my guys newly diagnosed and overwhelmed

Status
Not open for further replies.

MURPHYSMOM

Member Since 2014
Hello!
My 12 year old tabby, Murphy, was just diagnosed a few weeks ago with Diabetes. He had just gotten a Steroid injection in May for really bad allergies and I am now told this could have kicked him into Diabetes. So far, his Blood Sugar is not coming down on Vetsulin and the doctor is now stating he must try PZI or Lantus, which from them will cost 165.00 and 227.00 respectively per 10mil vial. Wow!
I was sort of bouncing around between 2 vet practices before he was diagnosed, one being his main doc since he was 1 month old (25 min from home) and another (2 min from home) which is where he was diagnosed. I was overwhelmed and did not feel like I was getting all of my questions answered and ultimately found The Northern Illinois Cat Clinic where he is currently being treated. They are even farther away from home, but doing a fine, although expensive job of checking him from nose to tail. I was so relieved when I saw their website which answered so many of my questions as I was feeling so lost! The docs are really nice too although no one is available after hours. I am so very happy to have found this website! I was still feeling very alone as I didn't know anyone else with a Diabetic cat. This gives me comfort that in the middle the night I may look up info or even be in contact with someone else who has gone through what I am going through now. I have had many sleepless nights watching over my baby wondering if he was ok, but didn't think he needed to go to the ER. Thank you for being here and providing support.
Sincerely, Murphy's Mom, Donna
 
Hi Donna and Murphy,

Here is a thread on cheaper ways to buy Lantus: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119333&p=1248017&hilit=cheap+Lantus#p1248017 You can ask the vet about BCPPZI It's a compounded PZI insulin that people here have used. Some people don't like it because it is compounded but others have liked it.

Vetsulin does work for some cats, but it takes a lot of home monitoring and sometimes requires shooting every 8 hours.

Are you testing at home? That will save you money in the long run, help you get control of this sugar dance by knowing exactly where his numbers are at any time and save vet bills on curves (which are more accurate at home since stress raises bg levels)

Let us know how we can help. We are happy to be your new support group.
 
I have a recently diagnosed cat, too (it's been a couple months of insulin for us now), and I know how overwhelming it can be! I'm feeling somewhat more comfortable with the general concept at this point, but still working on the specifics, especially since my cat recently switched to wet food from dry and we've essentially had to start all over again on everything.

I use Lantus for my cat, and while it's really, really expensive up-front, you'll almost certainly get at 4-6 months out of a 10ml vial unless your cat is on a really high dosage or you're mishandling the insulin (keeping it in a hot place or shaking it). I got mine from a Costco pharmacy for $205, but thinking about it as $35 a month instead has made that feel a lot more do-able in my budget.

The people on here are fantastic!
 
Thank you all! for your replies and advice. I will be testing Murphy's glucose in a few days as soon as I get the meter. The Clinic told me which one they prefer..Alphatrak 2 and it would only be guaranteed to be 100% effective by the Manufacturer (Abbott Labs) if I got it from a Vet practice as opposed to online. The vet charged me 173.00 vs 110.oo plus tax online. I look forward to checking out the websites as well as the Insulin info. I can't tell you how much I appreciate all of the help. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!
 
Mona,
Your spreadsheet is amazing!
This looks like something I might do. I am a bookkeeper, try to stay organized and love working in Excel.
Thanks.
Donna
 
Hi Murphy's Mom. I am sorry but I may have missed your name. I see that your vet was suggesting an AlphaTrak meter. Not sure if you purchased it yet but thought I would share information about purchasing a human meter. I first started out with the AlphaTrak but the strips were too expensive and so was the meter (approximately $1 per test/strip compared to 9 cents to 18 cents for human meter). Most of us here use the human meter. The human meter cost $12 - $18. Many of us go to Walmart to get the Relion brand (Confirm, Micro, Prime, etc.). I use the Micro because it doesn't need much blood and you don't have to worry about entering a code each time you buy new strips (like you do with the AlphaTrak). If you look at people's signatures, most of us have what kind of meters we use listed. Besides the cost difference there is also a number difference (AT is higher). But data is data and it is the trends is what you are looking for. At first, I was so reluctant in transitioning to the human meter but it was totally worth it. I wish I would have started off with the human meter.

