My newly diagnosed diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.
It means, unlike novolin, you don't change the dose based on the preshot number you get.

For example, you might have a sliding scale for novolin on the dose you give. If you get a 300 at PS, you give so many units. If you get a 200, you give a different dose.

Lantus and Levemir don't work that way. We dose primarily on the nadir or the lowest number of the cycle. Lets say Gilbert was consistently getting a nadir between 60-80 but his preshots were 350. You wouldn't change the dose based on those high PS numbers. You would wait and see if his nadirs went lower...then you would reduce. OR, if they started trending much higher, you would likely increase.

Make sense?
 
I just gave Gilbert his insulin & he was only 175. That is a very low # for him pre-shot. Gave scheduled dose of 1.25u Lantus. Is that what I am supposed to do?...give shots even if low #. Seems like the Lantus is working :smile:
 
We dont advise newbies to shoot under 200 without help and data to support it. But its done now so now we need to be careful. So please get a test at +1 and let me know how its going

Also

1. do you have extra strips, syrup and HC food on hand?
2. Will you be home today?
3. when did you last feed?

There is a chance he could drop too low. We will need to test and keep a close eye on him.

Wendy
 
+1 is 188. I gave shot right before breakfast & he had 1/2 can FF. Low carb dry is out, but he hasn't eaten any. I have plenty of strips, HC food, & Karo & will be home most of the day. I will keep an eye on him. What am I supposed to do if #s are kind of low @ pre-shot time?
 
Ok cool. That reading is within meter error of the same reading as before.

Please get a +2. The Lantus will start to kick in then and that number will give us a real good idea of whats next.

What am I supposed to do if #s are kind of low @ pre-shot time?
Great question!

For the first time you see a number under 200, dont feed, dont shoot and come on here and post. Then take another test in 30minutes to see what he is doing. This is part of the reason we say to not feed for 2 hours before the shot, we want a preshot level that isnt influenced by food.

A member will be along to help and look at your SS, and then:

- If you have data for a couple of weeks say that shows typical trends and behaviour the insulin, the member will likely advise you to shoot and test frequently to make sure nothing unexpected happens. They will ask if you have enough strips to support testing and syrup/HC in case he looks like he will drop low and to bring him back up.

- If you dont have enough data then the member will advise you to skip but get a test in a few hours to see how the BG varies .

Assuming you do shoot, the next time we reduce your "no shoot" number to 175 or so. and repeat .


Wendy
 
As you collect data to show it will be safe, that pre-shot limit gets lowered. If you pop into the Lantus forum and review folks spreadsheets who have been on for a while, you'll be amazed at what can work to keep the cat in the most optimal glucose ranges.
 
Gilbert's +3 was 146...down from 188 @ +1 & pre-shot was 175. I can't find the booger for a +6. Probably he is in a shady spot somewhere...it is 90* here...he & his bubby are outdoor cats...they absolutely detest it indoors...(I mean tear the curtains down detest) I looked up in the woods where he usually goes, but no luck. I have to admit I am a little worried, but he is probably fine. I am going to try to find the Lantus forum.
 
Before you post in one of the Insulin Support Groups, they like you to have certain data available.

SS , good you have this.
Profile - instructions here. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
Having some additional basic information in your signature is helpful. Multiple different insulins are used in the ISG"s so this information can let people know at a glance to your signature if they have experience with your insulin.

Would you please provide us with some more information and put this in your user control panel? It helps us to help you better.

Go to the upper left corner of your screen and click on the words, User Control Panel
On the next screen, a row of tabs is presented. Select the Profile tab
On the next screen, there are a number of choices along the left hand side. Select Edit Profile.
Go down to the location field and enter your country, state/province, and city if you are willing to share that info.
Click on submit to save this change.

Still in the User Control Panel, Profile tab, this time select Edit Signature from the left hand list of options.
A free form text box appears.
We like to see information like your name, your cats name age and sex, the diagnosis date for the diabetes like this (DX 4/30/13), what meter you are using for testing, what insulin you are using , what you are feeding (wet or dry, what brands/style of food), any complicating health issues your cat may have, any additional medications your cat is receiving. If you are using a pet specific meter like an Alphatrak or Ipet, please change the font size on that text from Normal to Large (using the drop down arrow list in the middle of the editing commands)

Click on submit to save this information. Now, this will appear at the end of every post you make. You can update the info when you need to.

Think of this as having some very useful information at our finger tips for those that are replying to your posts.

Would you please do those updates when you get a chance? Thanks.

The profile is in addition to this info. See this link on the how to's. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
 
Deb, will try shortly to do that stuff. Thanks for the links & instructions. I tries to figure out how to do these things the other night, but did not succeed.

Wendy, he came back to the house about 1&1/2 hours after I could not find him, but have not been able to catch him yet. I will probably have to wait till supper time. I am so thankful he came back into sight. He is lounging & appears to be ok. He is a very timid cat when out in the open free spaces(can't catch), but when he comes to his pen @ night he is totally catchable & loves to be doted on & with the temps so hot here right now I can't keep him up all day...have to let them out to find good shade & cool spots.

Anyone have good info on how to keep cats in enclosures cool? Misters, cool pads, etc. I have been laying out towels & soaking w/ ice water, but they haven't touched them.
 
How about cement? My cats like to lay on the cement steps and walk when it's hot outside, like the cement is cooler than the dirt.
 
Garden shadecloth fastened over enclosure; from garden supply & home improvement stores.

Also shade screen - a thicker screen with almsot flat strips that cut some of the light and thus heat build up.

Ice cubes & cold water in insulated, chilled container.

