My first curve- any comments?

Joyce and Kallie

Member Since 2019
it looks abnormal. I wonder if she has Insulin-induced Hyperglycemia or Somogyi Effect - is this what you call bounce? Thoughts? Thanks!
 
Was yesterday that curve? I don’t see any mid cycle data for today. And trying not to be a nag, hardly any tests in the night time cycles. A before bed test is a really good one to get. Many cats go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on the nadirs or low points you see on a dose, hence the desire for at least a before bed test. If Kallie has been going lower at night, then a day time bounce cycle might be expected. I can’t really tell what was up yesterday. Another possibility is that she is an early nadir cat (not all nadir at +6), and did a Lantus double dip at the end of the cycle.

Have you decided which dosing method you would like to follow? It’ll help us help you if you decide and out either TR or SLGS in your signature. Depending on the dosing method, that 86 on the 2nd may have been significant.
 
Yes, yesterday was the curve. I did not know about bedtime. It’s 2 hours past shot. I’ll start
getting BG numbers. I’ll have to get back on the other question... I don’t know what TR or SLGS is.
 
Ok just didn’t realize abbreviations... it’s SLGS. I’ll put it in my signature. Her BG at +2 PMPS is 129. I’ll do a few more... I have such bad insomnia, I can probably get a 12 hour PM BGC.
 
Thanks on the dosing method.

The +2 is a good test to get. For many cats it gives you a heads up on what is going to happen that cycle. If you see a drop from preshot, like tonight, I would get another test. Can you manage a +3 or +4 tonight? I rather suspect she is going under the reduction point of 90. Which would mean reducing her dose by 0.25 units If you see a +2 that is the same or lower than preshot, it will be an active cycle and if you cannot monitor, leave food out for her to keep herself safe. A +2 higher than preshot usually means a quieter cycle or bounce.
 
So far PMPS is 171; +2 is 129; +4 is 102 and +6 is 99. I’ll be getting up to get the rest to AMPS. +6 is supposed to be peak, so I’m curious.
 
+2 is always a very important number to ME because i have to work during the week, if Bella is at the same or below I leave him MC, and even sometimes when his preshot amps is low I always get a +1, that all helps me determine what food I will leave down for him
 
Just an FYI -- unless you have data from more than one cycle, either a curve or more tests, the lowest point in the cycle isn't necessarily at +6. Some cats routinely have either an early or late nadir. My kitty's nadir was at around +3. In addition, the nadir can move around. Look at your data from 5/10, as an example.

Remember, your cat's goal is to keep you on your toes!
 
Back
Top