My cat and his blood glucose

  • Thread starter Thread starter rbrumbaugh82
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Maybe only half your regular dose, and only it you get a before bed test around +4ish to make sure he isn't plunging. And be prepared to stay up if needed.
I have a feeling he's working his way off the insulin.
 
I agree with BJ. Maybe this boy is getting tired of thse shots! (anti jinx).

If one unit gives you the lower preshot, then .5 may be the next thing to try.
 
I was definitely hoping to wake up this morning to a good reading. However, I woke up to a 233 BG. I didn't give him any insulin last night since it was 166 and wasn't for sure how long it would go and wasn't going to stay up to 2am to find out. So I did give him 1 unit of insulin shortly after I took his BG. I will check around 2pm today to see where it is since it'll be +4 since his shot.
 
That still isn't bad at all. Only 70 point rise with no insulin. I definitely think the pancreas is helping out. In cats I have seen in this process, the pancreas helps for a little while and then stops (so a little insulin is needed) or it helps out on a limited basis (like the last cycle) but still needs a boost of insulin to help.

The trick is careful monitoring during this stage. If you give a shot and the pancreas kicks in too, he can go lower than you were planning. So your +4 test is good. And it isn't overnight - sometimes pancreas plus tiny doses takes several weeks. Our goal for remission (a diet controlled diabetic) is 2 weeks between 40-120 OFF insulin.
 
Okay Sue! I will check 1pm or so and see where it is at since I gave him only 1 unit. I feel like regardless when I get my boy off of insulin I will still be on here because I feel like I can call you all my family for what advice you have given me and trying to help me through this whole process of getting my boy off of his insulin. :)
 
130pm update! Took Precious glucose and it was 114! So it dropped 119 points in 4 and a half hours with just 1 unit of insulin too!
 
Yup. Classic response to Novalin NPH and why we are very cautious with it!
Is there any chance you could dose every 8 hours to get better control? You'd total both doses, then divide by 3, if you wanted to do that. It could reduce the wideness of the swings.
 
Last edited:
Yeah I could. I took his glucose again at 7pm which is +6 from the 114 BG reading and it was 190. I gave him 1 unit of insulin since it want it down between 100-130. It should stay above 50mg/dL. If it can hover around 100 then that'll be great!
 
Tested his glucose this morning at 9am and it was 166. So I gave him .5 unit of insulin and will test it around 1pm to see where it is since it will be +4 since shot.
 
He did eat so I waited about an hour after he ate so it could have been a bit lower before he ate.
 
He is looking good and you both are doing great! Just be careful you can monitor whenever you shoot a lower number.

Is there any chance you can do a curve sometime soon? It would be really nice to get an idea of when he drops and how soon he drops and how long it lasts. It's easier to keep him safe if you have an idea of what the insulin might do.

And how about starting a new thread? This one is getting really long.
 
A curve is serial test from pre-shot to pre-shot, every 2 hours.
A mini-curve tests every 3 hours.
These help document how much of the time is spent below the renal threshold where glucose spills into the urine, which roughly 240 mg/dL for a cat and may vary some with renal function.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top