Anyway, welcome to FDMB.
 
Donna, the spreadsheet I'm using is a template that I got through others on this site, though the data is all mine. :) I have a job where I use spreadsheet heavily, too, so I'm also a sucker for a well-designed one!

Oh, and I'm getting my human monitor in the mail today because the Alphatrak is too expensive for me to do the amount of testing I'd like to as well. I'll keep it to double check unexpected numbers or to do curves that are expressly directed from the vet's office, but for my own tracking I'm really eager to switch to the human meters. Each test will cost less than 25% the amount of a test with the Alphatrak2, and that's kind of hard to argue with.
 
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
I kind of felt that I had no choice from the Cat Clinic but to buy the AlphaTrak2. It was ordered and I already paid for it. My neighbor commented that they (the clinic) saw me coming, which I don't think is fair. From all I have read here, I know there is a lot of initial output of $$ for diagnosing, testing, etc. I don't think they would give me a refund but all I can do is ask and tell them of my findings here on the website and recommendations from others with Diabetic cats.
Murphy is to go for an abdominal ultrasound tomorrow to check his pancreas, kidneys and intestinal track just to see if something else is going on. He is still currently on Vetsulin 8-8/12 mil for the past couple of days. I am having trouble doing the 1/2.
He is also scared a lot when I am leaving for work or going anywhere as he thinks he is headed to the vet. I am worried he spends a goodly portion of the day under the bed. I have another 2 year old female cat (Sophie Mae) newly adopted in Dec. and she comes/goes under the bed, but I do not worry about her like I do him.
I do use Feliway plug ins especially since she started to spray around the house 3 months after I got her, but has since stopped. How can I calm him and get him back to normal?Donna
 
Hi just jumping in here when Trey was first Dx my DH was doing the testing and I was a basket case ....hate needles . He was always tell Trey how sorry he was he had to do this and was stressed himself..lucky for me and Trey he got called away for a few days. Well cried and pulled up my big girl panties ..took lots of deep breaths and never say you are sorry. They feel your mood...you are stressed and sorry then they feel it is wrong and they don`t want it done. You have to be very calm and surround yourself with beautiful white peaceful light. wrap kitty in a towel and say we are going to help you feel better will only be a smill pick...do it let her go treat done!!!!! 1st time I tried took 5-6 pokes most never touch the ear was so scared did the above and sap done Trey never felt a thing...shortly after that he became my cat. even today he got up on the table laid on his towel and waited for me...I just throw his towel over his shoulder a comfort thing I guess. Its all about your mood...if you can remain calm and then so will try it what do you have to lose....Hugs and peaceful white light and healing green light surround all you furry one and peeps. Hugss Kath
 
Those are two of the many nice things about hometesting: you and your kitty become closer (it's like they know we are making them feel better) and you minimize trips to the vet. You put your data on the spreadsheet and the vet can access it.

We could see if we have a member who lives near you. They could either come by and try to show you how on Murphy, or you could practice on their cat.
 
What is OTJ?

I am so sorry for everyone's losses as well! It sure does hurt to lose a good furry friend.
I have loved and lost so many and it never gets easier. My last boy, Bosco lived to just past his 19th birthday.
He had gone deaf, developed kidney failure and dementia, but I wouldn't have traded for a day without him.

Looks like I may be going with the PZI insulin from the vet although this website states it is being phased out.
It will cost 165.00 and I can get it cheaper at other vets but they do not want to give it to you unless the cat is being treated there.
I have little time to decide as tomorrow morning Murphy goes in for an Ultrasound @8:30 cst and I am to pick him up @ 12:30pm cst.

Donna
 

Attachments

  • 130303_161548.jpg
    130303_161548.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 1,809
Pzi is a mild, long lasting insulin so it should be fine. I have heard nothing about it not being available. We see it prescribed here every day. Yes, $165 is on the higher end of costs for it, but I think I would stay with my current vet for now, so you can get the prescription.

The best starting dose is one unit every 12 hours. I hope you'll let us teach you how to home test so you can take control of Murphy's levels at home.

OTJ means off the juice (insulin) or in remission. GA next to a name means gone ahead or guardian angel, meaning the kitty has died.
 
