My cat Smiffy diagnosed with Diabetes April UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Member Since 2016
I an completely new to Diabetes - even Human Diabetes and what it means so would welcome a simplified explaination of what it is and how it works and what the most common abbreviations are and what they mean? Going to see Vetenary nurse on Monday and want to make sure have some knowledge before going and have right questions to ask .....
 
Diabetes is the inability to process glucose, usually due to a lack of insulin. Insulin acts like a 'key' which allows glucose into the cells where it is used for energy. No insulin => no energy => death.

Reducing the carbohydrate intake for a cat by switching to a low carb, canned or raw food often reduces the glucose 5.5-11 mmol/L (100-200 mg/dL) and can reduce the insulin dose by 1-2 units. There are several foods available in the UK which you may find helpful. I believe one brand is Bozita pates, which you may be able to order on Zoo Plus. If you go up to the top of your post and click on Thread Tools, you can add UK in your topic line to get the attention of some of our UK members. @Elizabeth and Bertie have a food list, here.

In the UK, the vet is required to start with Caninsulin/Vetsulin. This is a U-40 insulin, that is, the concentration is 40 units per milliliter. Common safe starting doses are around 1-2 units. If you change to the low carb food first, it is easier and safer than trying both to change food and add insulin. Too much insulin is just as bad as too little.
 
Welcome! First and foremost, if your vet doesn't tell you that you need to begin home testing IMMEDIATELY, PLEASE COME BACK TO THIS FORUM and we'll guide you through it. It's the only way to keep your kitty safe and it'll save you a lot of worry and money!

If you're currently feeding dry food, begin transitioning to low carb canned immediately as it'll give you a more accurate picture of the correct insulin dose needed. Also, there's no need to buy the expensive food the vet will try to sell you (especially if it's a dry food), it's no better than the store brands and it costs a small fortune
 
Welcome! First and foremost, if your vet doesn't tell you that you need to begin home testing IMMEDIATELY, PLEASE COME BACK TO THIS FORUM and we'll guide you through it. It's the only way to keep your kitty safe and it'll save you a lot of worry and money!

If you're currently feeding dry food, begin transitioning to low carb canned immediately as it'll give you a more accurate picture of the correct insulin dose needed. Also, there's no need to buy the expensive food the vet will try to sell you (especially if it's a dry food), it's no better than the store brands and it costs a small fortune
There is nothing that I can do about the dry food as Smiffy hates wet food - won't even go for fish - never has in all her 14 years ... I don't think they are going to tell us to do home testing as they said that they would have to see Smiffy every now and then to take her bloods and I am pretty sure they are going to prescribe Hills Science Diet m/d ..... she would not eat the wet food and I have another cat how would scoop it up so I am a bit stuck in that sense ... oh dear this is going to be a bit harder than I thought - why wet food?
 
Diabetes is the inability to process glucose, usually due to a lack of insulin. Insulin acts like a 'key' which allows glucose into the cells where it is used for energy. No insulin => no energy => death.

Reducing the carbohydrate intake for a cat by switching to a low carb, canned or raw food often reduces the glucose 5.5-11 mmol/L (100-200 mg/dL) and can reduce the insulin dose by 1-2 units. There are several foods available in the UK which you may find helpful. I believe one brand is Bozita pates, which you may be able to order on Zoo Plus. If you go up to the top of your post and click on Thread Tools, you can add UK in your topic line to get the attention of some of our UK members. @Elizabeth and Bertie have a food list, here.

In the UK, the vet is required to start with Caninsulin/Vetsulin. This is a U-40 insulin, that is, the concentration is 40 units per milliliter. Common safe starting doses are around 1-2 units. If you change to the low carb food first, it is easier and safer than trying both to change food and add insulin. Too much insulin is just as bad as too little.
This is a bit worrying .... I understand now that if you give them less carbs you give them less insulin?
Also Smiffy doesn't like wet food but our other cat Pasha loves wet food or pate and would scoop it up!
As far as I can make out the Vet is going to give us Hills/ r/d dry food and give us instruction on how to give her insulin with a pen - like an adrenalin pen and has said that we will hvae to go back there every now and then to have her bloods done so there is no mention as yet of home testing! How difficult it home testing and do you know anything about Hill prescription diet?
 
Hi Looby, home testing is not difficult at all and is the only way to keep Smiffy safe while on insulin. All you need is a human glucometer, test strips and lancets that can be purchased at any pharmacy. The Hills dry food is very high in carbs, and yes a low carb diet can help lower your kitty's glucose levels and her insulin dose as well. If you want to start home testing-and I strongly encourage you to do so- please post and we can help you get started.
 
There is nothing that I can do about the dry food as Smiffy hates wet food - won't even go for fish - never has in all her 14 years ... I don't think they are going to tell us to do home testing as they said that they would have to see Smiffy every now and then to take her bloods and I am pretty sure they are going to prescribe Hills Science Diet m/d ..... she would not eat the wet food and I have another cat how would scoop it up so I am a bit stuck in that sense ... oh dear this is going to be a bit harder than I thought - why wet food?


Goof hated wet food too, I almost thought he's was going to starve to death before he finally ate it, now he scarfs it out of the bowl so fast sometimes I don't even have his shot ready yet! You can begin transitioning him by crushing up the LOWEST CARB dry you can find and sprinkling it on a little wet food. When he starts eating all of it, gradually add more wet until you have him transitioned. There is a very low carb dry called Young Again, it's purchased online only. You might try that, but it's pretty dang pricey!!! Wet is also better for the cats kidneys, gives the extra water they really need.

Giving insulin without prior testing is very dangerous, a member of this board lost her kitty 2 weeks ago to an insulin overdose because the vet never told her about home testing. The numbers at the vet will always be higher due to the stress of the trip, so if the insulin dose is based on the vets number, the dose would be too high. And potentially DEADLY. It's important that you begin home testing when you start giving insulin.
 
Last edited:
There are 2 low carb foods in the US - Evo Cat and Kitten Chicken and Turkey, available at pet food stores, and Young Again, available online. While the latter is pricey, the cat eats much less (no cereal fillers, if I recall correctly) so it comes out even with other dry foods cost wise.
 
I put the dry food in a blender or food processor to make almost a powder out of it, to sprinkle over wet food. That helped a lot in transitioning my kitties from dry to wet. You can also crush and sprinkle Pure Bites treats, or any low-carb treat. Sometimes a bit of Parmesan cheese sprinkled over the food will entice them, too.
 
Goof hated wet food too, I almost thought he's was going to starve to death before he finally ate it, now he scarfs it out of the bowl so fast sometimes I don't even have his shot ready yet! You can begin transitioning him by crushing up the LOWEST CARB dry you can find and sprinkling it on a little wet food. When he starts eating all of it, gradually add more wet until you have him transitioned. There is a very low carb dry called Young Again, it's purchased online only. You might try that, but it's pretty dang pricey!!! Wet is also better for the cats kidneys, gives the extra water they really need.

