Musette: She is back to eating on her own.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Musette vomitted up her breakfast after I gave her morning shot...now we at a +3 and she just tested at 34....and very unlike her is refusing to eat. Already gave her Karo and syringe fed a small amount of her regular food. Will tested again in 30 mins.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Just saw this.

Test sooner @ 15 minutes. And stand ready to give another cc of high carb food.

Hang in!
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Don't think I've ever know her not to eat when going low until today...won't even take food off my finger, and off course the Vet is closed until Tuesday...Don't think she is getting insulin tonight if she is going to hypo on 0.5u.

bad part is she has a very late nadir on Lev..about +9 ....crap its gonna be a long Sunday.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

She may have caught a kitty 'bug' or have an upset tummy from something.

Have you got any regular 10 mg Pepcid? Maybe 1/4 tablet to see if it helps?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Just tested at +3.5 she is at 65 but that is probably the Karo kicking in...will test again shortly...Thank God for plenty of test strips. Yep already gave her pepcid, she has had loose stools for a couple of days now since I switched her from Friskies to Fancy Feast but I just attributed it to the diet change...

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Maybe compare the ingredient lists between the two, to see what is different, if anything.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Maybe compare the ingredient lists between the two, to see what is different, if anything.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Just got a ketone test on her -Negative hooray for small favors. Also checked not dehyrated. her ears are cool so no fever, and she is fighting me on the syringe feeding so Tortietude in place..still preening.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Only difference that is jumping out at me is dried egg in the FF and of course higher quality protein source. Maybe just too rich for her tummy

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Did you switch abruptly, or gradually mix them together and phase out the friskies?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3

Did a fairly abrupt switch but she was fed FF when she was still in foster care so didn't think there would be a problem...crap should have known better. <headslap>

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Maybe see if she'll eat some to help get her to nadir at +9?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Musette, u iz gonna git SO durty down der! Uz gonna haf tu haf a baf if u sta der!!!

Hug Mel AND BJ...I usually don't post when there's an issue happening but it sure seems like you both need one 'bout now...
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Nope still not wanting to eat on her own..not even her beloved cream cheese. or tuna...so not like her...other than throwing up this morning, & not wanting to eat she is acting normal, preening, walking straight, not meat-loafing, purring.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Her glucose is at a level where she will feel OK ... its knowing that you've got another 6 hours of monitoring to go!

If you give her a kitty massage, does she pull away or react if you've near her abdomen at all? Wondering about things like pancreatitis, etc.

And just 'cause I'm paranoid and rather OCD, have you identified what emergency vet services in your area you might take her if need be?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

This almost has me wondering if some of her higher reading lately weren't so much from her bouncing off the blues and greens but because she is trying to go OTJ and her body was fighting the insulin.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & the Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Keeping my fingers crossed that Musette will feel better soon og keep those number going up.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Definitely earned a dose reduction! Got magnifiers to see the syringe?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

No flincing when palpated and the closest ER vet is 250 miles away. Nothing closer...its gonna be up to me to pull her through this.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

I'm well versed in squeezing 5 drops out of 0.5u but also have a syringe magnifier as well...Now if she was a horse or a cow I would have an ER vet 6 blocks from the house but they are strictly large animal only.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

I'm spoiled by living in a city.

The nearest vet may have the equipment and be able to get an IV in for a dextrose drip. You may need to do that if she doesn't eat enough to keep up with the insulin. Maybe make a few phone calls.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Hey Mel, I posted in Lev but after reading this thread, wanted to add.

Since she's otherwise acting normally, you should be able to ride out the low BGs. I don't see the need for an ER trip, no matter how close. You can always syringe syrup in to her. I recommend putting her back on Friskies!

As much as we all tout FF, it may have too many ingredients which are allergens for some cats, like the egg product, fish (even in non-fish varieties) etc.

