Hello,
I'm new to the board. My cat, Felix was diagnosed in December of 2006. He's been pretty easy to regulate ever since on PZI. Last summer he had a few days where his BG was super low but it went back up and we ended up cutting his dose in half to 2 units twice a day (we use 1/2 cc needles). For the past couple of days his BG has been scary low. He boarded at the vet over the weekend and they said it had gone back up so they resumed his regular dose. I got him home sunday night and monday after giving him his morning insulin, it shot down to very low by 2 pm that day. We skipped his dose last night and then this morning his BG was 487 so I gave him 1 unit per the vet. All day it continued to drop. By 6 pm it was 131. I'm so confused what is going on. The vet said if he's not better by thursday we will check his thyroid. He is 15 years old and just seems very lethargic, although eating pretty well. He is walking on his haunches and not moving more than a few steps at a time. I'm at a loss on what to do and we are leaving for out of town on Saturday. Normally I would take him but i'm scared to at this point. Would LOVE some advice!!
I'm new to the board. My cat, Felix was diagnosed in December of 2006. He's been pretty easy to regulate ever since on PZI. Last summer he had a few days where his BG was super low but it went back up and we ended up cutting his dose in half to 2 units twice a day (we use 1/2 cc needles). For the past couple of days his BG has been scary low. He boarded at the vet over the weekend and they said it had gone back up so they resumed his regular dose. I got him home sunday night and monday after giving him his morning insulin, it shot down to very low by 2 pm that day. We skipped his dose last night and then this morning his BG was 487 so I gave him 1 unit per the vet. All day it continued to drop. By 6 pm it was 131. I'm so confused what is going on. The vet said if he's not better by thursday we will check his thyroid. He is 15 years old and just seems very lethargic, although eating pretty well. He is walking on his haunches and not moving more than a few steps at a time. I'm at a loss on what to do and we are leaving for out of town on Saturday. Normally I would take him but i'm scared to at this point. Would LOVE some advice!!