Giving insulin without prior testing is very dangerous, a member of this board lost her kitty 2 weeks ago to an insulin overdose because the vet never told her about home testing. The numbers at the vet will always be higher due to the stress of the trip, so if the insulin dose is based on the vets number, the dose would be too high. And potentially DEADLY. It's important that you begin home testing when you start giving insulin.
Thank you I am now better equipped with knowledge before I go to the vets tomorrow ...
 
This is a bit worrying .... I understand now that if you give them less carbs you give them less insulin?
Also Smiffy doesn't like wet food but our other cat Pasha loves wet food or pate and would scoop it up!
As far as I can make out the Vet is going to give us Hills/ r/d dry food and give us instruction on how to give her insulin with a pen - like an adrenalin pen and has said that we will hvae to go back there every now and then to have her bloods done so there is no mention as yet of home testing! How difficult it home testing and do you know anything about Hill prescription diet?
Hi Looby, and welcome to you and Smiffy. :) We're in the UK, too.

It sounds like your vet is going to give you a Caninsulin Vetpen. Having bought one for Saoirse I wouldn't recommend them. They're only capable of dispensing Caninsulin doses in increments of 0.5 units and cats need finer dose adjustments than that (typically 0.25 unit adjustments are needed). The Vetpen isn't cheap, and it's very clunky and awkward to use. Conventional U40 insulin syringes are easier to use, and will give you better dosing control. Another recently joined UK member told us that their vet said that Caninsulin U40 syringes weren't available any more. I don't know whether or not this is true but VetUK are still selling U40 syringes (ÂŁ10.66 for 30 syringes plus p&p):

http://www.vetuk.co.uk/insulin-syri...in-0-5ml-u40-insulin-syringes-box-of-30-p-295

I know that you don't think it's possible that Smiffy would ever eat wet food. I didn't think Saoirse would ever eat it either but she's now a low carb, wet food only girl. It may take a little effort at first but it is worth it: better for Smiffy's pancreas (it will improve her chances of remission - becoming a diet-controlled, non-insulin-dependent diabetic); better for her kidneys and urinary tract; and you'll be astounded at how much better her coat condition will become. There is a fantastic, vet-authored site where you can learn more about proper feline nutrition, diabetes, urinary tract health, plus lots of tips and tricks for transitioning a dry food addict to a wet, species appropriate diet:

http://catinfo.org


If you need to pace wet food meals for Pasha, timed feeders can help with that (and there are other tricks we can share with you).

As others have mentioned above, learning to home test is the best thing you can do to help Smiffy achieve better glucose regulation and to keep her safe on insulin. You have the option to use a human meter or a pet meter to measure her blood glucose. Test strips for human meters are significantly cheaper than those for pet meters (your vet may tell you about Alphatrak 2 pet meters). Human meters are fine for monitoring cats' blood glucose levels as long as you use a cat-specific reference range with them (you can learn more about that here).

It takes only a short while to get the knack of home testing and it will give you much more reliable data on Smiffy's blood glucose levels (not artificially elevated due to stress, as can be the case with readings taken at the vet's practice). Another plus is that it will save you money and, more importantly, save Smiffy the stress of unnecessary vet visits because you will be able to do day-to-day monitoring and run glucose curves (a fancy name for taking a series of regular BG readings over a 12-hour period) in the comfort of your own home.

As other members above have already advised, if you start insulin before transitioning to wet, low carb food then for safety it is VITAL that you are home testing before you start the transition because it can dramatically and quickly lower blood glucose levels and the insulin dose would need to be reduced as you go along. (Saoirse went from needing 3 units of Caninsulin down to 0.5 within 48 hours.)

Things can be a bit overwhelming in the early days after diagnosis but diabetes is most definitely do-able! I'm very glad you found FDMB: you'll learn so much here about how to help Smiffy. The moral support from the kind and friendly members here is invaluable, too. :) Keep asking questions, and we'll do all we can to help you both.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. You are limited to 2 hard returns, so separate pieces by | or -.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as your name | cat's name | date of Dx (diagnosis) | insulin | meter general location (city and state/province) any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.

Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
PS: Your vet may or may not support home blood glucose monitoring but Smiffy is your cat, and the choice to monitor is also yours. Your vet, if unsupportive, may say it's sufficient to monitor water intake. It isn't sufficient, and it will not offer Smiffy the chance of better health and longevity that comes with the better regulation that only home blood glucose monitoring makes possible.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Looby and welcome from another UKer. It does sound as if there's a lot to take in initially, but after a very short time it all makes complete sense and you will be managing things just fine.

Have a good chat with the vet - they don't always have as much training on feline diabetes as we would like, so the advice you'll get from here is an extremely useful supplement. Ideally you need to have your vet on your side when it comes to food choices, testing, etc.

On the subject of food, many of us have been where you are and convinced that our cats can't or won't eat wet - but many of us have succeeded. It takes time and patience so a lot of this is down to you! Incidentally, there's nothing wrong with Whiskas or Felix in jelly - the multi-flavour pouch boxes may be a good place to start as you can offer different ones to see which ones might go down well. But as others have said, don't switch to wet food if an insulin dose has already been prescribed.

It might help if you take pen and paper and write a few short notes or bullet points to remind you of these important facts, then it doesn't seem as if you're wading through lots of long paragraphs online!

Good luck and keep posting

Diana
 
Hi Looby and welcome from another UKer. It does sound as if there's a lot to take in initially, but after a very short time it all makes complete sense and you will be managing things just fine.

Have a good chat with the vet - they don't always have as much training on feline diabetes as we would like, so the advice you'll get from here is an extremely useful supplement. Ideally you need to have your vet on your side when it comes to food choices, testing, etc.

On the subject of food, many of us have been where you are and convinced that our cats can't or won't eat wet - but many of us have succeeded. It takes time and patience so a lot of this is down to you! Incidentally, there's nothing wrong with Whiskas or Felix in jelly - the multi-flavour pouch boxes may be a good place to start as you can offer different ones to see which ones might go down well. But as others have said, don't switch to wet food if an insulin dose has already been prescribed.

It might help if you take pen and paper and write a few short notes or bullet points to remind you of these important facts, then it doesn't seem as if you're wading through lots of long paragraphs online!

Good luck and keep posting

Diana
Hi Looby, and welcome to you and Smiffy. :) We're in the UK, too.

