Luanne Cigic
Member Since 2015
Hello, I'm Luanne and my girl kitty Smokey is on pro zinc insulin.
I was wondering why her sugar count went up after her shot this morning from 250 to 344. I got scared, she is getting 2 units of pro zinc. I just bought my reliOn meter last night. She is ranging around 98 to 100 about seven hours after her morning dose.
She is ten years old very fat and I had her on dry food free feeding. She was diagnosed Two weeks ago when she started vomiting. I had them do blood work on her because she was drinking so much water. Her sugar was 395 . she was at the vets for two days. They started me on pro zinc 4 units twice a day. A week later I took her for a BG and it was 98. So the vet lowers her to 3 units. I got my reliOn last night, she was 100. This morning she was 250 I gave her only 2 units because she seems out of it after her shot and I was worried. I also took her off all dry food also. A half hour after her shot I checked her because yesterday after her shot she vomited frothy stuff. Her test read today 344 which really scared me. I'm so confused!
Ok I have now just read this. 4U is HIGH and way above average for a starting dose. Your instincts to get your own meter and test were RIGHT ON. Congratulations! In office curves really are not reliable. the cats BG just due to stress being at the vet can spike 100-150 points or more. If dose is established based on artificially inflated numbers, then often it is skewed and too much insulin. Your kitty in their own environment even on same day may have entirely different and much lower numbers. In addition BG's move up and down within a day and are not the same day to day. You cannot just set a dose and keep giving it without knowing what that given dose is doing and how kitty is reacting to it. That is why home testing is critical. A human diabetic dose not give the same dose blindly every day...they test and adjust as needed.
Also VERY IMPORTANT. If you have suddenly yanked all the dry food from Smokey, the amount of insulin she needs may have changed DRASTICALLY. It can happen that fast. Please read this http://www.catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes
The whole site is great and a bible for many of us here. (plus has the invaluable food charts we all use) Read it all. But for now most importantly read this page i linked above and the part around the stop sign.
Testing is your best friend. Monitoring the BG is what allows you to know what is going on inside her at any time and gives you the control. Please read from the catinfo.org site above we linked you to...you will see on the right a Protein/Fat/Carb chart. These were done a couple years ago so not 100% up to date with every single food made on it, but it is a wonderful resource. You want to look on the left hand side columns and pick food with less then 10% calories from carbs. Those are the foods you want to feed on a daily basis. And it is best to spread the feedings into multiple mini meals spread throughout the day. (easier on their pancreas) Add some extra water to each serving which helps with hydration and any number of other health benefits. Plus seems to keep them more satisfied. BUT you also want to buy a few cans of MEDIUM carb (MC) and HIGH CARB (HC) foods to have on hand. MC ranges 11-18% or so and HC ranges 19%+. Keep these on hand for a time her numbers may be running low. You can steer her numbers up higher using more carbs to bump up her numbers. Same as a human would do. Of course keep Karo on hand, but typically this is saved for when kitty is really, really low...and tends to wear off faster. With food you can manage a cycle until the kitty is past nadir and is heading back up on her own. If you have a meter and high carb food on hand, you are in control
You want to try and get an idea of when your kitty nadirs (peaks). For many (but not all) kitties that is around 5-7 hours past shot time. So you can start doing test randomly in those time frames over several days to see if you are seeing her likely low point and a pattern starting to show. As far as other tests go, you ALWAYS want to test before giving a shot. (we refer to the morning pre shot test as AMPS. and the evening pre shot test as PMPS) This test is important to be sure kitty is safe to shoot your usual dose into. Beyond that one and the nadir test, it helps to spot check at various times during the cycle....even if it's just one or two here and there at different times on different days. As you enter these numbers onto your spreadsheet, you start to SEE what the insulin is doing, and an idea of how your kitty is responding, what if any adjustments need to be made, etc.. This is SO much more reliable than an in-office vet curve. Once you are home testing there is really never a need to get curves done at vets again, You have all the data on a daily basis in front of you.
When were these BG"S taken in relationship to the to the shot times? We tend to list this as follows. +1, +2, +3 etc.... so +1 means you tested at 1 hour after you gave the shot. +2 means 2 hours after you gave the shot. If you are testing to try and figure out when her nadir is you would test at +5, +6, +7 or in those rough windows. You always want to know how LOW is the insulin taking them. With prozinc however, I know dose is also adjusted based on preshot numbers. SO I want to leave that part to someone using your same insulin.
But bottom line, while you are figuring things out, if you have taken the dry food suddenly away, then YES it is very important to realize she may need a much lower dose. So please closely monitor her cycles until you course correct for that. It is super critical to know her numbers right now throughout her cycles. Please cross post in the Prozinc forum if yu are not getting enough Prozinc user responses here so they can help you with dosing advice.
Thanks for the heads up!I just saw luanne post again on FB but cannot hang around plus since she's on Prozinc would rather leave dose advising to those on same insulin. But please read through her thread, she just dropped dose for 2nd time...today I think shot 2U. Only started home testing last night. Not sure when dry food got eliminated, or what all kitty has eaten today. But she just posted that she just got a 46!...not sure what point in cycle. She may need to intervene and need help with that. Will need advice in future dose and when. She is too new to sort this out on her own. I commented for her to please come to PZI and post for help now. Not sure if she knows how to cross post so part of her thread may be here....I suggested she go to PZI for this. Her SS may have to wait! Kitty has her own ideas!!!!! Clearly vet had her WAY over dose. Her instincts had her lower another full unit today thank goodness....still obviously too high. Heads up and can someone watch for her here and in PZI
Looking for her post, which forum?Thanks for the heads up!
It was 146Looking for her post, which forum?
