Thank you Kris & Teasel for the prompt welcome! I also just posted in the Lantus thread since vet had us switch from PZI...
1. your kitty's name (nice to know) and approximate age; Lady, approximately 15 years old
2. what he/she eats; Was eating Fancy Feast Classic Pate and DM dry food. I began switching her to Dave's Naturals, the varieties with less than 5% carb. I had stopped feeding the DM since dry is bad...but shelter said I should be leaving dry out during the day for her..sigh
3. what insulin is currently being given and in what dose; She was on PZI 1.5 units twice daily for the past year with no BG monitoring. As of this week she crashed, and shelter vet just started her yesterday on Lantus 1 unit twice daily
4. whether you do blood glucose testing at home and, if so, what is your routine and what glucose meter do you use; Per the shelter, I was not testing BG at all after taking her home. They said she was fine and "coasting" after a trial and error and BG curve they obtained a year ago. As of this past week, I am testing using the AlphaTrak2 at least 2x day sometimes more since I'm paranoid now (she crashed on Sunday and had to rush her to ER)
5. what advice you've received from the shelter vet, if any. They have been very hands off until she crashed last weekend after being home with me for 3 months. The shelter vet had told me to increase her night dose of PZI after I informed her of excessive drinking and urination the past month. I did 2 units PZI Saturday night, and Sunday at 2PM she had crashed with BG24. She spent the day/night in the ER. Brought her home on Monday, and per shelter vet with held all insulin while trying to get her eating again and BG up. Wednesday night I started Lantus 1 unit to see if that will help keep her BG more steady. So far so good, but last night I gave her DM dry back again per the shelter, and as of this morning even with the 1 unit Lantus, her BG shot back up to 450+