It sounds like your vet is going to give you a Caninsulin Vetpen. Having bought one for Saoirse I wouldn't recommend them. They're only capable of dispensing Caninsulin doses in increments of 0.5 units and cats need finer dose adjustments than that (typically 0.25 unit adjustments are needed). The Vetpen isn't cheap, and it's very clunky and awkward to use. Conventional U40 insulin syringes are easier to use, and will give you better dosing control. Another recently joined UK member told us that their vet said that Caninsulin U40 syringes weren't available any more. I don't know whether or not this is true but VetUK are still selling U40 syringes (ÂŁ10.66 for 30 syringes plus p&p):

http://www.vetuk.co.uk/insulin-syri...in-0-5ml-u40-insulin-syringes-box-of-30-p-295

I know that you don't think it's possible that Smiffy would ever eat wet food. I didn't think Saoirse would ever eat it either but she's now a low carb, wet food only girl. It may take a little effort at first but it is worth it: better for Smiffy's pancreas (it will improve her chances of remission - becoming a diet-controlled, non-insulin-dependent diabetic); better for her kidneys and urinary tract; and you'll be astounded at how much better her coat condition will become. There is a fantastic, vet-authored site where you can learn more about proper feline nutrition, diabetes, urinary tract health, plus lots of tips and tricks for transitioning a dry food addict to a wet, species appropriate diet:

http://catinfo.org


If you need to pace wet food meals for Pasha, timed feeders can help with that (and there are other tricks we can share with you).

As others have mentioned above, learning to home test is the best thing you can do to help Smiffy achieve better glucose regulation and to keep her safe on insulin. You have the option to use a human meter or a pet meter to measure her blood glucose. Test strips for human meters are significantly cheaper than those for pet meters (your vet may tell you about Alphatrak 2 pet meters). Human meters are fine for monitoring cats' blood glucose levels as long as you use a cat-specific reference range with them (you can learn more about that here).

It takes only a short while to get the knack of home testing and it will give you much more reliable data on Smiffy's blood glucose levels (not artificially elevated due to stress, as can be the case with readings taken at the vet's practice). Another plus is that it will save you money and, more importantly, save Smiffy the stress of unnecessary vet visits because you will be able to do day-to-day monitoring and run glucose curves (a fancy name for taking a series of regular BG readings over a 12-hour period) in the comfort of your own home.

As other members above have already advised, if you start insulin before transitioning to wet, low carb food then for safety it is VITAL that you are home testing before you start the transition because it can dramatically and quickly lower blood glucose levels and the insulin dose would need to be reduced as you go along. (Saoirse went from needing 3 units of Caninsulin down to 0.5 within 48 hours.)

Things can be a bit overwhelming in the early days after diagnosis but diabetes is most definitely do-able! I'm very glad you found FDMB: you'll learn so much here about how to help Smiffy. The moral support from the kind and friendly members here is invaluable, too. :) Keep asking questions, and we'll do all we can to help you both.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Looby, and welcome to you and Smiffy. :) We're in the UK, too.

It sounds like your vet is going to give you a Caninsulin Vetpen. Having bought one for Saoirse I wouldn't recommend them. They're only capable of dispensing Caninsulin doses in increments of 0.5 units and cats need finer dose adjustments than that (typically 0.25 unit adjustments are needed). The Vetpen isn't cheap, and it's very clunky and awkward to use. Conventional U40 insulin syringes are easier to use, and will give you better dosing control. Another recently joined UK member told us that their vet said that Caninsulin U40 syringes weren't available any more. I don't know whether or not this is true but VetUK are still selling U40 syringes (ÂŁ10.66 for 30 syringes plus p&p):

http://www.vetuk.co.uk/insulin-syri...in-0-5ml-u40-insulin-syringes-box-of-30-p-295

I know that you don't think it's possible that Smiffy would ever eat wet food. I didn't think Saoirse would ever eat it either but she's now a low carb, wet food only girl. It may take a little effort at first but it is worth it: better for Smiffy's pancreas (it will improve her chances of remission - becoming a diet-controlled, non-insulin-dependent diabetic); better for her kidneys and urinary tract; and you'll be astounded at how much better her coat condition will become. There is a fantastic, vet-authored site where you can learn more about proper feline nutrition, diabetes, urinary tract health, plus lots of tips and tricks for transitioning a dry food addict to a wet, species appropriate diet:

http://catinfo.org


If you need to pace wet food meals for Pasha, timed feeders can help with that (and there are other tricks we can share with you).

As others have mentioned above, learning to home test is the best thing you can do to help Smiffy achieve better glucose regulation and to keep her safe on insulin. You have the option to use a human meter or a pet meter to measure her blood glucose. Test strips for human meters are significantly cheaper than those for pet meters (your vet may tell you about Alphatrak 2 pet meters). Human meters are fine for monitoring cats' blood glucose levels as long as you use a cat-specific reference range with them (you can learn more about that here).

It takes only a short while to get the knack of home testing and it will give you much more reliable data on Smiffy's blood glucose levels (not artificially elevated due to stress, as can be the case with readings taken at the vet's practice). Another plus is that it will save you money and, more importantly, save Smiffy the stress of unnecessary vet visits because you will be able to do day-to-day monitoring and run glucose curves (a fancy name for taking a series of regular BG readings over a 12-hour period) in the comfort of your own home.

As other members above have already advised, if you start insulin before transitioning to wet, low carb food then for safety it is VITAL that you are home testing before you start the transition because it can dramatically and quickly lower blood glucose levels and the insulin dose would need to be reduced as you go along. (Saoirse went from needing 3 units of Caninsulin down to 0.5 within 48 hours.)

Things can be a bit overwhelming in the early days after diagnosis but diabetes is most definitely do-able! I'm very glad you found FDMB: you'll learn so much here about how to help Smiffy. The moral support from the kind and friendly members here is invaluable, too. :) Keep asking questions, and we'll do all we can to help you both.


Mogs
.
PS: Your vet may or may not support home blood glucose monitoring but Smiffy is your cat, and the choice to monitor is also yours. Your vet, if unsupportive, may say it's sufficient to monitor water intake. It isn't sufficient, and it will not offer Smiffy the chance of better health and longevity that comes with the better regulation that only home blood glucose monitoring makes possible.


Mogs
.
Thank you for all your advice .... so you are saying that I if we are doing the insulin straight away we should not convert to the any sort of low carb food wet or dry until she is blood testing a good figure?
 
Ref food/insulin dose - the vet will start on a low dose to be on the safe side, based on common sense (ie don't want to over-dose and risk a possible hypo) and taking into account how high Smiffy's BGs were at diagnosis. I expect the vet did a fructosamine test, which is an overall average of BGs over a period of time, not a single reading. The fructo test number is likely to be quite high, which is what tells the vet an animal has diabetes.

So you'll start on a low dose of insulin and monitor (test Smiffy's blood) at regular intervals if possible to see how the insulin's working. If BG readings drop satisfactorily on the dose given, you may be advised to maintain that dose or increase/decrease as per BGs dictate. The point is that if you introduce wet food (which can lower BGs considerably) you are clouding the picture of how the insulin is working. Does that make sense? This is why it's preferable to test Smiffy's blood, to get an accurate idea of what the insulin is doing.