OMG! Thank you for all of the tips and advice. I am in tears! I remember saying to someone there should be help on the IT or in book form "My Cat has Diabetes. Now What?
And I found it here!!
I have so much reading to do and am glad of it.
Wish us luck! Murphy may need some sedation for his ultrasound tomorrow.
 
Hope Murphy does well at his ultrasound tomorrow. You can take a picture of his shaved belly for us and show it off! ;-)
 
Murphy had to have the Ultrasound on Saturday,was a little trooper and didn’t even need to be sedated.
See his after pic.
I think I will get the full results tonight.
They still don’t know if the Diabetes is permanent. He is not responding to the current insulin they have him on,
so we will switch once they have the new stuff in.

My heart is breaking for him. He is so very scared in the mornings when I get ready for work or go out on the weekends as he thinks he is going to the vet.
This morning I couldn’t even get him to eat and therefore no insulin which can be dangerous as his sugar is so high.
He keeps running under the bed and I dragged him out to eat, but he wouldn’t and I had to leave him without his meds.
The evening is usually no problem. The vets keep telling me this will improve, but when?
I left in tears this morning even more then I have been when he runs under the bed after I give him his shot in the morning as
again he thinks he is going to the vet.

I had to purchase the AlphaTrak 2 meter to test his sugar at home which will result in him not having going to the vet so often, but I couldn’t get that to
work on him last night. You have to take it from his ear or the side of one of his pads.
It all looks so easy on the video and the cat just sits there like everything is fine.

He is also a very, very finicky eater. One minute he eats the canned prescription or fancy feast, the next not so much. He does eat the dry.
Any suggestions?

I keep feeling like it is one step forward and two steps backwards.

I have my own nuclear stress test on Wed and am soo exhausted and sad.
 
hi Donna,

Murphy is gorgeous! My Angel was diagnosed 30th May and I've learnt so much already from the board, don't know what I would have done without it. I know how you feel about the testing, I'm still not an expert. Have you tried the trick with an old sock filled with rice and warmed in the microwave? That makes sure the ears are warm which makes it easier to get blood. (I do mine 15 seconds at 80% power). I also found out just by chance this morning, that it is much easier to test if your cat is on a bed or chair, I've always done Angel when he's been on the carpet or floor. What I do is warm his ears, then hold the sock very firmly against his inner ear so the ear is tight between the sock and the lancet device. This morning I got a perfect (too perfect, I hit the vein but it didn't bother him at all) drop of blood first time, hope it wasn't a one off.

It sounds like Murphy is on a pretty high dose. When you cut out the dry food they should be able to reduce it. Can you tempt him out from under the bed with some low carb treats? Also I know from experience that if you are stressed they can pick up on it, so what I TRY to do is give out calm vibes however anxious I'm feeling.

Good luck on your stress test, I know the feeling! I'm waiting for an official diagnosis of silent reflux, and I've just found out stress aggravates it!! (of course all that did was to make me feel more stressed about being stressed!!

xx
 
Holding the warm sock full of rice against his ear and having him on the table or bed makes more sense than what I was trying last night.
I will try that tonight.

I cannot tempt him out with anything once he is scared and tucked away. I just have to give him time to get out, but in the morning I don't have any.
I have been going to bed around 11or 12 to get up at 645 or 7am, but am so exhausted as we both wake up several times during the night and then he wants to eat at 5am as the sun is up, but mamma is not.
I have thought about getting up at 5:30 to feed him and then giving his insulin at when I get up, but that is already past the time allotted and I don't always go back to sleep
so I am very tired, especially lately.

He is very finicky about the cat food so I want to make sure he has eaten enough before the insulin.
He does graze on the dry dm, but I am afraid to give him his shot while he is eating because he might not finish his canned food and could be headed for a low.
As of Saturday his sugar was high again (500 something) prior to the ultrasound and not having a shot that morning so that might not be imminent'
but you never know.

I am just want him to be well and not scared and stressed.

Good luck on your results too.
 
hi Donna,

I hope someone who's cat is on the same insulin can advise you about shooting/feeding, Angel is on caninsulin (for now but hopefully after 14th will be on lantus or pzi).

Did Angel's test on the sofa tonight, got just about enough blood first time so looks like it is working. Before the rice sock I was holding cotton wool against his ears, think it 'gave' too much.

