Musette's amps 64!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Now that is the way to wake up on a Friday morning. Of course she isn't happy about it because it means mom isn't going to feed her for another half hour so I can test her again and see if we get a shootable number.

As happy as I am to see green first thing in the morning, I can almost guarantee it isn't going to last. Because I noticed last night when grocery shopping, there was a big fat full moon in the sky...So this is probably just Full Moon crazy.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well Musette seems to want less insulin :-D She definitely earned herself a dose reduction today! First test this morning was a 64, stalled 30mins and retested this time she was 52, stalled again for 30 mins, retested now she is at 50. So went ahead and fed her, before I had a furry revolt on my hands, as I can only keep the meezers waiting forbreakfast so long, before I am breakfast. Hopefully food will bring her up to a shootable number this morning, regardless I'll be taking her dose down either this morning (if she comes up enough to shoot) or tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Have you given any insulin? I guess at this point you might as well skip it and see how she does on her own.

As for future dose, I don't know that a reduction to .25U is warranted. She has not dropped below 50. Maybe try .4U again. Unless she stays below 200 for the day, then maybe consider dropping to .25U. You just don't want to loose momentum and her shed will be emptying all day long.
 
I waited until she got to 148 at what would have normally been her +4 and went ahead and gave her .25, depending on how low she stays today, I'm thinking more than likely tonight it will be .4u, since the last time she hit double digits she skyrocketed up to 417 by her pmps. So now I have fingers and toes crossed she doesn't rebound again that high.

I'm almost beginning to wonder if she isn't one of those rare S.I.D. cats, She seems to get a very long duration out of very little insulin, yet for the most part .25 b.i.d. doesn't seem to be enough.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Interesting.

I would not think about going to sid dosing until you have tried going down the dose ladder in .1u increments and getting to .1u or .05u and getting these results. But I suspect if you reduce like that you will end up skipping shots because she is headed OTJ, not because she is a rare sid kitty. And it won't be consistent sid dosing. More like: shot, skip, shot, shot, skip, shot, skip, shot, skip, skip, shot, skip, shot, shot....

Right now going from 50 to 400 in 12 hours would mean a dose reduction, but still bid dosing.
 
Well she decided to bounce just a little tonight after hitting that 50 this morning, but not nearly as bad as the last time she hit double digits...only made it to 277, which is so much better than the 400s last time....I'm almost predicting that I'll see low numbers again tomorrow morning.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hey Mel,

It might be a good idea now to get +10s and +11's on her, so you can see what direction she's going before preshot. That might allow you to shoot lower. Say she's at 60 at +10, then by +12 she's 80, that's a rising number, you could shoot that, although depending on how low she went during that cycle you might consider a reduced dose. Her 277 isn't too bad for a preshot, but part of the rise is actually from emptying the shed, not necessarily bounce.

Also I don't know if Sheila's mentioned it, but soon you'll probably need to set a need-to-shoot number in the 100s, like 150 or so. She can explain it better.

I see she stayed very stable on .4U, stick with that. I know it's higher, but it's steady and once the shed's filled again, she may trickle lower instead of dropping lower.
 
Vicky, not sure what you mean by "need to shoot number".

When Beau was going OTJ I set a "do not shoot" number that was rather high within the standards of the long acting insulins. It was 150 at one point and 130 at another - and 180 for my sitter when I was gone (although he did not shoot at all and Beau was up to 200 at one test). When many people are shooting full doses on 80s and even 60s, my do not shoot number was "too high", but Beau was dropping into the 30s on his ultra-micro dose so I didn't have a choice. There was no more room to decrease.
 
Well so far today Ms. Musette is looking good on her .4u amps was 257 and her +6 was 182, didn't get a chance to get any spot checks this morning with her as we had a funeral for a dear friend to attend, also I figured her poor little ears could use a break today after yesterday and all the pokes she got, waiting for her to come up to a shootable number.

I basically do have a no shoot number, just kind of a mental thing at the moment until she gets lower in her dosage, but like yesterday, I won't shoot anything until a see she is around 150, Mainly because she has shown me several times that she can be high, and it I shoot a full dose, she will nose drive. I also try to watch the "whole cat" kind of thing, instead of just her numbers. Like this morning, I woke up with her on my chest, purring her brains out. If she is happy and purring then I know she feels good and not dropping too fast, or sky rocketing up. If she is grumpy and being a hissy monster, she is either dropping too fast or going up too fast, neither direction quickly makes her a happy girl and she isn't shy about telling me when she isn't pleased.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Vicky, not sure what you mean by "need to shoot number".

I thought you set a BG value at which you would give a shot. Say they have not had a shot for 36 hours and they get to 155. Do you shoot that to help bring them down?

My bad if I didn't phrase it properly. I believe I am thinking and meant the opposite of what you are describing below.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
When Beau was going OTJ I set a "do not shoot" number that was rather high within the standards of the long acting insulins. It was 150 at one point and 130 at another - and 180 for my sitter when I was gone (although he did not shoot at all and Beau was up to 200 at one test). When many people are shooting full doses on 80s and even 60s, my do not shoot number was "too high", but Beau was dropping into the 30s on his ultra-micro dose so I didn't have a choice. There was no more room to decrease.
 
Oh, I get it. Yeah, I don't think I thought of it that way though, but you are right.

When he was heading OTJ, I think I shot a 150. It is sort of the "reflection" of the do not shoot number. If you don't shoot below 150, then you shoot over 150..... so, if he could hold himself under 150, no shot.

But, if he was, say 100 in the am and 160 at night, I waited for a SECOND number above 150 to shoot because he would often bring himself down from a single high number. Or if the numbers were climbing. I got enough tests in to see if he was coming down from eating or still climbing. If still climbing, I shot regardless of the +hour. For instance, he tests at 160, and I feed him and test 2-3 hours after the meal and he is 180, I would shoot.
 
It sounds like I'm already on the same page as your thinking, as that was kind of how I handled it with Maxwell. With Maxwell, 150 was my cut off either way, if below 150, I would wait, restest to see which way he was heading, if he stayed below, no shot. If he would raise above 150, then I would wait, retest, if the second number was still above or rising then I would shoot regardless of how long past his last shot. Eventually I lowered that number to 100 as he got closer to OTJ. Now granted with Maxwell it only took 2 weeks before he went OTJ, but then his diabetes was caught and treated fairly quickly. Ms. Musette wasn't so fortunate. She was DXed in March and really wasn't treated on a consistant basis until June.

That was also how I have handled Musette, as long as she is below 150 I don't shoot but start testing more frequently, once she hits close to 150 I shoot, regardless of what the +hour is, and then depending on where she is in the cycle it is either a full dose, or if she is say at where her +6 should have been then just half a dose, and then resume her schedule in the evening where it normally would be. That way I can keep her as close to her 6am/6pm shot and food schedule as possible.

So does that sound like I've got it fairly correct?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Yeah, you've got it - except when the dose is over .05u (or .1u for those with difficulty getting .05u) you still have room to reduce, so I would suggest reducing and shooting a little lower - you should have data to tell you how the cat will react or be there to get some spot checks in. Some cats, like Beau, will drop hard on tiny doses, there are probably others who won't and can handle .1u on a 100 and only go as low as 70-80.

I think the debate is in what number do you use to decide to skip a shot on the final step after there are no more reductions that can be made. That's probably a ECID thing too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top