my cats bg is 571

Status
Not open for further replies.

chamil

Member Since 2011
i just tested her and it showed her bg at 571!! it was 67 in her morning test how to bring it down?

she is usually on prozinc 1u
 
Hi Chamil & welcome!!!

Can you give us a little more information? On those numbers that you posted, when are they relative to shot time? You can write it like this:

AMPS (am pre-shot) BG# dose
+4 (hours after shot) BG#
PMPS BG dose

So for example (made up numbers)

AMPS 350 1u
+6 70
PMPS 300 1u

It makes a HUGE difference when in the cycle (time from one shot to the next) you saw the numbers that you did. If you can fill in that gap, we can help you figure out what it means!!!
 
Just in case you don't already know this, you should never give PZI on a pre-shot BG# that is under 150. If you get a number lower than that, you want to wait and retest, and only give the shot once they are over 150. I'm not sure where in the cycle the 67 was, so just wanted to mention that in case it was the pre-shot (PS). If you see a number like that at PS time, you definitely don't want to give the shot.
 
thanks for the quick reply
AMPS 65 0u
+6 try several time to get blood but no luck
PMPS 571

hope i got this right
and sorry i just checked and it was 65 this morning
 
Oh ok, so you got 65 this morning for the PS but did not give a shot (GOOD!). And now it is really high tonight.

So if I understood right, that is to be expected - with no shot they will usually go high.

If your AMPS was 65 though, that suggests the shot you gave last night was too much insulin (you gave 1u last night? do you know what the PS was, or did you just start testing today?)
 
yesterday pmps was 284 and i gave her 1u after her meal

just getting used to home testing and still have trouble getting blood sometimes, tried to get her blood at +6,+7 and +8 today but got nothing and stop to avoid stressing her out, finally got a reading at +11.5 near the time of her second meal/shot and its this high

ate 1/2 a can of the m/d can and got some ff i was gonna try to get her to eat from now
 
just a little more info on yesterday

amps 112 0u
+1 187 ou
+3 147 0u
pmps no blood gave her food but no shot
+2.5 284 gave her 1u
 
Did you already give her a shot tonight? It looks to me like 1u is a little too much. You want shootable PSs, which means above 150, and hers are coming in below that. I think it is probably ok to give 1u though tonight since she is so high. I would probably try 1u tonight, and then try just 1/2 unit starting in the morning and see how she does for a day or two on that. You might need 3/4, but I'd start with 1/2 just to get your bearings.

Also are you switching her over from m/d to ff? That could lead to her BGs getting lower, so that might be part of the mix.

Just to summarize for anyone else tuning in, here is how the data looks (hopefully I got it right!):

6/13:
amps 112 no shot
+13 187
+15 147
pmps +24 no blood gave her food but no shot
+26.5 284 gave her 1u

6/14:
AMPS 65 no shot
+6 try several time to get blood but no luck
PMPS +24 571

The hours are from the last shot time (I know it gets confusing!). It takes a while to get the hang of testing, you are doing great to have this much data so far! She actually did amazingly well yesterday with no shot in the morning, and she was only at 284 by night time. She went higher today, but that's ok, it happens. I think she will do great with a dose reduction!
 
with a BG that high, I agree with 1u tonight. Depending on what number she gives you in the morning, you can decide between 0.5u or 0.75u to go with after that.
 
thanks calming down a bit

was mixing in alittle ff chicken feast chunky to get her used to the new stuff and was gonna see about switching all together to just ff tonight since she seems to like it

she's eating right now and are getting her shot ready
 
Traffic here may be light in the morning - if you want advice and no one answers quickly here, go ahead and post on Health (and of course you can post there anyway if you want to). And if you ever have a panic situation, Health is a good place to start - there is almost always someone around there.

When you are new we usually suggest setting 200 as your no-shoot. If you get a PS below that, you can retest in 20 minutes or so (depending on the #) and then when it gets to around 200 then give the shot. Then as you get more data you can lower than level to 150, but that gives you a little safely buffer when you are still new to things.

Hope tonight goes great! I won't be around in the morning, but there are a couple people who I think may be here in the morning (I wouldn't know, lol).

Keep us posted how it is going! If you want you can post a daily thread with the numbers and any other news. That's a great way to get people looking at your #s consistently and following along. It's been a bit of a crazy day here... I'm sure others will be along to welcome you soon!
 
Is the chunky FF low carb? I don't remember on that one... I've always used the classic pates, they seem to be LC. Anyhow, hopefully it is!
 
this is the second highest number she has had, (only her bg at the time of her diagnosing was higher). I got different flavors of ff and all are below 7% i think, i'll see if i can get a bg reading later tonight since she ate only 1/4 of the ff can but most of the juice (maybe she found a stray dog kibble and ate it while i was away) and will be keeping my eye on her till im too sleepy to do so :smile:
thank you im sure chamil is very glad her ignorant human has a people helping

btw did you make the spread sheet your self?,if not can i have a link to a template/blank please
 
If you head over to the Tech forum there should be SS template there.... I didn't make it, LOL, I copied it from somewhere! There is also info about getting the SS link in your signature, etc. If it doesn't make sense, post there and/or here for help!
 