Maybe once Murphy realises he is not going to the vets every day he will chill out a bit. Your other cat being there will probably reassure him. Once you're testing him you can start to cut out the dry food. I started off by giving half that and half a very low carb wet so he was getting just under 10% carbs, but people with more experience can probably help you more, it's only been 1 month for me and Angel!

I understand about the tiredness. I have ADD (inactive type) and one of my symptoms is that I can quite happily fall asleep in the day when I've things to do, but at night when I'm TRYING to sleep I'm too wound up. So I'm taking ritalin to help my energy levels in the day then sleeping meds at night, I feel really rough if I don't get at least 8 hours. I've been setting the alarm so I can do Angel's shots and tests at the right time, but now I've got silent reflux really badly. Last night was the worst as I found out I'd run out of sleeping meds, was still awake at 6am, tested/fed/shot Angel just after 8am, then back to sleep until 2pm!!! I just want to be well so I can take care of him properly. He's going to a friend of mine who's a registered nurse for a few days whilst I'm away (seeing my dad and going on a scrapbook retreat run by a friend of mine, I'll probably be scrapping about Angel's diabetes!!!)

Hope things get easier, like I said it seems so overwhelming at first but this board has helped so much.

Angel sends purrs to your cats
x
 
Thank you Cassandra & SweetAngel!
It is reassuring that others are or have gone thru the same thing with their Diabetic felines.
If we could just get over this hump and get into a calm routine, I am sure everything will be fine.

I don't know if Sophie is a real comfort to him as since she came into the picture (Dec 2013),
she has hardly ever been to the Vet.
I got her from the shelter as I thought Murphy was lonely.
His older brother, Bosco (19 years old) passed away in Aug 2012 and I was thinking he might want a companion
but since she showed up, he practically lives at the vet...UTI, Allergies & now Diabetes.

I just want Murphy to be healthy and content and live as long as Bosco!
Its hard when we cant sleep well and be on a perfect schedule.

Again, I am so grateful for your reply and this website and message board.
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
Hi Donna! Have you started the PZI yet or are you still on Vetsulin? When you get to PZI, we can help with dosing for sure.

Home testing will help you both feel better as you'll have more control and your sugar baby gets to not see the vet as much! Let us know if you need help testing... We can help with that.
 
If he is high and has not eaten, giving some insulin may help him feel better. Test sometime on a day off and try 1/4 to 1/2 the regular dose. Just something to knock the glucose down a bit.
 
After not eating breakfast and no insulin, Murphy ate DM canned and a bit of FF around 7. The vet had upped his Vetsulin to 8 1/2, but based on what he ate, I only gave him 8. At 9pm tonite with the help of my neighbor, I took his Blood Sugar reading. It was 406. Yes that is high, but its been higher. Its gonna take some practice and quickness to do it as he wont sit still like the model cat in the Alphatrak 2 video. He did scoot away afterwards, but came back quickly for some pets. I hope to do better tomorrow. 1st task is to get him to eat breakfast and give insulin before I go to work. It just breaks my heart to think how scared he is that he may be goin to the vet.
The doc gave me the rest of his ultrasound results. All is well, but he has nodules in his spleen. She doesn't want to tackle that or do any exploratory surgery just yet thank god. not sure what that means...nodules in the spleen. It could be benign the doc said.
well its stormin here..time to sign off.
got to figure out how to get a small pic uploaded for his pic/avatar. all my phone pics are too large.
 
We don't have the PZI yet and yes I would be glad for help with the testing to make it easier on my little guy.
any advice is appreciated.
 
hi Donna,

Well done for home testing. I'll pm you my email address and if you send the pic of Murphy to me I'll resize and send it back. Have you tried spraying the feliway in his carrier before he goes to the vet?

Hope the 'nodules' turn out to be easily dealt with.

x
 
FYI: You can get high readings when the insulin dose is too high. The sudden drop and/or the unusual low will trigger compensatory hormones which release glycogen to be converted into glucose, cause the blood glucose to rise.
 
Hi Cassandra!
I sent the pic via email.

Breakfast though earlier than usual (6:15) this morning plus a small snack prior to Murphy's insulin went rather well.
He eventually went under the bed, but we were a tad more relaxed today.
I may have to readjust my sleep schedule to get up, feed him, try to snooze for a bit or just relax and then get up
and give him his insulin.