A switch to wet food would be ideal but not a complete change at least while you are seeing how the insulin works.
Edited to add: I know this is confusing so I suggest talking it all through with the vet. You both need to be clear about the difference wet food can make, so if/when you attempt to transition to it, make sure that BG levels are taken into account when dosing.

Diana
 
Last edited:
@Looby -

When you start insulin, among other factors the vet will be basing the dose upon the amount of carbohydrates in the food Smiffy is currently eating (and dry food is typically quite high in carbs - Hill's m/d Dry is definitely over 10% calories from carbs). If you were to stick at the same dose and then change Smiffy to a lower carb food then that particular insulin dose would not have enough incoming carbs to 'work on' and you would be putting Smiffy at risk of an insulin overdose because, unlike the cat's pancreas, injected insulin doesn't come with an OFF switch.

The two approaches to diet change are:

Option 1 - Diet Change Before Commencement of Insulin Treatment

Doing the diet change before starting insulin eliminates the need to manage rapidly changing insulin requirements while the cat's carb intake changes and its BG levels (typically) reduce in response, but the cat's diabetic status must be considered first: insulin needs trump dietary ideals every time.

1. Determine whether the cat is a suitable candidate for this approach. It's not a suitable option for a cat who is ketone-prone, doubly so if there is a history of diabetic ketoacidosis; and it would not be a good option for a cat in very high BG numbers. If it is likely to be a protracted battle to get the cat to eat wet food then that would be another reason not to try the food transition first.

2. If the cat is a candidate for a pre-insulin-treatment food transition, then over several days the cat should be gradually transitioned from higher carb food (usually dry kibbles) to lower carb, wet food. The cat's blood glucose levels should then be reviewed after the transition (it should have had a positive impact on BG numbers) and a starting dose of insulin determined based on the new blood glucose level baseline. (Note: some cats who are not at very high levels to start with may go into remission with diet change alone.)


Option 2 - Start Insulin Treatment, Start Home Testing, then Change Diet

1. Start the cat on a suitable insulin dose based on weight assessment and current diet. (Start low and go slow for safety.)

2. Continue feeding current diet and learn to home test.

3. Once you're confident with home testing and you've collected some BG data to determine how the current dose is working you'll be ready to do the food transition.

4. Start a very, very gradual food transition (safer BG-wise and minimises risk of digestive upsets - steady food intake is even more important for cats on insulin). Regularly home test before each insulin dose and in the period between each dose to make sure that the dose is not taking the cat too low and to identify when and by how much to adjust subsequent doses.

5. As the food transition progresses it is likely that there will be a significant improvement in BG levels and the insulin dose will therefore need to be reduced. Home testing throughout the transition period enables safe and successful management of the cat's changing insulin needs as the diet change progresses. Depending on how quickly the food transition progresses BG numbers can start to show significant improvement within hours of starting the transition.

I hope the above gives you a better idea of the two approaches. Given that you envisage some issues with transitioning Smiffy to wet food, option 2 looks like the right one for her.


Mogs


(Sorry for long post: I just wanted to leave a full explanation for you to refer back to as and when you need it. :))

.
 
Last edited:
Looby,
how wonderful you have found this site!
All the info is here and also many wonderful people to help you dealing with your kitty's health problems.
Just to let you and everybody else in the UK know that new insulin for cats is now available in the UK : ProZinc human recombinant U40. You can ask your vet for it and there is a huge group of people here who use it and could give you advice.
Best of luck and let us know how things are for your and your beloved Smiffy.
Marlena
 
Looby,
how wonderful you have found this site!
All the info is here and also many wonderful people to help you dealing with your kitty's health problems.
Just to let you and everybody else in the UK know that new insulin for cats is now available in the UK : ProZinc human recombinant U40. You can ask your vet for it and there is a huge group of people here who use it and could give you advice.
Best of luck and let us know how things are for your and your beloved Smiffy.
Marlena
I am finding it difficult to navigate but I am getting there .. thanks for the message .... I am not sure that my Vet is going to let my Smiffy have this new insulin unless it becomes the norm with all Vets ....... Smiffy seems to be fine so far on the Caninsulin? Would you follow me?
 
I am not sure that my Vet is going to let my Smiffy have this new insulin unless it becomes the norm with all Vets
Should the Caninsulin not prove successful you can make a case to get another insulin prescribed under UK drug cascade rules (e.g. Lantus). If you could start home testing and record the results in an FDMB spreadsheet it would help you to better monitor how well the Caninsulin is/isn't working and it would also aid members here to give you better suggestions on how to improve things should you need the help.


Mogs
.
 
I am finding it difficult to navigate but I am getting there .. thanks for the message .... I am not sure that my Vet is going to let my Smiffy have this new insulin unless it becomes the norm with all Vets ....... Smiffy seems to be fine so far on the Caninsulin? Would you follow me?
Looby,
New cat's insulin ProZinc is a veterinary insulin well known and used in Europe and USA but for some reason hasn't been, until now available in the UK so getting it from your vet is not a problem at all because it has been licenced for use in cats. I can understand why some vets are reluctant to prescribe a human insulin like Lantus or Levemir, these insulins are 2.5 times stronger that Caninsulin or ProZinc and dosing in such small doses required for some cats may be difficult for caregivers.
I use a different insulin which is made for humans from beef and it is also a protamine zinc insulin (PZI Hypurin) and it is strong U100 insulin and the fact that it is 100% beef might be an advantage here as beef insulin is the most compatible with cat's system.
I have used Caninsulin (made from pork) with a good result but I think (after doing a lot of research), other insulins are actually better for cats.
So you have a choice. If you find out that you don't get results with Caninsulin you could try different one but my first choice to start treatment of diabetes in a cat would be ProZinc from the vet's rather then Caninsulin.
I hope I didn't confuse you but if any questions arise on your part I'm happy to explain more. You could do more research yourself by googling "best insulin for feline diabetes" or similar.
We are here to help you so you will not be on your own on this journey to diabetic health but please be aware that some people here are allowed to give you a dose( a dose of insulin and how it's working) advice and some (like myself) could only give you general advice.
Best regards,
Marlena
 