Can you soup up some Friskies and try to get that in her, Tortitude and all?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Oh she is so going back on Friskies as she also didn't seem to be terribly found of the FF anyhow and I just don't need any more grey hairs I have plenty as it is... :lol:

4.5= 67 so she is holding steady...just got another 2 tsps of regular Friskies Pate pureed with water into her via syringe.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

Surf's up, 'zette, keep riding.

Based on how much she normally eats, I suspect you'll want to continue with small amounts that will add up to that or a smidge higher over the next five hours.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65

MommaOfMuse said:
Oh she is so going back on Friskies as she also didn't seem to be terribly found of the FF anyhow and I just don't need any more grey hairs I have plenty as it is... :lol:

4.5= 67 so she is holding steady...just got another 2 tsps of regular Friskies Pate pureed with water into her via syringe.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang

She'll be fine. Test every half hour until she goes above 80, then every hour. Consider .25U tonight, if she's eating finally.

Is she looking at you wondering what all the fuss is about??
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67

itts more she is looking at me like she would love to scratch my eyes out if she had front claws.. :lol: And wants to kill me when she sees either the test kit or the syringe full of food. So still very much my tortietudie little princess.

She did just have a very gassy liquid poo, so her tummy is definitely not happy.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67

Got FortiFlora or plain yogurt with active cultures?

A bit later, a pinch of either may be helpful to get tummy back in order.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67

Ironically i just picked up plain yogurt this morning as I use it for a sour cream substitute on baked potatoes...so as soon as I know she is up above 80 and going to stay there I will try to get her to eat some.

This one of those days when I've very glad I have my kitty hypo kit together and quick to grab...the oral syringe just may have been the ticket today, if not for that not real sure how I could have gotten anything in her tummy since she may be small but she is mighty when she doesn't want to do something. that 9lbs of her becomes all muscle and will power.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67

Sounds like a plan. I'll keep stopping by, in between studying for my pathophysiology quizzes.
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67

up to 77 at +5 and definitely pissed off at me now, so things are returning to normal

Squeaky and KT said:
Musette, u iz gonna git SO durty down der! Uz gonna haf tu haf a baf if u sta der!!!

Oh she is so going to need a bath, between syringe feeding her Friskies Pate and the karo she had in the beginning she is one dirty sticky Himmie about now. I have a feeling I'm soon going to be on her sh*t list for the rest of the day. :roll:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77

Warm wet waschcloth to "mom cat" her? Or more annoyance?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77

Warm washcloth doesn't do a whole lot of good on her cotton fuzz except spread the mess, she is like trying to wipe down a cotton ball, but Lady Jane Grey and Maxwell are doing their best to help clean her up at the moment. They think she is very tasty..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77

And I'm sure she is taking that in the spirit it is truly intended!!! :roll:
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77

Looks like Musette is trying to get you in the groove for when Lulu arrives. :lol: Wouldn't it be great to have them go OTJ together?

Bagheera had me worried like this too when he dropped low after refusing to eat when we were trying him on a clindamycin trial. I'm a veteran of many low #'s and I don't panic easily but there's nothing like the feeling in the pit of your stomach when you see a 21 on the meter and they refuse to eat and barf up what you can get in them. I was syringing Karo at that point just to keep him in the 30s and 40s.

You're dong great, Mel, hang in there!
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77,+5.5~86

I think we are out of the woods, still not wanting to eat on her own, but then again she has gotten about a third of a 5.5 oz can of Friskies syringed into her so very possible she is just plain full. She did finally growl and hiss at me for bugging her to test her yet again so some of her spirit is coming back. I'm gonna test her again at +6 and if still up I think mom is gonna catch about an hour nap..its been a stressful morning.

on the upside she is very clean now thanks to her furry buddies and her own preening.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77,+5.5~86

So is that about 1/3 of the way through what she'd normally eat at roughly halfway through the cycle?
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77,+5.5~86

No kidding Laura, I'm also a veteran of the low numbers game with Musette she likes to hand me 20s and 30s but normally she wants to eat a horse...it wasn't the 34 that had me freaked it was that she wouldn't even touch her beloved Cream Cheese...this girl would crawl across broken glass for Cream Cheese. Then to barf 5 minutes after giving her insulin and my stomach formed a celtic knot.