Thanks.
Donna
 
1st 2 unit dose of PZI given tonight. I hope this insulin works well for Murphy. Tested glucose a few hours ago which was so not easy. Does it get better? It was 510, but he seems to be acting better. I did not go for my stress test this morning as I was ill so I stayed home from work as well and we all slept for 6 hours I think. Pretty quiet and calm day. May try to test sugar in the middle of the night.
Murphy is soo finicky with his food. I open one can after another of the low carb fancy feast and the presc dm canned. I always want to make sure he eats enough before the shot, but can I still give him reg fancy feast as well to supplement?
I have seen varying videos on giving insulin and the glucose tests.
Am I to pull back on syringe to check for blood before giving insulin?
What are some better ways to keep my cat calm, upright and unstressed when doing the glucose tests when you are alone?
I tried the warm sock, but he is so very squirmy and it took many tries. Maybe I should go for the bathroom counter where there is a lot of light as he has dark ears and I cannot see the blood drop well. Its like you need a gazillion hands...flashlight, sock or gauze, lancet and hands to pet and sooth as well as hold him still. I also tried the freeze dried chicken which he likes but is not gonna sit still for this.
Help please!!!
 
Hi just jumping in here when Trey was first Dx my DH was doing the testing and I was a basket case ....hate needles . He was always tell Trey how sorry he was he had to do this and was stressed himself..lucky for me and Trey he got called away for a few days. Well cried and pulled up my big girl panties ..took lots of deep breaths and never say you are sorry. They feel your mood...you are stressed and sorry then they feel it is wrong and they don`t want it done. You have to be very calm and surround yourself with beautiful white peaceful light. wrap kitty in a towel and say we are going to help you feel better will only be a smill pick...do it let her go treat done!!!!! 1st time I tried took 5-6 pokes most never touch the ear was so scared did the above and sap done Trey never felt a thing...shortly after that he became my cat. even today he got up on the table laid on his towel and waited for me...I just throw his towel over his shoulder a comfort thing I guess. Its all about your mood...if you can remain calm and then so will try it what do you have to lose....Hugs and peaceful white light and healing green light surround all you furry one and peeps. Hugss Kath
~O) :YMSIGH: ~O) ;-)
 
Murphy is soo finicky with his food. I open one can after another of the low carb fancy feast and the presc dm canned. I always want to make sure he eats enough before the shot, but can I still give him reg fancy feast as well to supplement?
The Fancy Feast pate style foods are low carb, as are the kitten foods, chunky style and flaked styles. High carb types of Fancy Feast include the marinated morsels, grilled, sliced, roasted, gravy lovers, and all of the Elegant Medleys which are too high in carbs for a diabetic cat.

Is there a particular flavor he loves? Maybe we can suggest something else in another cat food line.

I have seen varying videos on giving insulin and the glucose tests. Am I to pull back on syringe to check for blood before giving insulin?
Some people do, most people don't. I never bothered and never had an issue.

What are some better ways to keep my cat calm, upright and unstressed when doing the glucose tests when you are alone?
Have you read this? Ear Testing Psychology
 
Some folks shave a small patch of fur off the ears to help see the blood droplet. Others test the underside where ther may be less fur.

Using a dab of Neosporin ointment (not creme) with pain relief, will help the blood bead up, reduce the annoyance of testing, and help the prick hole heal. Apply. Wait a couple minutes. Wipe off well. Test.
 
Love the ETP! So much info is available...Thanks. I may try later tonight or in the middle of the night when he is a tad sleepier. Once again, I feel tears of joy for knowing I am not alone. As for food, Murphy likes a bit of this and that. He was at one time mad for Tuna w/Egg or Cheese, but not plain Tuna. I forget the brand. Then it was FF Chicken or Liver and Chicken and now anything goes. I am experimenting with the presc dm canned and then when he walks away from that a bit of a ff low carb on a different plate. He is ok with the Pates, but wont eat a lot of it. He loves Gravy and sometimes that is all he would get from a plate of cat food. He is still on dry dm which he and the other cat graze at and yes even a tad of FF dry at night as a treat. I want him to enjoy some of his fav flavors and not switch everything so quickly. What other brands might be good for a low carb diet? The vet gave me a link to a cornell website which showed you should start to give the insulin...poke the needle in and pull the plunger back to check for blood. If it shows blood, pull out the needle and try again as you have hit a blood vessel. tiny chance if doing so, but still. then, try again. I was initially told to check for blood after insulin given. Yet another step and possibly having to hold a jumpy cat longer. Is the scruff of the neck the best site for injection? one vet said either side of his back, but not too near the tail.
 