Looby,
New cat's insulin ProZinc is a veterinary insulin well known and used in Europe and USA but for some reason hasn't been, until now available in the UK so getting it from your vet is not a problem at all because it has been licenced for use in cats. I can understand why some vets are reluctant to prescribe a human insulin like Lantus or Levemir, these insulins are 2.5 times stronger that Caninsulin or ProZinc and dosing in such small doses required for some cats may be difficult for caregivers.
I use a different insulin which is made for humans from beef and it is also a protamine zinc insulin (PZI Hypurin) and it is strong U100 insulin and the fact that it is 100% beef might be an advantage here as beef insulin is the most compatible with cat's system.
I have used Caninsulin (made from pork) with a good result but I think (after doing a lot of research), other insulins are actually better for cats.
So you have a choice. If you find out that you don't get results with Caninsulin you could try different one but my first choice to start treatment of diabetes in a cat would be ProZinc from the vet's rather then Caninsulin.
I hope I didn't confuse you but if any questions arise on your part I'm happy to explain more. You could do more research yourself by googling "best insulin for feline diabetes" or similar.
We are here to help you so you will not be on your own on this journey to diabetic health but please be aware that some people here are allowed to give you a dose( a dose of insulin and how it's working) advice and some (like myself) could only give you general advice.
Best regards,
Marlena
Thanks for the information - I am definitely going to talk to my Vet about it ... I actually know somebody who works for the chemical company that makes ProZinc and he said that he will be surprised if the Vet has even heard of it but we will see .... so far so good with the Cansulin ... she just gets a bit drowsy in the evening but she eats all the food that I put down in the morning so she is not starving as one of the girls on the Facebook site intimated ... she said that Smiffy was starving to death before she was diagnosed but she had food available to her all the time then and now I have reduced her food according to the Vet's instructions so am I starving her to death now? I replied to the girl that said this that she should be careful what she says or how she says it as it has really worried me now .... I have kept this message of yours in a file for future reference .. thank you .. would you tell me what you think about the comment that I am starving my cat to death .. the reason the Vets have put her on 35mg twice a day of Hills high protein m/d is so that she loses a bit of weight as she is over 5kg but I am a bit scared that putting her on a diet at the same time as 2 units twice a day of inuslin may be a bit harsh now?
 
she said that Smiffy was starving to death before she was diagnosed
Oh, (((Looby))),

I don't think she was trying to imply that 'you were starving your cat'. What I think she was trying to say was that cats with undiagnosed/untreated diabetes can, in effect, be 'starving' because without insulin they are unable to utilise the energy from their food. That's why cats with untreated diabetes lose weight: They start using up their own fat and muscle mass.

Does that make sense...?
.
 
Well explained, Elizabeth. Looby, you're right to be aware of the potential pitfalls etc when treating FD and it's true that some comments can come across as worrying - we all have different ways of trying to explain (sometimes quite complex) scenarios, but try not to worry, everyone truly only wants the very best for every single member and their kitties!

Keep going...
Diana
 
Thanks for the information - I am definitely going to talk to my Vet about it ... I actually know somebody who works for the chemical company that makes ProZinc and he said that he will be surprised if the Vet has even heard of it but we will see .... so far so good with the Cansulin ... she just gets a bit drowsy in the evening but she eats all the food that I put down in the morning so she is not starving as one of the girls on the Facebook site intimated ... she said that Smiffy was starving to death before she was diagnosed but she had food available to her all the time then and now I have reduced her food according to the Vet's instructions so am I starving her to death now? I replied to the girl that said this that she should be careful what she says or how she says it as it has really worried me now .... I have kept this message of yours in a file for future reference .. thank you .. would you tell me what you think about the comment that I am starving my cat to death .. the reason the Vets have put her on 35mg twice a day of Hills high protein m/d is so that she loses a bit of weight as she is over 5kg but I am a bit scared that putting her on a diet at the same time as 2 units twice a day of inuslin may be a bit harsh now?
Dear Looby,
I'm sure your vet knows about ProZinc insulin for cats because it has been advertised to the vets in this country in Veterinary Journal - my vet showed me the advert and also, I think if there is something new available the manufacturer will push the advertising campaign to push the sales. It is after all how they generate money!
As I said before there are many human insulins called ProZinc/PZI (by human I mean for humans made from pigs, beef or manufactured to be molecularly identical to human insulin). I wonder why your friend working for the manufacturer of ProZinc thinks that vets don't know about it?
Regarding a person who, you think implied that you're starving your cat - please be assured that she did not mean that. Diabetes is a condition which makes the body of a human, cat or any other mammal for that matter starving because cells don't receive glucose for energy due to lack of insulin which is like a key to open cells for glucose. As the glucose is delivered via food and than in not utilised therefore it gets spilled out into the blood and becomes toxic to the organs. That's why you test the blood to find glucose level and if it is high it means that there is not enough insulin to take the glucose to the cells and if it is too low it means that there is too much insulin (delivered by injection). In a healthy body all this happens naturally, body regulates blood glucose itself.
So, if you have no insulin produced by your pancreas you have huge appetite and you eat a lot but you loose weight, you are constantly thirsty because body tries to spill the glucose with your urine. You loose weight and muscle mass, you are starving.
It is a very simplistic way of explaining diabetes but I hope this will help you understand why this person mentioned "starving cat".
I would feed your cat a lot if she is losing weight but would steer clear from high carbohydrate food. If you must feed dry kibble I would go with the smallest carb content. This site is full of information how to feed a diabetic cat, how to detox from dry food, what is the best food etc. Was your cat ever interested in fresh meat, let's say you chopping chicken for stir fry and you dropped a piece on the floor - would she eat it?
I feed Rocky species-appropriate diet which is raw homemade diet with supplements.
Let me know if you have more questions.
Best regards,
Marlena
 
Thankyou for your advice Mogs - l will speak with my Vet about home testing when L see him next Wednesday
Looby,
start testing now! The sooner the better, you will learn how to do it, watch the videos, try on yourself!
You might feel nervous at first but please try to relax, you will be so great with practice! We will guide you through.
And if you think that you are learning something new and maybe one day you will be the one who helps somebody else with a diabetic cat (FD is more common these days) - the satisfaction of that is wonderful.
If you go to a pharmacy now and purchase AccuCheck Aviva Nano glucometer kit you have everything you need to start or you can ring them and tell them that you wish to use their glucometer and ask them to send you one for free of charge: tel.no 0800701000.
Good luck,
Marlena
 
Oh, (((Looby))),

I don't think she was trying to imply that 'you were starving your cat'. What I think she was trying to say was that cats with undiagnosed/untreated diabetes can, in effect, be 'starving' because without insulin they are unable to utilise the energy from their food. That's why cats with untreated diabetes lose weight: They start using up their own fat and muscle mass.

Does that make sense...?
.
Yes it does and now that she is eating less it worries me even more as I have put her on a diet according to the Vet's instructions because he wants her to lose more weight than she has already ... am I feeding her enough now? If I am giving her insulin now that means that even though I am giving her less food, she is able to use the food as energy instead of all the sugar going into her blood? She not dying of hunger now is she? She is telling me that she is hungry but she has been a hoover for most of her life - just one of those cats like some humans that don't know when they are full!

The other question I had for you Elizabeth is what make of testing kit and all the bits do you use for Bertie? I need to have one that is easy to use and you and a lot of people have said that there are human kits that are much better for cats than the one that my Vet is likely to suggest ... can you suggest an easy one for me to use?

Thanks for all your help - you must have other things to so on a Saturday!!!
 