7 hours after shotIt was 146
ETA! I think it's 146 not 46... Whole other thing but already sent her for advice!!!! Still right on cusp for newbie shooting so won't hurt to help her figure out dose going forward
I see her post now. yes, she is 146 @+7. She should be good.I just saw luanne post again on FB but cannot hang around plus since she's on Prozinc would rather leave dose advising to those on same insulin. But please read through her thread, she just dropped dose for 2nd time...today I think shot 2U. Only started home testing last night. Not sure when dry food got eliminated, or what all kitty has eaten today. But she just posted that she just got a 46!...not sure what point in cycle. She may need to intervene and need help with that. Will need advice in future dose and when. She is too new to sort this out on her own. I commented for her to please come to PZI and post for help now. Not sure if she knows how to cross post so part of her thread may be here....I suggested she go to PZI for this. Her SS may have to wait! Kitty has her own ideas!!!!! Clearly vet had her WAY over dose. Her instincts had her lower another full unit today thank goodness....still obviously too high. Heads up and can someone watch for her here and in PZI
ETA! I think it's 146 not 46... Whole other thing but already sent her for advice!!!! Still right on cusp for newbie shooting so won't hurt to help her figure out dose going forward
Hey Luanne and Smokey, so glad you found us and that you are home testing. As Bettyandhank said, 4 u is a lot to start with and since you have taken the dry food away, Smokey's number are going to drop. Also, they are going to be lower that the vet because of stress the BG's are elevated at the vets. You will not want to shot anything under 200 as a new diabetic cat. So, good job testing and when you need advice, ask away, as that is how we learn! And Welcome!!![]()
Hey Luanne and Smokey, so glad you found us and that you are home testing. As Bettyandhank said, 4 u is a lot to start with and since you have taken the dry food away, Smokey's number are going to drop. Also, they are going to be lower that the vet because of stress the BG's are elevated at the vets. You will not want to shot anything under 200 as a new diabetic cat. So, good job testing and when you need advice, ask away, as that is how we learn! And Welcome!!![]()
I gave her 2 units at 10;30 this morningYour post are just sending back mine, try again and how many units did you shoot 7 hours ago?
How many units did you shoot?
I tested her around 6pm so it would be 71/2 to 8 hoursI gave her 2 units at 10;30 this morning
I'm really upset with my vet right now. Her numbers were 394 when first diagnosed. They wanted her back the next day to regulate her with insulin due to her vomiting. I had no idea a wonderful group like this existed till I started stressing out about the shots and looked online for some support. I wish I could have just waited on the insulin and worked on her diet for a week to see where her numbers would be at then.I tested her around 6pm so it would be 71/2 to 8 hours
NoSo she hasn't had any insulin since 10:30 AM?
I hear you. You are here now and that is all that matters.I'm really upset with my vet right now. Her numbers were 394 when first diagnosed. They wanted her back the next day to regulate her with insulin due to her vomiting. I had no idea a wonderful group like this existed till I started stressing out about the shots and looked online for some support. I wish I could have just waited on the insulin and worked on her diet for a week to see where her numbers would be at then.
She was probably vomiting yesterday because the dose was too high. Let's see what happens at the 12 hour mark and where she is. Post again with a new thread, Preface it as Dosing Advice Needed ASAP. If she is not up to 200, do not shoot insulin. I tagged a few peeps to weigh in about the dose for the PM tonight. I do not give dose advice as I am learning myself. Someone will be able to help. What time zone are you in?No shot since this morning and this is what happened yesterday too. I think after I gave her her shot, she vomited about a half hour later, she didn't vomit today though, shes been good
So she was at 246 at pre shot this morning and 146 at +8. So we want her to be moving up, not down. That's the first thing to figure out with your +12 number. If she is over 200, then your 2 units looked pretty good today. The only thing I wonder is whether she was quite a bit lower before the +8.
Let's see how your pm number looks and decide. Just for reference: Generally we consider a cat regulated if they are in the lower 200s and preshot and in double digits at nadir (5-7 hours after the shot) but not below 45 which is nearing hypo territory.
The protocol we put together for ProZinc is in blue in my signature.
She was probably vomiting yesterday because the dose was too high. Let's see what happens at the 12 hour mark and where she is. Post again with a new thread, Preface it as Dosing Advice Needed ASAP. If she is not up to 200, do not shoot insulin. I tagged a few peeps to weigh in about the dose for the PM tonight. I do not give dose advice as I am learning myself. Someone will be able to help. What time zone are you in?
I'm in eastern time zone.She was probably vomiting yesterday because the dose was too high. Let's see what happens at the 12 hour mark and where she is. Post again with a new thread, Preface it as Dosing Advice Needed ASAP. If she is not up to 200, do not shoot insulin. I tagged a few peeps to weigh in about the dose for the PM tonight. I do not give dose advice as I am learning myself. Someone will be able to help. What time zone are you in?


I took her off all dry food and switched her to fancy feast classic chicken, she was familiar with canned food too so shes good with it. She was diagnosed two weeks ago, she started throwing up and I took her to vet thinking she ate something she shouldn't have, shes a strictly an inside cat. Shes' ten years old. I've had her since she was four weeks old. She started getting really fat just in a matter of six months. I had the vet take blood because of her being so thirsty and peeing a lot, was worried about her kidneys. Vet called and said her sugar was 394 or 398 I cant remember, he wanted her in the next day to keep for two days to get her insulin dose right. She was put on 4 units of pro zinc twice daily. I took her off the dry food then not realizing that and her insulin dose would clash. She weighing in at ten to twelve pounds and is a small cat.I feel so bad sticking her all the time, she fusses a little but she's a very good girl. I'm hoping to get her regulated and the this insulin as soon as I can. I feel so bad for her.PS. So much for my short comment![]()