Hi just saying I have never check for blood and always give in the scruff of the neck just about where shoulders are I guess I grab like momma cat does but side ways Trey is big boy in that area and just stick needle and shot count to 5 done. He don`t seem to feel it I do make sure to point needle more up not down into body. I wish you well and tons of healing green light ...one thing you learn something new everyday .....just did thank you Hugss ~O) :YMSIGH: Kath
 
Oh yes! BJM mentioned shaving a little patch of fur on the outside of the ear. I did that at first with my Wink, since he has black hair, black ear edges, and long long ear floof on the inside of this ears which always seemed to get in the way and soak up the blood drop. It made it much easier with him at the beginning to actually see those blood drops beading up. I don't need to shave anymore, but it sure did help me. I just used a disposable safety razor and very, very gently ran it over his ear.

The Fancy Feast and Hill's D/m dry foods are not good for a diabetic cat, being too high in carbs. You really, really want to try to eliminate those higher carb foods like the dry and the gravy varieties of wet as soon as you can. They will keep his BG levels high, and you don't want that. Look at the ingredients list for the Fancy Feast dry foods. Of the first 4 ingredients, 3 of them are carbs, brewers rice, corn gluten meal and ground yellow corn. Bet your kitty Murphy wouldn't touch an ear of corn if you put it in his food dish. ;-)

We use this food chart, by vet Dr. Lisa Pierson and look for those foods with <10% carbs, third column of numbers. Lots of choices there.

If your cat is being a finicky eater, you might want to try these tips from another Dr. Pierson article. Transitioning Feline Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food The tips are good for not only switching a cat from dry food to wet food, but can also help to get your cat interested in other flavors. When I was transitioning Wink from dry to wet food, I probably used almost all of these tips. :o :shock: :o :o Yes, we had the kitty smorgasbord laid out for him 4 times a day, with 2-3 flavors to choose from. It took a while, but eventually he would try some of the other flavors besides his beloved Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblet classic pate. ohmygod_smile

Have you tried mixing tiny amounts of a new flavor in with one that Murphy loves?
 
how long might it take to get him regulated?
he started on pzi 2 units july 2nd, 7pm. his glucose has been 306 at is lowest at 12 the next morning and today is up to 536. I have only been able to test 4 times and am worried he will develop complications. the cat clinic put him on the 2 units of pzi as a switch from vetsulin where he was up to 8 1/2 units. I am trying my best to feed him only the low carb fancy feasts with a tad of other mixed in so he eats enough. he is still grazing on the dry dm which the vet gave me and yes I have read that it should be avoided from pet owners on this site. I am just worried that he will not have enough food in his system all day otherwise.
he seems to be acting ok although his allergies are back..pink eyes, etc. I was hoping that meant the stupid steroid shot he got in may was wearing off and his diabetes would magically disappear. I am to call the vet next sat with a glucose reading 6 hours after his morning dose. I did buy the keytone strips and may try to catch him in his box, but am really scared. This is still so overwhelming to me. I want him to feel well, his glucose to be regulated and for me to be able to do the glucose testing with little hurting if any kind to him.
 
Hey there Donna. First off, don't stress ! I know, I know easier said than done. :lol:

You're doing fine. Deep breath...another. You're going to keep doing fine.

Okay, first: testing. It doesn't really hurt them. They feel pressure but it's just annoying. There are several things you can do. I had a special place to test Gypsy. It was a towel on the floor by the fridge. She heard the box of lancets rattle and would run to it and sit! I would choose the same place every time. That way he knows what is coming. Spend time there just rubbing his ears when you can and follow with a low carb treat! He'll come to associate that place, ear touching and yummy treats!

Also, kitty burrito worked well. Wrap them in a towel so they can escape. Helped me while Gypsy got used to it.

Second: regulation. It may take some time. Remember he didn't get diabetic overnight. It'll take time to regulate. We can get ya there. Just be patient. I know it's hard but we've all been there! We will help you!
 