Looby,
start testing now! The sooner the better, you will learn how to do it, watch the videos, try on yourself!
You might feel nervous at first but please try to relax, you will be so great with practice! We will guide you through.
And if you think that you are learning something new and maybe one day you will be the one who helps somebody else with a diabetic cat (FD is more common these days) - the satisfaction of that is wonderful.
If you go to a pharmacy now and purchase AccuCheck Aviva Nano glucometer kit you have everything you need to start or you can ring them and tell them that you wish to use their glucometer and ask them to send you one for free of charge: tel.no 0800701000.
Good luck,
Marlena
Is this kit really easy to use as I am having trouble with the Caninsulin never mind testing her blood as well ...... is it REALLY easy to use?
 
Is this kit really easy to use as I am having trouble with the Caninsulin never mind testing her blood as well ...... is it REALLY easy to use?
I have googled this kit and there are several different types - which type is the easiest and best to use for Smiffy?
 
Hi Looby, there are several human blood testing kits on the market and they may be available on line or from pharmacies. I used to use the One Touch Ultra which was pretty simple, and several of the other UKers used it too. I'm not sure what Elizabeth, Mogs and others use these days but there are, I think, other kits on the market which require less blood to get the 'reading' (the blood glucose number). Don't worry, you don't need a lot of blood - it's just a tiny amount, honest!

I do encourage you to take up Elizabeth's kind offer of showing you how she tests Bertie. She's a real expert and will show you her tips and tricks to make it as easy as possible. I don't live far away either and would gladly be there with you as well, so you'd have two FDMB members who you'd have met in person. Having said that, it's not vital to have someone show you how to test, there's information on line and of course here on this board you'll find as much help, reassurance and motivation as you need.

I know it's worrying at first but try to relax if you can, you will find it easier to take on board. We often talk about the need to give our cats 'treats' during the testing process, to reinforce it as a positive experience; what's not so often recommended is the need for treats for yourself as well. Wine? Chocolate? Whatever it is, indulge yourself, you deserve it.

Edited to add: sorry if this has been mentioned before, but if you look at other members's signatures (the info at the bottom of their posts) you will see that they often state which meter they use. So Eliz uses OTU which is simply shorthand for One Touch Ultra.

Diana
 
Last edited:
Hi, Looby!

My baby Squeaks was diagnosed in January of this year. I grew up in a diabetic household, have had to check my own blood sugar, and was TERRIFIED to check my sugarfoots. How can you explain that hurting them is a good thing?!

Pfft! He purred through the whole process, despite my fears. He flinced a little, more from the pen click than anything! It really isn't as bad as you think!

Lucky for me, just switching to a low carb wet food (thanks to this site!) resolved his problem. Within 24 hours I had a brand new purr baby who played again and didn't constantly pee or drink water. His brofur, non-diabetic civvie, eats the same food he does. Prevention is key! Keep working on the wet food. He'll come around eventually and that could be the tipping point between a lifetime of shots or occassional check-ups.

You've got a lot of support here!
 
Hi Looby, there are several human blood testing kits on the market and they may be available on line or from pharmacies. I used to use the One Touch Ultra which was pretty simple, and several of the other UKers used it too. I'm not sure what Elizabeth, Mogs and others use these days but there are, I think, other kits on the market which require less blood to get the 'reading' (the blood glucose number). Don't worry, you don't need a lot of blood - it's just a tiny amount, honest!

I do encourage you to take up Elizabeth's kind offer of showing you how she tests Bertie. She's a real expert and will show you her tips and tricks to make it as easy as possible. I don't live far away either and would gladly be there with you as well, so you'd have two FDMB members who you'd have met in person. Having said that, it's not vital to have someone show you how to test, there's information on line and of course here on this board you'll find as much help, reassurance and motivation as you need.

I know it's worrying at first but try to relax if you can, you will find it easier to take on board. We often talk about the need to give our cats 'treats' during the testing process, to reinforce it as a positive experience; what's not so often recommended is the need for treats for yourself as well. Wine? Chocolate? Whatever it is, indulge yourself, you deserve it.

Edited to add: sorry if this has been mentioned before, but if you look at other members's signatures (the info at the bottom of their posts) you will see that they often state which meter they use. So Eliz uses OTU which is simply shorthand for One Touch Ultra.

Diana
Thank you Diana - where do you live? I will have to try to find the thread where Elizabeth offered to show me how to home test ...... Would certainly help to have a demo! Smiffy has seemed very dull and ver unfriendly today which is not like her and she has really Sussex the needle now and knows when she eats Mummy is going to come up behind her and she runs away so l had to wait for her to come back and calm down - it was much easier the first few times! She loves to eat and now that has become stressful for her so I feel really mean ..... I an in Binfield near Bracknell ..... I will google the One Touch Ultra ......
 
Smiffy has seemed very dull and ver unfriendly today which is not like her and she has really Sussex the needle now and knows when she eats Mummy is going to come up behind her and she runs away so l had to wait for her to come back and calm down

I suggest keeping a daily journal of Smiffy's clinical signs in which you should include observations like the above. Caninsulin really doesn't agree with some cats (I have one of them!). Not too long after Saoirse started treatment with Caninsulin she would be OK for a little while after her dose; she'd spend about 10 hours being very withdrawn and lethargic (hid behind a floor-length curtain for most of this time), and she'd perk up and feel better for about an hour or so before her next dose was due. Like Smiffy, Saoirse was fairly OK with her insulin injections at first but, after a while, come injection time she started trying her level best to hide in the most inaccessible place she could find in order to avoid the dose. It took me a while to put two and two together and realise that Caninsulin was making her feel absolutely lousy. Other members have reported similar experiences in their cats.

Keeping the daily journal of observations will also provide evidence for your vet to support the issuing of an Rx for a different insulin under cascade rules.



Mogs
.
 
Looby, it was this very thread where Elizabeth offered to demo home testing (scroll up!). If you want to take her up on that, it would probably be good to get yourself a meter first so Eliz can help you set it up if necessary, and you'd be able to do some practice tests yourself there with expert help on hand.
But if it's too far for you, you could take your meter into a pharmacy and ask for help with using it, although all meters should come with instructions. It really isn't that difficult, it's just a knack. I know how strange it all is at first but testing is an important part of treating FD because it enables you to dose accurately and gives you peace of mind.

Diana
 
Last edited:
Goof hated wet food too, I almost thought he's was going to starve to death before he finally ate it, now he scarfs it out of the bowl so fast sometimes I don't even have his shot ready yet! You can begin transitioning him by crushing up the LOWEST CARB dry you can find and sprinkling it on a little wet food. When he starts eating all of it, gradually add more wet until you have him transitioned. There is a very low carb dry called Young Again, it's purchased online only. You might try that, but it's pretty dang pricey!!! Wet is also better for the cats kidneys, gives the extra water they really need.

