My 16 year old cat was recently diagnosed with diabetes, need advice please.

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you gave it about 8 hours ago (maybe 8.5 now?) then that would have been about 5pm. So the next dose would be due at 5am. I'm suggesting you give the next dose at 6am/6pm today. Then next day move it ahead to 6:30am/6:30pm and so on just so you keep doses fairly close to every 12 hours until you get to your preferred time (noon/Midnight)

Thank you for the corrected summary. It gets tough going back through the thread when they get this long! Tomorrow I think you should start a new thread and link this one to it.

Ok, then her next dose of potassium will be at 6am and then 12hrs after that, and so on. 6am/6pm works for us.

I was thinking the same thing when i was trying to go back in the thread and read some stuff lol, I'll have Heather start a new one tomorrow.
 
Finally got her to take 1/8 of the mirtazapine, and a little bit of food afterwards. Gonna try to give her more
Dan, I take it you got the mirtazapine into Mittens? Have you tried to get more food/fluids into her?

Yes i got the mirtazapine in her about a hour ago after a few failed attempts.

Just gave her the +6 -234. 6 hours after the insulin her BG is 234

Yes i just fed her again about 30 minutes ago, she is really fighting the baby food though and its all i got here for her for another hour. Heather is stopping at the store on her way home for some more fancy feast, maybe Mittens is over the baby food for the night i dont know. Im gonna feed her again as soon as Heather gets home though. She drank a few times on her own but not very much.
 
Ok, sound like things are going pretty well. Her BG is holding steady so no concern there right now and I doubt she will drop significantly at this point. Retest at +8. Keep trying to get food and fluids into her. I am about to fall asleep on my keyboard and I hate to leave you on your own but I have to be at least semi-coherent tomorrow.

IF and that's a HUGE IF, the BG test at +8 has dropped significantly (any drop of more than 100 points), change the title on your thread by adding a "911" prefix to it. You can do this by clicking the little tab up in the right upper screen that labelled "Thread Tools". Then when you get the title box, select "911" from the selection list on left. This will get you attention and by then there should be some UK/Europe folks online.

If you have to put the 911 on the post, try to get more food into her right away and restest her in 20 minutes. If there is any delay of a response, and she is dropping, rub some karo syrup or honey on her gums and keep testing and trying to get her to take some food.

I'm setting an alarm to check in but I wanted to give you this info just in case I snooze through it. Any questions?
 
Ok, sound like things are going pretty well. Her BG is holding steady so no concern there right now and I doubt she will drop significantly at this point. Retest at +8. Keep trying to get food and fluids into her. I am about to fall asleep on my keyboard and I hate to leave you on your own but I have to be at least semi-coherent tomorrow.

IF and that's a HUGE IF, the BG test at +8 has dropped significantly (any drop of more than 100 points), change the title on your thread by adding a "911" prefix to it. You can do this by clicking the little tab up in the right upper screen that labelled "Thread Tools". Then when you get the title box, select "911" from the selection list on left. This will get you attention and by then there should be some UK/Europe folks online.

If you have to put the 911 on the post, try to get more food into her right away and restest her in 20 minutes. If there is any delay of a response, and she is dropping, rub some karo syrup or honey on her gums and keep testing and trying to get her to take some food.

I'm setting an alarm to check in but I wanted to give you this info just in case I snooze through it. Any questions?

Ok thank you, i think we should be good for the night now. Im gonna feed her again when Heather gets home(shes on her way now), and ill retest at +8 and post it here, and get her some more potassium when 12 hours rolls around.

Thanks for the tips just incase. Have a good night everyone and thanks a ton! :) Im not exaggerating at all when i say we wouldnt have been able to do this without all the awesome people here.
 
Good night and I hope you'll have a chance to get some much needed sleep very soon! I can't imagine how exhausted you must be. You are indeed very dedicated pet parents. My kind of people! :bighug:

Oh I really am getting punchy.

IMPORTANT
50 is the BG reading that normally warns us to start intervening with food but it's prudent to raise that number for Mittens tonight to around 130 just because getting food into her is not an easy task and too much honey or karo could cause more nausea. You need a bigger cushion to keep her safe! Don't let anyone tell you she is safe below 130. While it's a safe reading, you need to keep her there or higher right now.

Signing off! :D.
 
Don't give her more....mirtz lasts for 3 days....give it a chance to work firs
Finally got her to take 1/8 of the mirtazapine
What is the mg of the mirtazapine? I have seen it in 7 1/2 mg and 15 mg.
The standard dose of was 3.75 mg (1/4 of 15 mg) every three days. But now the reduced dose is have that but every two days
http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/mirtazapine-cats-how-much-too-much
It usually works in one half to one hour.
 
Good Morning!

Just caught up on the overnight progress-- well done! She held pretty steady and stayed safe all night on the 0.5U, which is fantastic (I hope that let you get at least a little sleep between +4 and +8, what a time you guys have had the last few days!). The dose experts should be weighing in before the next shot, I just wanted to pop in to say hello and congratulate you guys for all the fantastic care you are taking of Mittens (even if she's not exactly appreciating the syringe feeding at the moment, poor thing). Mittens is so lucky to have two such tenacious and devoted pet parents!

This morning, when you start a new thread for the day, it'd be great if you could put a short summary of where Mittens is-- the dose and BG numbers from last night, what meds she's taken, etc. plus a link to this previous thread for people who want to peruse the details.

Go Team Mittens!!!!
 
@Dan&Heather -

I've set up a new thread for today on Feline Health. Click this link to take you straight there:

12/24: MITTENS - Novolin N - Small Ketones



NB:

- Please post all updates and questions to your new thread. Members helping you will automatically follow you over there.

- I have posted a summary of insulin, meds and food info at the beginning of the new thread so you'll have the story so far available at a glance.

Great work overnight, Dan. Glad that Heather will be back to you soon.:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top