Thank you Rachel! I will try to calm down and will try the Burrito trick later before his dinner and insulin. Its just all I can think about right now and want him to feel good and of course for the diabetes to go away. I know I am taking good care of Murphy. I just don't want him to be frightened. I cant seem to stop watching him like a hawk either. I am sure he is acting the same as he was before and is being a cat. he and the younger one go under the bed a lot to nap I guess, but I am always checking him to see that he is well, when I am home that is. I will call the vet tomorrow to see if I need to up his dose and yes I agree he did not become that way overnight. just like me, his human mom who got overweight and also is diabetic, it is taking time to lose weight and get regulated. I am not on insulin and it has taken quite a long time to get my numbers down. As you know, its just hard as he cant tell me how he is feeling.
Thank you for being there and I am so grateful as crazy as I get a come across that I found this website and message board. I had no idea how many people are out there with diabetic feline friends. nailbite_smile :o
 
I know you are all out there going thru or having gone thru the same thing, but I still feel somewhat alone. I have no one here but me to take care of this wonderful cat and help him as he has helped me thru so much. I wish I had a vet nearby that would just come and look Murphy over once a day and say yeah, he's ok Every day is not gonna be super fun and fantastic, but he looks good and is doing well. Every time he goes and lays down I think something is wrong. Is he ill? is his glucose too low? The younger cat does the same thing especially when the windows are closed so she cant watch the birds, and am I worried about her, no! Cats sleep and lay around a goodly portion of the day, their lives, so why can't I let it go? I am just plain scared and in tears once more. Life as I knew it for me and Murphy has changed. I just cant seem to think about anything else.
 
You did a good job home testing, congrats! Here is post from Sue, that is a sticky at the top of this forum page, it's something all of us new diabetic cat owners need to read and remember. viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33671

It is very normal to feel alone, but you can do this! Many of us, myself included, do this alone. But that's the beauty of this forum, when I made my first post, another member BJM, Wendy in Vancouver BC and Julie in Oregon responded within minutes and it was a Friday night. Little did I know how wonderful this forum was back then, and you will have that support here too, almost 24/7. You are doing a great job, just believe in yourself, remember to breathe deeply and stay the course!
 
Dearest Tiger and Ruth!
omg, that message is for me! Thank you for pointing that out as I missed it. I have not read everything just yet but plan to. I read that message from my cat and cried and laughed too. Thank you!! Thank you!
 
Is the DM food prescribed by the vet really that bad and could it be making the glucose readings high or is it cuz it is early stages with the new insulin?
He was on the old insulin for 3 weeks and blood sugar was uncontrolled...mostly highs.
The 1st vet gave us dry and canned W/D food as Murphy and his sister graze during the day and then get canned at breakfast and dinner.
The 2nd vet (The Cat Clinic) said to switch to DM canned and dry for same reasons as above.
If the dry DM is bad, why would they have told me to get it?
I have done 5 glucose readings since June 30th, with another in a couple hours I hope.
Up until July 2 in the evening, he was on Vetsulin up to 8 1/2 units and then switched to PZI, but is only at 2 units right now twice a day.
His glucose readings were as follows:
6/30 @9pm - 406
7/2 @3pm - 510
7/3 @12:14am - 306
7/6 @12:24pm - 536
7/6 @ 6:30pm - 664
He is eating the ff classics although he still does not eat a lot so as one feline parent mentioned, a buffet of different flavors is laid out for him with a dab of the old
grilled and again the dry dm.
what else can I leave out for him during the day and her too? Being a diabetic, I need to have a little something myself all day long to keep my sugar regulated.
 
Vets don't get much education in feline nutrition and what they do get is often presented by the manufacturers of the Rx foods.

The food list at Cat Info will show you the percent of calories from carbohydrates from those prescription foods. The main Cat Info site will explain why you want to feed something with less than 10 % calories from carbohydrates.

We always test before we give insulin, to make sure it is safe. Testing around the probable nadir, or lowest glucose between shots, is necessary to determine how well the dose is working.

I leave out canned food for my cats to nibble throughout the day. They're all doing fine with that.
 
Morning Donna! That message from your cat is great isn't it? That was SO MEwhen mine was first diagnosed!!