Giving insulin without prior testing is very dangerous, a member of this board lost her kitty 2 weeks ago to an insulin overdose because the vet never told her about home testing. The numbers at the vet will always be higher due to the stress of the trip, so if the insulin dose is based on the vets number, the dose would be too high. And potentially DEADLY. It's important that you begin home testing when you start giving insulin.
Dear Looby,
have you read this post by Mogmom?
Please consider feeding Smiffy wet food, as you can see from that post and many others on this forum, lots of members had cats addicted to dry food and with a bit of patience they managed to break from it and give their cats proper food.
Your vet will tell you to do this and that but you are in charge of your cat's health!
If you consider that the vet had just a few hours of lectures on the subject of feline nutrition mostly by pet food manufacturers and sells cat food with a huge profit (there is absolutely no need for prescription diet) what do you think they are going to recommend to you?
There are also vets who recommend a species-appropriate diets because they are forward thinking and taking a different approach so why not to listen to them? Just because your vet is a vet it does not mean they are always right! It would be wonderful and so easy if we did not have to question experts.
You also have a choice: if your vet doesn't seem to be well informed or just would not work with you taking your opinions and wishes on board you might want to "shop around" and ask other surgeries in your area if they have a diabetic clinic or a vet with a interest and experience in treating feline diabetes(FD).
You will find all the information on feeding and everything else on this forum. When you have time please read yellow stickys and other info and print that so it is handy when you need to refer to it - this is what I have done and it helps me greatly.
Testing your cat's blood for glucose is not easy at first because you are doing something medical and you are nervous but with practice it becomes as easy as brushing your teeth, I promise!
We are here to help and be with you all the way patiently guiding you through this often frustrating journey.
Lots of hugs to you and Smiffy
Marlena:cat:
 
I agree with Marlena.

Not knowing a lot about FD doesn't make a bad vet. I don't know about the UK, but in the States, a new human diabetic will always be referred to a diabetic specialist to coordinate treatment with his/her primary doctor. There just too many illnesses and diseases for one doctor to know throughly. (Jack of all trades, master of none.) And a vet needs to know all of those things AND a bunch of different species!

A vet worth his/her salt will listen to you. YOU must speak for your baby. I saw a link in here somewhere about a handy print-out you can take to the vet to help 'educate' them. I have been considering doing that for other vets and shelters in my area. Thankfully, my vet was honest and readily admitted that she has tons of experience with diabetic dogs, but she hasn't seen a diabetic cat in years. We researched together and when I decided to try a wet food, non RX diet first, she was ok with it. Thank goodness since my baby straightened right up and never needed insulin.
 
Smiffy (she) is on dry Hills m/d 70g per day! She has never eaten wet food in her life .....
Per recommendations from her then vets, up until Saoirse was Dx'd with diabetes Saoirse had only received a dry food diet (with the odd treat of human tuna or poached chicken). Transitioning her wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be.

This document on the subject written by Dr Lisa Pierson DVM of catinfo.org is very, very helpful:

Tips for Transitioning Dry Food Addicts to Canned Foods

In addition to helping with diabetic regulation, if you can manage it making the transition to wet food will also help you to protect Smiffy's kidneys and urinary tract. :)


Mogs
.
 
Looby, it was this very thread where Elizabeth offered to demo home testing (scroll up!). If you want to take her up on that, it would probably be good to get yourself a meter first so Eliz can help you set it up if necessary, and you'd be able to do some practice tests yourself there with expert help on hand. (Eliz is in Cobham and I'm about 15 miles away in Cheam.)
But if it's too far for you, you could take your meter into a pharmacy and ask for help with using it, although all meters should come with instructions. It really isn't that difficult, it's just a knack. I know how strange it all is at first but testing is an important part of treating FD because it enables you to dose accurately and gives you peace of mind.

Diana
I will scroll up - I thought that all the messages that I got on this site would be alerted to me by my e-mail as this one was so I am obviously wrong! I will scroll up and find the message .... I haven't told you but Elizabeth is aware of it ... I live with my husband but I had a serious breakdown a few years ago and got messed about with drugs and the Mental Health Services and to cut a long story short I have not really been out of the house or driven for nearly five years now ..... I am now with a private group of people to try to get me off the drugs and to get my confidence back ... there is nothing wrong with my intelligence but I am not used to dealing with things so I am a bit rusty! I have only just started therapy and a new drug regime which is not complete yet as I have another drug to take to help me get of the one that I am on! Anyway, I don't go out and I am in bed quite a lot - I am extremely anxious so I have really had to concentrate on getting all my facts straight so that I can look after my beloved Smiffy and Pasha ... they in fact keep me going and make it important to get up and look after them .. my husband used to get up to feed the cats at 5.30 each morning as soon as Smiffy started to jump on him but he is like most men not able to give her a shot so the cats now have to wait until between 9.30 and 10.30 for me to get up to give them their food and to do the shot ...... I have become nocturnal like my cats and get up to look after the cats and then go back to bed and them get up again at 2.30 and stay up until 4.30 or so in the morning so the cats now get fed the second meal of the day between 9.30 and 10.30 at night as I was told by the Vet that it was important that Smiffy's jabs be 12 hours apart or as near as possible ....... Smiffy has always been an eater so years ago she was put on Hills r/d and we were told to feed her small meals throughout the day so that her metabolism would inccrease in rate so both Smiffy and Pasha are used to food being out all the time which is why this new regime is so hard for them ...... Pasha is a lot more active and is a tiny little thing so she is getting hungry even though I give her more than the 35mg per meal that Smiffy gets of the m/d

I am going to have to raise all these issues with the Vet and I have made a note of all the main points that you and Elizabeth have made ...

I am obviously going to have to get to know this site better as I am missing posts for me .... thank you for your kindness and after I have been to see the Vet on Wednesday and find out what her BG is now and talk to him about home testing and feeding her more often ... personally I think to put her on a slimming diet at the same time as starting the insulin is a bit too much and I think once she is feeling better she will be a bit more active and lose weight even if she is eating more food .... I will let you know how I get on and maybe I will take matters a bit more into my own hands ..... I still want the support of the Vet and we are on Petplan so I don't want to mess that up or husband would be a bit miffed but I want what is best for Smiffy so if Elizabeth can help me or the two of you then that would be great ..... is there any way I can send this message to Elizabeth too? I could try to cut and paste it ...

I will catch up with you later ... are you following me as I think I am following you now? xxxx
 
I suggest keeping a daily journal of Smiffy's clinical signs in which you should include observations like the above. Caninsulin really doesn't agree with some cats (I have one of them!). Not too long after Saoirse started treatment with Caninsulin she would be OK for a little while after her dose; she'd spend about 10 hours being very withdrawn and lethargic (hid behind a floor-length curtain for most of this time), and she'd perk up and feel better for about an hour or so before her next dose was due. Like Smiffy, Saoirse was fairly OK with her insulin injections at first but, after a while, come injection time she started trying her level best to hide in the most inaccessible place she could find in order to avoid the dose. It took me a while to put two and two together and realise that Caninsulin was making her feel absolutely lousy. Other members have reported similar experiences in their cats.

