MY FAULT ????????

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I followed directions as instructed, since the middle of August I have given my Babies Fancy Feast Classic with gravy
meat/turkey, compared to the MeauMix I was feeding them, Corky's numbers switching, were noticeably good BG's as told. However, on the 14th mid-morning meal I found one last MeauMix container and gave 1/2 to each of them, now I noticed how the numbers started to change, since 2PM yesterday the numbers started to get higher,
his AMPS was huge, after checking +2 I was satisfied laid down a bit longer, something told me to check his BG again and his +4 was 85; immediately I gave him a high carb meal and shot of Karo
I know I sound boring in constantly asking the same question, please review spreadsheet.
and advise
 
Maria --

There is a 20% variation based on what is called "standard error of measurement" with a meter. (All instruments have a measurement error -- the amount just varies.) The difference between 198 to 215 to 223 is trivial. You expect numbers to rise after nadir (which is defined as the lowest point in the cycle).

I'm assuming you are referring to MeowMix. It is high carb. Do not feed Corky with this food. The use of MeowMix aside, if you expect numbers to look exactly the same every cycle, you are going to be both disappointed and drive yourself crazy. Numbers vary. They can vary for a number of reasons that I'm not going to articulate because it's a relatively long list. Look at other members spreadsheets and you'll see there can be considerable variability until a cat is regulated.

Turning to today, it's good you got a +2. A drop from 323 to 198 is a big drop in a short period of time. Most of us would have retested at +3 or +4. If it were me, I would not have fed my cat high carb food plus Karo. You can expect Corky's numbers to shoot to the moon this cycle due to overusing carbs. What would have been a wiser approach would have been to give him some low or medium (10 - 15%) carb food and re-test in 20 -30 min. If numbers were still dropping, then use high carb. I would not recommend high carb + Karo unless numbers are quite low.

The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.
 
Even the best hospitals use meters that do this. Next time you're testing try testing again five minutes later and see what happens.
We've all seen this happen with cheap meters and expensive cat meters. I know that's not very scientific but 40+ years ago I had a diabetic girlfriend who used a meter as big as a small loaf of bread and it had to "warm up" after she plugged in the AC adapter. Her sister died from diabetic complications before she was 40, be thankful for what you have.
And no, asking someone to look at your spreadsheet is not boring. That's why we're here.
 
Maria --

There is a 20% variation based on what is called "standard error of measurement" with a meter. (All instruments have a measurement error -- the amount just varies.) The difference between 198 to 215 to 223 is trivial. You expect numbers to rise after nadir (which is defined as the lowest point in the cycle).

I'm assuming you are referring to MeowMix. It is high carb. Do not feed Corky with this food. The use of MeowMix aside, if you expect numbers to look exactly the same every cycle, you are going to be both disappointed and drive yourself crazy. Numbers vary. They can vary for a number of reasons that I'm not going to articulate because it's a relatively long list. Look at other members spreadsheets and you'll see there can be considerable variability until a cat is regulated.

Turning to today, it's good you got a +2. A drop from 323 to 198 is a big drop in a short period of time. Most of us would have retested at +3 or +4. If it were me, I would not have fed my cat high carb food plus Karo. You can expect Corky's numbers to shoot to the moon this cycle due to overusing carbs. What would have been a wiser approach would have been to give him some low or medium (10 - 15%) carb food and re-test in 20 -30 min. If numbers were still dropping, then use high carb. I would not recommend high carb + Karo unless numbers are quite low.

The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.

thank you for your response, but also, Corky is now on 0.05 what you are telling me is to raise the dose to 0.25??
on the 4PM meal/dose? just one time? some members have told me not to drastically change dosing, please relate
 
No. I'm telling you to reduce the dose to 0.25u.
  • I said:
    The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.
  • You said:
    Corky is now on 0.05 what you are telling me is to raise the dose to 0.25??

I don't know what other people told you. Please read the dosing guidelines. The questions you are asking are ones you have been asking repeatedly. How about if you read the information on dosing Prozinc and post back and if you have the wrong information we will help you. You need to start using the guideline so you are more confident in what you are doing.
 
Maria --

There is a 20% variation based on what is called "standard error of measurement" with a meter. (All instruments have a measurement error -- the amount just varies.) The difference between 198 to 215 to 223 is trivial. You expect numbers to rise after nadir (which is defined as the lowest point in the cycle).

I'm assuming you are referring to MeowMix. It is high carb. Do not feed Corky with this food. The use of MeowMix aside, if you expect numbers to look exactly the same every cycle, you are going to be both disappointed and drive yourself crazy. Numbers vary. They can vary for a number of reasons that I'm not going to articulate because it's a relatively long list. Look at other members spreadsheets and you'll see there can be considerable variability until a cat is regulated.

Turning to today, it's good you got a +2. A drop from 323 to 198 is a big drop in a short period of time. Most of us would have retested at +3 or +4. If it were me, I would not have fed my cat high carb food plus Karo. You can expect Corky's numbers to shoot to the moon this cycle due to overusing carbs. What would have been a wiser approach would have been to give him some low or medium (10 - 15%) carb food and re-test in 20 -30 min. If numbers were still dropping, then use high carb. I would not recommend high carb + Karo unless numbers are quite low.

The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.
Maria --

There is a 20% variation based on what is called "standard error of measurement" with a meter. (All instruments have a measurement error -- the amount just varies.) The difference between 198 to 215 to 223 is trivial. You expect numbers to rise after nadir (which is defined as the lowest point in the cycle).

I'm assuming you are referring to MeowMix. It is high carb. Do not feed Corky with this food. The use of MeowMix aside, if you expect numbers to look exactly the same every cycle, you are going to be both disappointed and drive yourself crazy. Numbers vary. They can vary for a number of reasons that I'm not going to articulate because it's a relatively long list. Look at other members spreadsheets and you'll see there can be considerable variability until a cat is regulated.

