diabetes.His behavior as described in many of my other posts is just odd.This in not looking good.
all done with vet visits they have no idea whats going on as far as his behavior and they have no idea how to treat his diabetes properly.

Thanks for the info.

update

I just tested benny with both meters
freestyle BG 236
relion BG 343
TookTime off from work last week to do this the right way.... all this time and effort basicly useless.This is B.S
 
Chuck,
Go with the Relion, IMO. If you've been getting bogus numbers with the freestyle that might help with understanding what is going on with Benny.
Time to reset and regroup.
Carl
 
Hi Carl, Just a bit frustrated and venting thru my computer keys.So just to make sure... the relion is the most accurate then?
I have a (relion-confirm) from walmart.

Thanks again... you have been very helpful.
 
I can't say which meter would be "most accurate" but of the two you have, I'd pick the relion. I used the Relion micro on Bob. I can't recall anyone since I joined here saying they'd had any issues with the relion meters. But many noted problems with the freesyle strips last year.

From what I've seen, faith in your meter is very important.

Hey, venting is certainly allowed here :-)

Carl
 
Of the two meters you have the Relion is the better choice....love my Relion Micro that I have..right now it is my backup meter as it belonged to Maxwell who hasn't needed it in 2 years.

I tried to go back to some of your older posts to see what behavioral issues you were having but couldn't find them..Could they be from his numbers being so high? If so perhaps once we help you sort this all out and get his numbers down some of those will resolve on their own as well...I know Autumn was a behavioral mess to the point of me almost rehoming her again when her numbers were still threw the roof. Now that she is tightly regulated she is such a sweet heart it is like having a completely different kitty.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hi, Glad to hear your cats are doing better.
Most of my most recent posts have many of Bennys symptoms.I hope Benny shows improvment whens i get handle on his BG numbers.He really hasn't been in good health for a long time now.My mistake was relying on the vets advice and treatment for most of his issues.I can see now that was a big mistake.
The best decision I made was to come back to this site for help and advice.Everyone has been so helpful.

Chuck
 
Bennys BG. Thurs. Jan.24
starting plus +5 with relion meter.

AMPS 338 using freestyle lite meter. shot 1 u
+5 236 freestyle.
+5 343 relion.
PMPS 355 relion. shot 1.5 u
+ 4.5 306

I'm going to stick with the 1.5 u for now. if BGs numbers were consistently off because of freestyle meter...I'm thinking maybe the dose was off by 0.50... at least to the point where I left off.
 
Sticking to one meter is a good idea - and the relion is more reliable. (and cheaper).

Hows the google docs account coming along nag nag. ;)
 
Hi Wendy, Spreadsheet works well... easy to keep track of things(I guess thats the whole idea).
I have to change my browser to chrome if i post it on the FDMB website(not a fan of google).I will figure something out.Busy with other things right now.

Thanks ,Chuck
 
Hi Wendy,
I can see it...looks good did you use google chrome to post it ?
I guess I'll just come here to this site and look you guys up to solve all my problems(just joking of course).
Thank you for taking the time to set everything up.

Well Benny is having a big drop in his BG number again today I shot 2u for his AMPS his BG was 448.Just tested again at +4 and he dropped all the way down to 174-170 ( relion meter)tested twice.Was curious so I also used the freestyle which tested at 139 -141.I should have stayed at 1.50 u I guess. + 6.5 Bg 116 .Not sure.I will be back Later.

Chuck
 
you really need to keep to one dose amount and keep changing it up for each shot. you are going to continue to be frustrated because the bg;s are bouncing all over the place, because you are not being consistent with keeping to the same dose.

in time, as he gets more accustomed to insulin, you may be able to be more flexible with the dose, but jumping around as you are, you are not giving the insulin the chance to settle and to see what really is the correct dose.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
No I used safari... But it should work on Internet explorer too...