The numbers ARE a bit high. As BJ said those prescription foods are high in carbs. The dry are higher than the wet, but even the wet are way too high. Most kitties don't like them either. I know how tough it is to go against vet advice, but it's best for your kitty. Remember you have the time to research JUST this disease in cats specifically. Your vet treats hundreds of diseases in lots of breeds. They can't always keep up with the latest research. Trust us, a low carb wet diet could drop your kitty down majorly. We've seen it again and again!

As for the numbers you gave, they are difficult to interpret. We are all in different time zones. That's why we say AMPS and PMPS. Then we say + whatever number for hours after a shot. When the shot was in relation to those numbers changes how we see them.

Gettin a spreadsheet set up would REALLY help us since we could easily see how long after a shot any given number is. It also allows us to search for patterns. Most people use them so we are used to seeing data in that format. Once it's set up, all you have to do is fill it in after tests and it will update for everyone! Instructions here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

I know we ask a lot at first but this is a great way for YOU to keep up with data and for us to see what you see!
 
Ah yes, I was wondering what AMPS meant. I thought it has something to do with music. hah!
I will get that spreadsheet set up. I did manage to take Murphy's sugar quite easily again (Thank God!) last night at 11:22pm and it was down to 384 (after his 7pm insulin).
That was the 3rd time I took it yesterday.
He seems to be coming back around to find me after eating and drops to the floor so I can give him his insulin.
Although now that the steroid shot (May 2014) is wearing off for his allergies, his eyes are red and discharge is abounding.
I was hoping the vets office can give me murphy's records so i can jot down what dose he started on with the vetsulin and what his sugars were
since the beginning so I can have a complete picture.
I am going to the vet today to pick up more canned dm food (just a few of the pate), but will be scoping out the FF classics at the store as well and maybe other
brands after I do some more reading on the alternative food lists presented on the website and what others are recommending.

As far as the DM dry, I guess the docs don't always know best. We have to be our own advocates and research.

Thanks much.
 
I could use some good recommendations for food and litter.

Food: I read about transitioning from dry to canned food for all cats including diabetics but am still concerned either Murphy wont eat enough and therefore I cannot give the insulin or he will end up with Hypoglycemia! Wow, so much information to take in. I never even thought about the protein/carb issue. I always thought that dry was good for
cats and dogs teeth although I know some cats like Murphy don't chew, but swallow it whole mostly, even treats unless break them up.
I currently leave out one cup total of the dm dry in 2 separate bowls for both cats and most of it is gone when I come home from work.
The younger female is a bit of a piggie so it could mostly be her eating it, but Murphy does like it too.
I don't replenish it at night but may give Murphy just a few kibbles of FF dry as a small snack an hour or so after dinner when he goes to his food dish.
Breakfast and dinner consist of ff classic pates, although Murphy isn't too fond of anything once it is refrigerated or some flavors not at all, so I am trying
to put out several different flavors so he eats enough.
OK, so who knows exactly what "Mouse Body temp" is? How long do I nuke the food? I will have to clean the microwave daily or it will smell like cat food.
I like the idea of tuna juice or chicken broth in ice cubes and making extra water for the canned or as a side dish of "water" too.
Do I have that right? But Broth can be high in sodium, so then what?
I will look for some of the EVO or Wellness (I think), but will check the write up before I head to the pet store again tonight.
So can I feed them a low carb dry food while transitioning to low carb canned, but keep some of the dm in the mix for now?
I don't want to make the switch too soon and hurt Murphy.

Litter: Due to the Diabetes, the Litter is still a muddy mess in the corners of the boxes and I am constantly cleaning and dumping and refreshing the litter.
I assume this will get better when his diabetes is better controlled. I am currently using Tidy cat, Multicat, dual action, whatever.
I tried the cedar/pine mix as it soaks up the urine better, but since just before the diabetes diagnosis, there is litter everywhere. The younger cat is a long hair and must drag it with her wherever she flies to. I am constantly vacuuming.
I even tried a Dr Elsleys Senior Precious Litter when I found out t was good for cats with UTI's.
Any suggestions? I am going thru litter.... well like water.
 
Friskies pates and all special Diet pates are < 10% calories from carbohydrates.

Evo cat and kitten dry is about 8% calories from carbohydrates; generally, we do not recommend any dry food at all per Cat Info
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top