Good Morining Chamil

I am usualyy the early bird here, I like to check in between 5:30 and 6am
I am not great at advice but I will try to help as much as I can

welcome to PZI Land
There are a lot of wonderful and knowledgable people here to help you!

Denise and Shakes
 
Good Morning!

I just wanted to welcome you to our group.

I also feed FF chunky chicken-- if I remember correctly it is 5 % carbs, so you are good there.

Joanna, like always, has given you wonderful advice!

I see you are from the "west"-- so, there should be plenty of morning help for you.

Once again welcome!

Kim and Kitty
 
Welcome! As Joanna said, this board has only ProZinc/PZI users so you can get dose advice here. It is busiest in the evening, but as Kim said, since you are in the West, there should be people in the morning also.

Here is a copy of the spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/previewtemplate ... blic&pli=1 You need to be signed into Google, then press Use this template. The instructions for use are here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 it can be slow to load on some computers.

If you need help, just send me a private message and I will try to help you get it set up. (PM button in the left hand corner of my post)

Hope you got a shootable number this morning and as suggested, shot a lower dose. We want to find a dose that will keep her in shootable numbers twice a day.
 
hi all and thanks for the link i'll try it later when i get home

update on chamil, last night she seem a little sleepy after her shot and was worried a bit since she ate mostly ff can juice (just about 1/4 of the can only). I tried to get blood from her but no luck :YMSIGH: (i really need to get better at this soon), also about an hour after the 1u shot she followed me to the living room and got comfortable in the couch arm and seem fine, but at times i notice she seem to have a bobble head after she move her head. after about 10-20 min of this she went up to her normal place and drank some water and nibble the food alittle more, groomed abit, then went right back to sleep for the rest of the night, occasionally waking to get some water but not once did she used the litterbox

this morning i got a called from my cousin (she usually cares for her when i can't be home in the morning ) and said she try to get a amps bg reading on her ,which is good, but said she lost count on how many time she poke her?!, i told her to STOP and try again later (oh my poor cat) and to feed her normally and just watch her. that was about and hour ago

is 2hr since she was suppose to get her shot, should she try to test her again or can she wait until i get home?
 
I would want to get a bg reading before giving a shot to make sure that it is safe to give her the insulin. If her bg is low you don't want to give her the shot.

Have you tried to warm up the ear? A warm ear will bleed better. Put some regular rice in the toe of a sock and tie it shut, then heat in microwave for 20 seconds and rub it on Camil's ear to warm it up.
 
The warm ear was magic for us, although a larger gauge lancet helped too. (25-27 gauge). Do you want some local help to get that first drop? I can ask if we have anyone in Las Vegas.

The other thing that can make the difference is to not be tentative. Don't worry that you might hurt her (you won't and besides, a hypo is much worse than any poke), make a nice strong jab. Poke again in the same spot a second quick poke, and then milk it a little.
 
Please go ahead, Cindy. I don't know them. I posted on Community in hopes of finding someone.

Check Barbara and Thumper's thread above and see if you have any ideas.
 
ok, sue and chamil, i sent Patty a private message with a link to your thread here chamil. watch for word from Patty here and/or via PM k
 
Hi there!!! I was sent a message saying you might need some help with home testing. I also live in Las Vegas (been here for 33 years!). I would not mind at all coming by to lend you a hand, showing you some tips and tricks. If nothing else, you might just want someone close by to talk to. I know this is a scary, scary process. If you want my number so you can call, just let me know and I'll PM it to you. Champ is on Lantus insulin so I don't know anything at all about what you use, but the home testing is all the same and the emotions we all go through are the same. I'll keep checking here to see if you post to me.
 
I got your pm and wanted to reply online. Your spreadsheet looks great!

Re your dosing. Looks to me like your sweet kitty may not need insulin for long! I would keep testing. As long as you are getting numbers in the 60-120 range, you are fine. If she goes above 150 or higher, come on and ask for advice. You might have to give her some mini doses - or not! What a difference the food change can make.

Looking very encouraging!
 
Ear BG stick Tips


When I first started home tesing many years ago, I had some issues with getting blood from my kitty's ear, too.

The thing that made the biggest difference for me in getting good blood samples was taking a sock (without holes in it!), putting about a cup of rice in it and tying it shut, then microwaving it until it was quite warm(but not hot enough to burn or make the cat uncomforatable, think of the temp you'd like to put on yourself as a heat pack), about 20 seconds or so, you can feel the warmth level and adjust, and applying the warm rice-filled sock to the top of the ear I was going to test. I put my other hand on the underside of the ear so that I can feel if the ear is warming properly or too much, then try to stick the top surface of the cat's ear between the edge of the ear and the vein that runs though cat ears. (On the vein isn't a disaster, but it will bleed much more, especially after warming the ear so apply pressure to stop the bleeding once the sample is taken.)

If you have a clear lancet cap for your lancet device, that will help you to line up your lancet where you want to stick, too.

I also cut up paper towels into 1 inch squares, so that once I have gotten enough blood on the test strip I can use one of those to apply pressure to stop the bleeding and prevent possible bruising of the ear.

Keep asking questions, and welcome.

Victoria
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top