OK I have the spreadsheet from your latest post .I can retrieve it... but I cannot update it.The first spreadsheet you posted I downloaded to my computer. I'm able to access and update that one.Driving you bananas yet.
 
Bennys BG Jan. 25, 2013

AMPS 448 shot 2
+4 174
+6.5 117
+9 116
PMPS 75 no shot.
+2.5
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
lol. Do you have a google docs account - https://accounts.google.com/NewAccount? Dont think you need chrome to at least set one up. Once you do , if you give me the email address you use for it, I can probably 'share" this one with you and then you should be able to edit it.

Hi ,I don't have a docs account.I will see if there is a way around it.I don't like using google.
 
Wow. That's a nice PMPS number. :smile:
You had to skip on that number for sure. Did he eat already?

Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Wow. That's a nice PMPS number. :smile:
You had to skip on that number for sure. Did he eat already?

Carl

Hi carl,
I got a little worried this morning when bennys BG was so high again.i shot 2 u instead of the 1.50.Probably the wrong thing to do.
Numbers are real good today... but could that be another bounce? Benny did eat this morning.I did stop home at lunch and fed him half a can of fancy feast... but he didn't have much interest.Benny did eat his dinner though after his PMPS test.

Chuck
 
i shot 2 u instead of the 1.50.Probably the wrong thing to do.

Not necessarily the "wrong thing", Chuck. With Prozinc, it seems that a dose that is too high will do one of two things.

Either it will give you really low numbers by nadir (which is what you'd expect it to do), or, it seems to give some cats a longer than normal duration. That's what it looks like it did with Benny today. His numbers dropped pretty quick by +4, but then he sort of leveled off. Then, instead of climbing back up by the end of the cycle, or bouncing off the ceiling, his numbers just slowly continued to come down, and his "nadir" seems to have happened at PMPS time.

The down side may be that you'll need to now wait until the next scheduled shot time before you can give him more insulin. By that time, his numbers might have gone back up to yellow or pink ones. But if that happens, it happens, and today can be chalked up a "learning my cat". The same dose on the same number won't necessarily give you the same results next time. Next time, you might see the "normal" reaction to a too-high dose which would be a low number at nadir.

Either way, it looks like 2u was a bit too rich. I think I'd go back to 1.5u, try to stay with that for a couple of days, and then reevaluate the dose. Hopefully we'll see a repeating pattern that makes it easier to figure the dose out.

Beyond dosage questions, how's he doing? Does he seem to be feeling any better?

Carl
 
There isn't much improvement with his behavior.I guess time will tell.He is not acting like a normal healthy cat thats for sure.He has been using his litter box again the last 2 days now(Knock on wood).He urinates but it takes about a day or two for a B.M .

Thanks, Chuck
 
mmjr33 said:
Bennys BG. Thurs. Jan.24
starting plus +5 with relion meter.

AMPS 338 using freestyle lite meter. shot 1 u
+5 236 freestyle.
+5 343 relion.
PMPS 355 relion. shot 1.5 u
+ 4.5 306

I'm going to stick with the 1.5 u for now. if BGs numbers were consistently off because of freestyle meter...I'm thinking maybe the dose was off by 0.50... at least to the point where I left off.
 
Chuck,
By skipping, you've given yourself an opportunity to change his shot schedule if you want or need to. If his current one doesn't work for you, you can shoot earlier than your next shot would be due, and pick up a new 12 hour routine that is more convenient. Not saying you need to, it's just an option if you want to.
Carl
 
Hi, I opened a google account.If the current spreadsheet doesn't work ,i will start a new one.
 
ahahaha! I have brought you over to the dark side.. ;)

Anyway.. I added you to the editing rights. You should have gotten an email about it. Let me know if you can see /edit etc

Wendy
 
After that, it'd be a good idea to edit your email out of that post Chuck. We don't get overrun by spammers, but they do drop by at least once a week. No point attracting unwanted junk in your inbox.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top