Styrofoam cooler for shelter or insulate existing shelter to slow thermal transfer
freezer packs placed under towels (so no frostbite).

Trees or tall shrubs around the shelter - evergreen on north and west side to block winter winds (in northern hemisphere). Deciduous trees on east and south sides to block summer sun and provide shade
 
Dyana, thanks...your cat looks like my Baley :cool:

BJM, thanks for all the ideas...I have a tarp up...it really helps! I hate to plant a bunch of shrubs around because I don't want to block their view too much...they like to watch the deer & such :-D
 
Its a shame you lost him for a while there as he probably dropped low and tonite is a bounce as a result - would have been nice to get some tests then to see how low he went and whether a dose change was needed. Anyway he is looking like he is coming down from the bounce so it will be interesting to see his numbers tomorrow morning. Next time you shoot low or start to see low numbers I wouldnt let him out just in case you need to steer his BG.


a bounce...

When a cat is first diagnosed, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.
 
Good question,

First don't feed for two hours before the shot time so the number isn't influenced by food,
Then test. If he is under 175 don't shoot and don't feed and test again in 30mins to see if he is going up or down naturally.

Meanwhile come on here and post for help and someone will walk you through it. How are you doing for strips and HC food?

Read this in preparation too.. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147


Wendy
 
Keep holding the course. We need 5 days at least for the depot to build up..

remind me what kind of food you are feeding? wet dry? type brand?

Wendy
 
Tomorrow will be the 5th day. I am feeding very little dry still. A mixture of royal canin diabetic & blue wilderness. I checked & they actually have about the same amt of carbs...I guess what I have read about diabetic formulas is true...I think they are over-priced & not really good ingredients. Wet is FF low carb versions...seems like they like it a bit better than Friskies or 9 lives low carb wet, but aren't eating much at all. My Pete that gets fed w/ Gilbert is losing weight, but he can stand it I believe...it is summer & he was a little overweight anyways. I just don't want them to drop too low.
 
Wendy...did you mean switch to only wet? I am trying to get them off of dry, but without them eating much wet I am afraid to take it completely away just yet. I fed FF liver & ckn for supper & they both chowed down...maybe I have found 1 they like :roll:
 
Skip the shot. He is too low and you don't have the experience or data to know what he is going to do next.

Next time don't feed, don't shoot and come here and post, then retest in 30mins so we can see which way his BG is going.
Also don't feed for two hours before the shot as you need to ensure the preshot test isn't influenced by food,

Wendy
 
Thanks...I had trouble getting him up tonight & had to do it w/ food bribery...then he was so interested in it & hasn't been eating well so could not force myself to take it away...just let him eat & then tested immediately after. He doesn't generally eat 2 hrs before shot so we should be good there. So, skip the shot entirely for this evening or test @ a certain time & post?
 
Good data. Next time remember no food for two hours before shot. Then test, if under 150 dont shoot, dont feed and stall 30 minutes then test again. meanwhile come here for support.
 
Wendy...did you mean switch to only wet? I am trying to get them off of dry, but without them eating much wet I am afraid to take it completely away just yet. I fed FF liver & ckn for supper & they both chowed down...maybe I have found 1 they like
Good, you have found one flavor they like. How about FF Turkey and Giblet or FF Chicken Feast? Those are similar flavors to the FF L&C that they like.

Keep experimenting with more flavors until you find a couple of flavors they like. Although, I have to say that Wink lived on nothing but Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets for a month before I convinced him to eat another flavor.

As long as there is always dry food down for the cats to eat, they have no incentive to eat the wet first.

Wet food will also be digested quicker than the dry and help to raise the BG's quicker.
 
Thanks guys! Just picked up more FF L&C & also got ckn feast & mixed grill. Mixed grill might not be good because I don't think meat was 1st ingredient. How much FF do you feed your cat a day? Fixing to test shortly for evening shot.
 
Me sugarcat Wink 10.2 pounds, eats the most 8 ounces a day, even though he is now OTJ, it's tough to keep his weight up.
My civie Delta, 7.3 pounds, eats 4 ounces a day to maintain her weight.
My civie Monet, 12.4 pounds, eats 6-5-7 ounces a day to maintain his weight.

ECID here as you can see.

I weigh my cats 2 times a week, on a very accurate scale to make sure they are not losing or gaining too much weight. I'll adjust the food intake accordingly. I do this because my civie Monet had gotten up to a fat 16.8 pounds and my foster Delta had some health issues and the shelter wanted me to weigh her twice a week. I want to keep Monet at his healthy new ideal weight and catch any potential issues with Delta losing weight. The vet is happy with Monet around 12 pounds so that is what I'm trying to maintain.

FF Chopped Grill is fine for a diabetic cat. The Friskies version is the Mixed Grill. They may not like it as much. Wink doesn't.

Some other FF food choice ideas. Chunky Chicken Feast, Chunky Turkey Feast, Tender Beef Feast, Tender Beef &Chicken Feast, Tender Beef & Liver Feast,
 
Ok guys...my husband has bought Permethrine & is wanting to spray his clothes. He is getting eat up w/ chiggers & I mean literally eat alive :sad: He will spray them away from the house where the cats don't go & let them dry before bringing home. It says it will last thru 6 washings. I am hesitant because it says to be careful around cats & let completely dry. I am leary...anyone had experience w/ this or know anything about it?
 
I've used the Repel (brand name of the spray on stuff) on my clothes. As long as you let the clothes dry and the spray area dry before you let the cats outside, you should be fine.
 
Gilbert is due for his monthly heartgard in the morning. Is it ok to give that while on insulin?
I hate to not give it because he is outside & exposed to mosquitos.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top