Keeping the daily journal of observations will also provide evidence for your vet to support the issuing of an Rx for a different insulin under cascade rules.



Mogs
.
I am keeping a diary of the way she is each day in the diary that came with the Caninsulin with a few other notes too (:
 
I am keeping a diary of the way she is each day in the diary that came with the Caninsulin with a few other notes too :)
Oh I didn't think of that - that the Caninsulin might be making her feel bad ..... I am going to talk to the Vet about ProZinc now that it is licenced here ..... I have a feeling that the Vet Hospital is somehow linked with Caninsulin business-wise as they are with the Hill's prescription Diet .....
 
Per recommendations from her then vets, up until Saoirse was Dx'd with diabetes Saoirse had only received a dry food diet (with the odd treat of human tuna or poached chicken). Transitioning her wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be.

This document on the subject written by Dr Lisa Pierson DVM of catinfo.org is very, very helpful:

Tips for Transitioning Dry Food Addicts to Canned Foods

In addition to helping with diabetic regulation, if you can manage it making the transition to wet food will also help you to protect Smiffy's kidneys and urinary tract. :)


Mogs
.
I have questioned the Vet about that and he said that wet food made a minimal difference to the kidneys and the urinary tract even if the had kidney problems!
 
I agree with Marlena.

Not knowing a lot about FD doesn't make a bad vet. I don't know about the UK, but in the States, a new human diabetic will always be referred to a diabetic specialist to coordinate treatment with his/her primary doctor. There just too many illnesses and diseases for one doctor to know throughly. (Jack of all trades, master of none.) And a vet needs to know all of those things AND a bunch of different species!

A vet worth his/her salt will listen to you. YOU must speak for your baby. I saw a link in here somewhere about a handy print-out you can take to the vet to help 'educate' them. I have been considering doing that for other vets and shelters in my area. Thankfully, my vet was honest and readily admitted that she has tons of experience with diabetic dogs, but she hasn't seen a diabetic cat in years. We researched together and when I decided to try a wet food, non RX diet first, she was ok with it. Thank goodness since my baby straightened right up and never needed insulin.
The Vet that Smiffy is seeing is supposed to have a special interest and qualification in treating small animals ... there is a Nurse that is the 'Diabetes Expert' but she is unmoveable - very stubborn as I have already experienced!
 
Dear Looby,
have you read this post by Mogmom?
Please consider feeding Smiffy wet food, as you can see from that post and many others on this forum, lots of members had cats addicted to dry food and with a bit of patience they managed to break from it and give their cats proper food.
Your vet will tell you to do this and that but you are in charge of your cat's health!
If you consider that the vet had just a few hours of lectures on the subject of feline nutrition mostly by pet food manufacturers and sells cat food with a huge profit (there is absolutely no need for prescription diet) what do you think they are going to recommend to you?
There are also vets who recommend a species-appropriate diets because they are forward thinking and taking a different approach so why not to listen to them? Just because your vet is a vet it does not mean they are always right! It would be wonderful and so easy if we did not have to question experts.
You also have a choice: if your vet doesn't seem to be well informed or just would not work with you taking your opinions and wishes on board you might want to "shop around" and ask other surgeries in your area if they have a diabetic clinic or a vet with a interest and experience in treating feline diabetes(FD).
You will find all the information on feeding and everything else on this forum. When you have time please read yellow stickys and other info and print that so it is handy when you need to refer to it - this is what I have done and it helps me greatly.
Testing your cat's blood for glucose is not easy at first because you are doing something medical and you are nervous but with practice it becomes as easy as brushing your teeth, I promise!
We are here to help and be with you all the way patiently guiding you through this often frustrating journey.
Lots of hugs to you and Smiffy
Marlena:cat:
Dear Looby,
have you read this post by Mogmom?
Please consider feeding Smiffy wet food, as you can see from that post and many others on this forum, lots of members had cats addicted to dry food and with a bit of patience they managed to break from it and give their cats proper food.
Your vet will tell you to do this and that but you are in charge of your cat's health!
If you consider that the vet had just a few hours of lectures on the subject of feline nutrition mostly by pet food manufacturers and sells cat food with a huge profit (there is absolutely no need for prescription diet) what do you think they are going to recommend to you?
There are also vets who recommend a species-appropriate diets because they are forward thinking and taking a different approach so why not to listen to them? Just because your vet is a vet it does not mean they are always right! It would be wonderful and so easy if we did not have to question experts.
You also have a choice: if your vet doesn't seem to be well informed or just would not work with you taking your opinions and wishes on board you might want to "shop around" and ask other surgeries in your area if they have a diabetic clinic or a vet with a interest and experience in treating feline diabetes(FD).
You will find all the information on feeding and everything else on this forum. When you have time please read yellow stickys and other info and print that so it is handy when you need to refer to it - this is what I have done and it helps me greatly.
Testing your cat's blood for glucose is not easy at first because you are doing something medical and you are nervous but with practice it becomes as easy as brushing your teeth, I promise!
We are here to help and be with you all the way patiently guiding you through this often frustrating journey.
Lots of hugs to you and Smiffy
Marlena:cat:
Dear Looby,
have you read this post by Mogmom?
Please consider feeding Smiffy wet food, as you can see from that post and many others on this forum, lots of members had cats addicted to dry food and with a bit of patience they managed to break from it and give their cats proper food.
Your vet will tell you to do this and that but you are in charge of your cat's health!
If you consider that the vet had just a few hours of lectures on the subject of feline nutrition mostly by pet food manufacturers and sells cat food with a huge profit (there is absolutely no need for prescription diet) what do you think they are going to recommend to you?
There are also vets who recommend a species-appropriate diets because they are forward thinking and taking a different approach so why not to listen to them? Just because your vet is a vet it does not mean they are always right! It would be wonderful and so easy if we did not have to question experts.
You also have a choice: if your vet doesn't seem to be well informed or just would not work with you taking your opinions and wishes on board you might want to "shop around" and ask other surgeries in your area if they have a diabetic clinic or a vet with a interest and experience in treating feline diabetes(FD).
You will find all the information on feeding and everything else on this forum. When you have time please read yellow stickys and other info and print that so it is handy when you need to refer to it - this is what I have done and it helps me greatly.
Testing your cat's blood for glucose is not easy at first because you are doing something medical and you are nervous but with practice it becomes as easy as brushing your teeth, I promise!
We are here to help and be with you all the way patiently guiding you through this often frustrating journey.
Lots of hugs to you and Smiffy
Marlena:cat:
I am getting lost on this site .... I was trying to reply to one of you that was saying that it was dangerous to inject with insulin without home testing first ... when I told the Vet that the reading would be higher if we took Smiffy to the Vet because of the stress he said it would make no difference! I am getting really worried now .. I can't seem to reply to Mogmom!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top