She is about up to what she would normally have eaten by the halfway point through her cycle. maybe slightly less as she tends to be a grazer.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette 34 @ +3, +3.5~65, +4~65, +4.5~67, +5~77,+5.5~86

As long as she keeps pace with what she normally eats, I think she'll be OK.

Have a good nap!

Infobit: sleep cycles generally occur in 45 minute increments, so it is easiest to wake up at the end of one, ie nap for 45 or 90 minutes at a stretch.
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

i really think the inappetance is because her tummy is upset, she just had another peel the paint off the wall gassy liquid poo...I'm betting there is something in the FF she just isn't handling well.

I did finally get her to eat a little plain yogurt off a spoon so maybe that will settle her stomach enough for her to feel like eating on her own later..if not have syringe and blender....and thankfully she fit under my arm like a football well and is front declawed..lol Because right now if looks could kill someone would be digging my grave, she is shooting daggers at me.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

Musette is so lucky to have a patient momma like you.

Hang in there. You'll get out of it soon.
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

I get that from my civvies whenever I have to dose them with something. Currently, its Buster ... who has all his claws and has shown me upon occasion just how well he can use them >wince< .
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

Sshh..sh..sh..sh... Mel is taking a nap!

Want to share two points:
1) My sweet Pudge adores FF but has recently gotten diarrhea on FF chicken and beef pate as well as vomited it. My fault since we ran out of Before Grain (grrrrrowl - due to a 'far away' warehouse delay & PetCo not having the flavors I wanted) so for several days, and switching abruptly, I fed only FF to my crew of 3, knowing better but... One point that I want to make is that while on FF my 3 kitties were eating me out of house and home by consuming enormous quantities. Got very expensive for me! True love or addiction? Anyway, about 2 months previously I had switched them to Before Grain because of its better protein quality, but eventually discovered that because of the larger size of cans, as well as, smaller amount eaten, I was saving lots of money now. Has anyone else experienced this? My three kitties eat a lot less of Merrick Before Grain than they had eaten of FF.

2) Mel, I remember your kindness in mentioning Hock's as an inexpensive place to get Bayer Contour strips. Found another place with inexpensive Bayer Contour strips:
Diabetic Corner
13151 March Way
Corona, CA 92879
USA
tel 951-847-7022
www.diabeticcorner.com

What impressed me was that I called them on a Friday (April 13) @11:00 am Pacific time and had my strips the next day, Saturday (April 14), by 10:00 am! Courtesy of the under-appreciated US Postal Service! Of course, I live near Los Angeles and one of their warehouses is located just 50 miles away. They have warehouses all over the US and carry over 10,000 medical supplies. Great service in case of an emergency and only in my case $7.99 for expedited shipping. They had Contour strips from $20.99 for 50 strips to slightly higher. Mine expire November 2013.
Best wishes to you, Musette and all the furries, Sophie
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

Latest update on Musette pmps 395 so she is bouncing hard off that low...still not eating on her own as far as her regular food goes but I did get her to eat a little tuna, then went ahead and syringe fed her a little more of her own catfood...so back on Friskies she goes.

Interestng that you said your kitties got diarrhea and vomited on the chicken and beef Fancy feast...that is what started all this, this morning. That is exactly the flavor that I fed Musette this morning that she vomited up 5 mintues after her shot. Makes me wonder if its the beef, I have one civie that can't tolerate beef.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette: +3~36,+3.5~65,+4~65,+4.5~67,+5~77,+5.5~86,+6~13

I hope she starts eating for you!
 
After a huge bounce last night her amps was 165 reduced her dose down to .4u but she is eating on her own again...huge sigh of relief.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top