Turning to today, it's good you got a +2. A drop from 323 to 198 is a big drop in a short period of time. Most of us would have retested at +3 or +4. If it were me, I would not have fed my cat high carb food plus Karo. You can expect Corky's numbers to shoot to the moon this cycle due to overusing carbs. What would have been a wiser approach would have been to give him some low or medium (10 - 15%) carb food and re-test in 20 -30 min. If numbers were still dropping, then use high carb. I would not recommend high carb + Karo unless numbers are quite low.

The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.


Maria --

There is a 20% variation based on what is called "standard error of measurement" with a meter. (All instruments have a measurement error -- the amount just varies.) The difference between 198 to 215 to 223 is trivial. You expect numbers to rise after nadir (which is defined as the lowest point in the cycle).

I'm assuming you are referring to MeowMix. It is high carb. Do not feed Corky with this food. The use of MeowMix aside, if you expect numbers to look exactly the same every cycle, you are going to be both disappointed and drive yourself crazy. Numbers vary. They can vary for a number of reasons that I'm not going to articulate because it's a relatively long list. Look at other members spreadsheets and you'll see there can be considerable variability until a cat is regulated.

Turning to today, it's good you got a +2. A drop from 323 to 198 is a big drop in a short period of time. Most of us would have retested at +3 or +4. If it were me, I would not have fed my cat high carb food plus Karo. You can expect Corky's numbers to shoot to the moon this cycle due to overusing carbs. What would have been a wiser approach would have been to give him some low or medium (10 - 15%) carb food and re-test in 20 -30 min. If numbers were still dropping, then use high carb. I would not recommend high carb + Karo unless numbers are quite low.

The drop to 85 means you need to reduce Corky's by 0.25u dose at PMPS.
thank you for your response, but also, Corky is now on 0.05 what you are telling me is to raise the dose to 0.25??
on the 4PM meal/dose? just one time? some members have told me not to drastically change dosing, please relate

my math is not that great or I am not understanding, Corky is on 0.05 UNITS, isn't this less than 0.25?
wouldn't that lower hi BG much more?? I am really confused by your answer, and I will read the information on the ProZinc on dosing, please explain , I am sorry
 
Corky is on .5 not .05. So .25 is 1/2 of .5 and a reduction.

I agree with what everyone is saying about Karo. I’d refrain from giving him that and high carb foods so you can truly see what the insulin is doing. He could be headed towards remission but you need to let the insulin do its job. Only give Karo and high carb foods if he drops below 50. That’s when you need to worry
 
Last edited:
Corky is now on 0.05 what you are telling me is to raise the dose to 0.25??
Maria, Corky is on 0.5 units, (not 0.05) and reducing by 0.25 units means his new dose is 0.25 units.

0.5 units (current dose) - 0.25 units (reduction) = 0.25 units new dose.

You'll have to eyeball the new dose halfway between 0.5 mark and the zero mark
upload_2023-9-17_10-50-52.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-17_10-50-52.png
    upload_2023-9-17_10-50-52.png
    77.3 KB · Views: 316
Corky is on .5 not .05. So .25 is 1/2 of .5 and a reduction.
Maria, Corky is on 0.5 units, (not 0.05) and reducing by 0.25 units means his new dose is 0.25 units.

0.5 units (current dose) - 0.25 units (reduction) = 0.25 units new dose.

You'll have to eyeball the new dose halfway between 0.5 mark and the zero mark
View attachment 67620

you guys are so so right I get it now and thank you for the diagram, just got home just tested his BG is 303
I'll get right on the ProZinc dosing in a few minutes, I guess I get so nervous I get all confused, I will stop the Karo and high carbs as instructed, all of you are so patient with me and continue to explain, that I am embarrassed about it, I will get it, promise, :bighug::banghead:

I agree with what everyone is saying about Karo. I’d refrain from giving him that and high carb foods so you can truly see what the insulin is doing. He could be headed towards remission but you need to let the insulin do its job. Only give Karo and huh carb foods if he drops below 50. That’s when you need to worry

so .25 is just the tip of the syringe
 
so .25 is just the tip of the syringe
thank you for being so patient with me and thank you for the syringe diagram, I'm really sick over him, it's so hard to concentrate and still freak out about numbers and dosing, I will read all about it in the forum in a few, and concentrate on what I'm reading, and stop bothering you is much your patience with me is incredible, thank you, I've never been sick in my life or my 3 girls, and all I have is my Corky and my Coco he's a half Main Coon I have her on the same diet and schedule as Corky she's 3 1/2 I do not want to go thru this again with her,
again thank you for always being there for us:bighug: :banghead::cat:I'll get it
 
thank you for being so patient with me and thank you for the syringe diagram, I'm really sick over him, it's so hard to concentrate and still freak out about numbers and dosing, I will read all about it in the forum in a few, and concentrate on what I'm reading, and stop bothering you is much your patience with me is incredible, thank you, I've never been sick in my life or my 3 girls, and all I have is my Corky and my Coco he's a half Main Coon I have her on the same diet and schedule as Corky she's 3 1/2 I do not want to go thru this again with her,
again thank you for always being there for us:bighug: :banghead::cat:I'll get it

When you read the Prozinc dosing methods, study the first half of the document that explains about the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) dosing method - that's the dosing method you are following now.

The second half of the Prozinc dosing method document describes a more aggressive dosing protocol called the Modified Prozinc Method (MPM) that you're not ready for yet, so, I strongly recommend only concentrating on the part of the dosing protocol that describes Start Low Go Slow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top