CindyR
Member Since 2016
I am a volunteer at our local animal shelter, where a cat was turned in after the owners moved away and left him outside on the porch. He was a handsome loving 4 year old tuxedo, and I was instantly smitten. Since he had not been neutered, he had the procedure done a few weeks after intake. Shortly after this, he began to show the classic symptoms of diabetes- ravenous appetite, and soaking his litter box. He rapidly lost weight. He was taken for a blood test and his blood glucose was 475.
I was devastated - I knew that it is not a condition they can manage in the shelter, so his situation was dire. I previously had diabetic cats, in fact my first one was one of the original Sugar Cat gang with Rebecca's Austin and Marcia's Fletcher. I knew exactly where to go to get up to speed on current protocols- the Feline Diabetes web page.
I adopted Beau and brought him home January 10th. His vet appointment was the next morning, where he had a fasting blood glucose of 515. The vet started him on Prozinc, two units, and recommended feeding him prescription wet and dry. I opted to do the low carb wet food diet using the Dr Pierson food charts, using Tiki Cat, 9 Lives and fancy feast flaked, with about 3% carbs. . I ordered an AlphaTrak2 so I could home test. Over the course if the next couple weeks, the vet was given constant BG updates and Beau was getting 5 units am pm, at which time I switched to zero carb combinations. Beau had two hypoglycemic readings each of which was followed by reductions in insulin. (of course Karo and gravy lovers food to bring up the BG)
The vet gave instructions on the BG readings before giving insulin, and after a couple 1/2 unit doses, Beau BG was too low for insulin. It took about 18-19 days from when he came home to go into remission, and he has been off insulin for two weeks. His BG readings range from 59 to 86.
He is still constantly hungry, and has rapidly gained his weight back.
He is such a good boy- he even loves having his BG taken. I am so thankful for the information I was able to find here - you are an amazing group !
I was devastated - I knew that it is not a condition they can manage in the shelter, so his situation was dire. I previously had diabetic cats, in fact my first one was one of the original Sugar Cat gang with Rebecca's Austin and Marcia's Fletcher. I knew exactly where to go to get up to speed on current protocols- the Feline Diabetes web page.
I adopted Beau and brought him home January 10th. His vet appointment was the next morning, where he had a fasting blood glucose of 515. The vet started him on Prozinc, two units, and recommended feeding him prescription wet and dry. I opted to do the low carb wet food diet using the Dr Pierson food charts, using Tiki Cat, 9 Lives and fancy feast flaked, with about 3% carbs. . I ordered an AlphaTrak2 so I could home test. Over the course if the next couple weeks, the vet was given constant BG updates and Beau was getting 5 units am pm, at which time I switched to zero carb combinations. Beau had two hypoglycemic readings each of which was followed by reductions in insulin. (of course Karo and gravy lovers food to bring up the BG)
The vet gave instructions on the BG readings before giving insulin, and after a couple 1/2 unit doses, Beau BG was too low for insulin. It took about 18-19 days from when he came home to go into remission, and he has been off insulin for two weeks. His BG readings range from 59 to 86.
He is still constantly hungry, and has rapidly gained his weight back.
He is such a good boy- he even loves having his BG taken. I am so thankful for the information I was able to find here - you are an amazing group !
