donaleen and Ozy
Member Since 2013
Here is what I believe about Ozy and his IAA:
Ozy's IAA was classified as high. Black Kittey was extreme.
And, here is a timeline I did for Black Kitty (based on his SS and info from Sandy).
2/1/2008 dX first SS entry
6/1/2008 DKA start of R @.5U (this was due to DKA)
8/1/2008 (6 months) 12.5U Lantus; 2-6 u R (depending on BG) @ PS and +6
9/1/2008 (7 months) IAA dX
Oct-09 (8 months) 13U Lantus;2-6U R ;
Dec-09 (10 months) 13U Lantus;no R; dental, then down dosing ladder
Jan-09 (11 months) 7U Lantus, no R; periods of good control
2/1/2009 (one year) 5.5U Lantus, no R, better numbers, periods of good control
5/28/2009 (16 months) 2nd dental; 4-5U Lantus, no R, good control
Oct-09 (20 months) OTJ
The root of all his issues was a failing auto immune system, probably caused by a rabies shot.
His BG numbers tracked with outbreaks of Eosinophyllic Granuloma, an autoimmune disorder.
Levemir worked much better for him than Lantus. He was flatter. I also think the IAA wasn't as severe with Levemir. Lantus made the IAA worse. That is, Lantus stimulated the antibodies.
On Levemir, he was pretty stable. But he sometimes had sudden low plunges. I think the antibodies wore off and he would plunge. I had to test frequently to catch the plunges into the twenties and thirties. Then the antibodies would regenerate and he would sky rocket.
It was important to know how he normally responded to food. Eating normally raised his BG about 30 points. If I fed him and he didn't come up within an hour, I was in trouble. Then we had to resort to maple syrup, sometimes several doses.
Not sure what I think about R. It was nice to have something I could do but it may have been more for me than him.
He also had sudden high periods. I think they were caused by E. granuloma activity. Going up gradulally in insulin didn't work for him. He needed a sudden boost for a cycle or two to come down.
His IAA broke when enough time went by. That is how IAA is.
I fretted too much about ketones.
I don't believe so much in the theory of bounces.
You will learn how to keep your cat safe here on FDMB with food, testing and insulin dosing. Many cats will become regulated or go OTJ following tight regulation. But, for some cats, you will have to figure out what works for your cat. As they say, ECID.
Ozy's IAA was classified as high. Black Kittey was extreme.
And, here is a timeline I did for Black Kitty (based on his SS and info from Sandy).
2/1/2008 dX first SS entry
6/1/2008 DKA start of R @.5U (this was due to DKA)
8/1/2008 (6 months) 12.5U Lantus; 2-6 u R (depending on BG) @ PS and +6
9/1/2008 (7 months) IAA dX
Oct-09 (8 months) 13U Lantus;2-6U R ;
Dec-09 (10 months) 13U Lantus;no R; dental, then down dosing ladder
Jan-09 (11 months) 7U Lantus, no R; periods of good control
2/1/2009 (one year) 5.5U Lantus, no R, better numbers, periods of good control
5/28/2009 (16 months) 2nd dental; 4-5U Lantus, no R, good control
Oct-09 (20 months) OTJ