My cat is at 66 Do I still give A.M Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Serra

Member Since 2019
I know I was supposed to put all of my cats stats up here to help people guide me through this but I have not… For the last seven days he has spiked up and down from 500 down to 20… But for the last two days on 1.5 units of Lantus he’s not gone higher than 170 and he’s not gone lower than 60. I give him a shot every morning at 9:30 ~this morning I tested him and he is at 65 do I still give him his 1.5 units when he’s already this low? I need an answer ASAP I’m already 20 minutes behind schedule
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not familiar with Lantus in terms of how it works - I only know it's a fairly gentle and long-lasting insulin and may not have a very fast onset in the way that certain other insulins have - but I'd be wary about giving a dose on a PS bg of 65. It sounds as if the 1.5u you've been giving has worked quite nicely for the last two days but there may be some carry over from previous doses. You certainly don't want to risk bg going lower than the 65 you've just got at PS. When you've been using Lantus for some time and have more bg data it would be easier to gauge what might be happening.

There may be some others along here soon but meanwhile I suggest you copy your post on the Lantus forum where experienced people will be able to guide you.
 
Thank you so much for your reply…How do I copy it to the Lantis forum?

You are correct Atlantis is very slow acting so with that in mind I went ahead and fed him first to see how high he would spike…After feeding him I waited 10 minutes and tested him and he’s at 70… I also tested my non-diabetic cat after feeding him a minute ago and he is at 68.
 
Thank you so much for your reply…How do I copy it to the Lantis forum?

You are correct Atlantis is very slow acting so with that in mind I went ahead and fed him first to see how high he would spike…After feeding him I waited 10 minutes and tested him and he’s at 70… I also tested my non-diabetic cat after feeding him a minute ago and he is at 68.
Well, 70 is a good, normal, non-diabetic number so unless you know exactly how your insulin works and have some back-up data, I'd say it's a no-shoot number. But see what the Lantus folk say.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top