stefani&toonces
Member Since 2009
Hey all!
I wanted to get some feedback from the other lantus users on what my next move should be with my new diabetic foster cat. For those who don't know me, I've been on the board since 2004 and am pretty experienced with lantus, but I am a little rusty with this particular type of lantus response. My own cat Toonces was on lantus for a year and a half, but he had a history of severe hypo that complicated his regulation and he was very inconsistent in his response. After he passed, I fostered 3 diabetic cats of the next few years, and was able to get each of my 3 fosters either off insulin entirely or needing only occasional insulin by doing tight control. They made it easy -- they were consistent responders and good responders.
"Boo boo" however had been on 4 u BID of Novolin N when he came to me on June 13. I switched him to lantus and within a couple of days realized that he needed to having a starting dose of 1.5 units, which seems like a lot to me with lantus, but his preshots were in the 400s, and he was not getting much below 300 on 1 unit.
Now, what I am used to seeing with my prior fosters is preshots getting lower in the first few days of therapy, leading to a need for a decreased dose, and thereafter more dose reductions needed. At least one of my other lantus fosters thought, didn't get a full 12 hours out of lantus.
My challenge is this:
Since raising his dose to 1.5 units, he has gone as low as the 50s with a preshot in the low 300s. At the same time, he's only getting about 11 hours out of that. And in other cycles where his preshot has been higher than that, he doesn't usually make it below the mid 200s (although once he did).
My next move could be:
1. Stand pat waiting for a more reliable response. Keep the dose at 1.5u and either do or do not reduce the dose with a preshot below 250.
2. Get some R and start a basal bolus routine, giving his PS a downward nudge with R if it is over a certain number (say, 350), and concurrently give him either 1 or 1.5 u of lantus. This is the option that sounds best to me.
3. Try starting TR using lantus alone, by checking where he is at +6 and giving a small booster (.25u) if his numbers are above a certain line (say 250) at midcycle. This has the downside of putting me in a round the clock cycle but it's kind of how I got the others
off the juice, except the difference is they were more consistent. This would be hard to maintain during the workweek as I would definitely need to run home on lunch if not more often.
4. Try levimir instead. This would be premature at this point I think.
Thoughts?
Also the entire question may be premature, since I don't have a nice full curve to share with you, but I do have lots of spot checks. See below.
6-23
PM
PS 447 1.5u
+3 339
AM
PS 477 1.5u
+3 298
6-22
PS 428 1.5u
+4.5 255
AM
PS 184 (reduced dose of 1u)
+ 2.5 90
+4 59
+8 86
6-21
PM
PS 219 (reduced dose of 1u)
+3 205
+6 128
AM
PS 407 1.5u
6-20
PM
PS 443 1.5u
+3 139
AM
PS 388 1.5u
+ 4.5 254
6-19
PM
PS 320 1.5u
+3 117
+6 52
AM
PS 361 1.5u
+4 298
6-18
PM
PS 338 1.5u
AM 405 1.5u
+4 321
I wanted to get some feedback from the other lantus users on what my next move should be with my new diabetic foster cat. For those who don't know me, I've been on the board since 2004 and am pretty experienced with lantus, but I am a little rusty with this particular type of lantus response. My own cat Toonces was on lantus for a year and a half, but he had a history of severe hypo that complicated his regulation and he was very inconsistent in his response. After he passed, I fostered 3 diabetic cats of the next few years, and was able to get each of my 3 fosters either off insulin entirely or needing only occasional insulin by doing tight control. They made it easy -- they were consistent responders and good responders.
"Boo boo" however had been on 4 u BID of Novolin N when he came to me on June 13. I switched him to lantus and within a couple of days realized that he needed to having a starting dose of 1.5 units, which seems like a lot to me with lantus, but his preshots were in the 400s, and he was not getting much below 300 on 1 unit.
Now, what I am used to seeing with my prior fosters is preshots getting lower in the first few days of therapy, leading to a need for a decreased dose, and thereafter more dose reductions needed. At least one of my other lantus fosters thought, didn't get a full 12 hours out of lantus.
My challenge is this:
Since raising his dose to 1.5 units, he has gone as low as the 50s with a preshot in the low 300s. At the same time, he's only getting about 11 hours out of that. And in other cycles where his preshot has been higher than that, he doesn't usually make it below the mid 200s (although once he did).
My next move could be:
1. Stand pat waiting for a more reliable response. Keep the dose at 1.5u and either do or do not reduce the dose with a preshot below 250.
2. Get some R and start a basal bolus routine, giving his PS a downward nudge with R if it is over a certain number (say, 350), and concurrently give him either 1 or 1.5 u of lantus. This is the option that sounds best to me.
3. Try starting TR using lantus alone, by checking where he is at +6 and giving a small booster (.25u) if his numbers are above a certain line (say 250) at midcycle. This has the downside of putting me in a round the clock cycle but it's kind of how I got the others
off the juice, except the difference is they were more consistent. This would be hard to maintain during the workweek as I would definitely need to run home on lunch if not more often.
4. Try levimir instead. This would be premature at this point I think.
Thoughts?
Also the entire question may be premature, since I don't have a nice full curve to share with you, but I do have lots of spot checks. See below.
6-23
PM
PS 447 1.5u
+3 339
AM
PS 477 1.5u
+3 298
6-22
PS 428 1.5u
+4.5 255
AM
PS 184 (reduced dose of 1u)
+ 2.5 90
+4 59
+8 86
6-21
PM
PS 219 (reduced dose of 1u)
+3 205
+6 128
AM
PS 407 1.5u
6-20
PM
PS 443 1.5u
+3 139
AM
PS 388 1.5u
+ 4.5 254
6-19
PM
PS 320 1.5u
+3 117
+6 52
AM
PS 361 1.5u
+4 298
6-18
PM
PS 338 1.5u
AM 405 1.5u
+4 321