? My cat max bg is 305 . Not hungry . Do I give insulin ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m glad Max was OK.
Katie, would you mind, when someone is helping you in a situation such as low BGs, that you keep in touch with them. I had no idea what was happening and I was concerned when you did not post or add anything to the SS.
I knew you were probably having a nap but was very concerned you had not woken up to test again. Just a quick post to say all is ok or an update … thanks:)
Yes I will , I am so sorry ! I will make sure to post next time . I was not fully awake when testing but I should have updated rite away .
I was so great full to have you help Max through that scary situation
 
Yes I will , I am so sorry ! I will make sure to post next time . I was not fully awake when testing but I should have updated rite away .
I was so great full to have you help Max through that scary situation
Completely understand…We always follow up and check on the kitties we have helped to see all is Ok. We have no way of contacting you apart from this forum and we worry if there is silence.
I am just really glad he is OK:)
 
I am so greatful he is ok too . His numbers are back to being higher so I think it was deffinetley the medication . I have discontinued it and asked the vet about the one you suggested instead .

I just picked up the gravy lovers beef at 20% carbs and some new honey for emergencies
 
Max is most likely bouncing from the low numbers he had last night. He is not used to them any more and his body is reacting to them. Bouncing is very common in newly diagnosed cats so don’t worry.
I’m glad you have got the hypo kit sorted!

Explanation about bouncing from the yellow sticky...The Basics
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
He ate well at shot time and was willing to get up and eat when the numbers dropped low . I fed him a table spoon the first time and second time a table spoon with syrup in it .

The Metoclopramide was given 13 hours ago and I am going to ask the vet for something else .

when using ProZinc at what bg reading should I not give insulin ?
I would stick to 2.5U until we see what happens after he clears the bounce. Try that any time above 200. Below that really depends on your ability to monitor; we sometimes recommend a token or reduced dose (10-50% of normal dose) or a skip..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top