Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Very Active Member
Okay guys really need some help here. After now being able to hold her below the renal threshold on .5u of Lantus for the last 14 days, I bumped her up to .75 and she dropped into the 40s yesterday, but shot back up at pmps. Went ahead an held at the .75 last night this morning her first test was 38, I stalled on feeding her for 30 minutes retested now she is down to 33. So I know...No shot, and since she is falling I went ahead and fed her.

No signs of hypo whatsoever, she is happy, pouncing on my toes, bright eyed and alert, walking fine, and purring her brains out...just wanted her breakfast.

But what the heck to I do with her now?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Stall and test again in about 20 min. With my crew - food will make them shoot up from a number like that, so depending on how much she rises, you can eventually shoot a reduced dose (cause she earned it! lol)
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Just looking at her spreadsheet - can you try to approximate a fat 0.5u dose? Once you get below a 1u dose, any change by 0.25u is a large change actually. That's where I start going down by fat, solid, and skinny doses (basically equating to about 0.1u increments).

I know that 30 number is scary, but if she isn't showing any classic symptoms of a hypo, then she is probably just fine. It can be normal for an OTJ kitty to give those numbers all on their own (not like you want to aim for that number with insulin though!)
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

I swear this girl is going to either be the death of me, or make me grayer than two ex-husbands, 2 kids and 7 grandkids has. Now I'm beginning to wonder if I should have gone down from that .5 to .25 since she was going high on .5, could that have been her rebounding on the .5?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Yeah if this was Maxwell I'd be fine with him handing me these numbers. :lol:

But with Musette I find myself feeling like a newbie all over again, she certainly makes me want to learn to dance. I'm almost wondering if she isn't trying to go OTJ already. And we should be going down instead of up?

In fact she is acting great right now, better than I have seen her since she got here...this is the happiest and purrest that shes been.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

I don't see rebound on the 0.5u dose - I see bounces from her body not used to those numbers. You can take a look at Oscar's current number trends and see that even though he has seen a lot of green lately, he still bounces on occasion - like his body can only tolerate greens for 24 hours or something lol.

What I see is an oscillating pattern. As long as when the lows come, they are safe lows, that means to me that you have found the optimal dose and it is just a matter of riding out the body's reaction until things fall into line. Some cats take a lot longer than others with this.
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Well 1 hr after eating I just retested...we are at a whopping 38 so I guess my girl has decided she doesn't want a shot this morning. Because unless she decides to skyrocket in the next 1/2 hour there is no way I'm going to be remotely awake to get her pm shot in tonight, let alone rewind her before the work week starts on Monday. Mornings around here start at 6am, plus I will be eaten alive by the rest of the Fur Gang if I make them wait for breakfast much passed their normal 7am mealtime. :lol: They are already screaming at me by the time I get Musette tested and shot at 7am as it is.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Mel,

I can't tell if you did this or not but I'd give her a tsp of HC or karo to boost her up and then test in 15 min. It's good she's moving up but we don't want her staying at that level for too long.
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Bonnie,

No I haven't given her any HC food or Karo yet and I am keeping an eye on her. She did this yesterday as well and LC food brought her up just fine. If she starts going into hypo I will know and react, but right now I want to let her ride it out on just her regular diet, so I'm not looking at carb induced numbers tonight. I'm home with her all day so she will have my eyes on her all day. I think what Musette needs right now is a little stability to let her body adjust to having love and care, a proper diet and insulin when needed. The more I can keep from bouncing her around the better at least IMHO.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Sounds like you know what you're doing Momma!

Just wanted to note that the sticky in the Lantus group says that some cats don't show symptoms and recommends the following:

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup.

You have much more experience and know Musette better than I do so I trust your judgment.

Please give Musette extra chin scratches for me! And if all fails, maybe drooler can share a doggy treat? Hahaha, just kidding on that last one.
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Thanks hon, I know you are just watching out for us. :-D I just retested her at what would normally be her +2 and she is now at 49 so she is fine and rising. Although a little tick at me for waking her up out of a nice nap in her favorite pool of sun to call her to her testing spot... :lol: She has plenty of foo in front of her should she decide she wants to eat more, she can.

Actually I'm kind of liking this nice slow and steady rise especially without insulin on broad, I was far more freaked out yesterday when she already had .75u on board with an amps of 185 and then nose dived to 59 at +2 hrs and 49 at +3. But if there is one thing this board has taught me over the last year is to watch the whole cat and not just the numbers. Also no insulin in the cat = no hypo.

She is in good hand not only mine, but everyone here. Thank you so very much for watching out for us. I really do appreciate it.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

Always happy to help! You know I adore Musette. As much as I'd like to adopt another cat, I can't afford it right now. So when you adopted her, I'm just living vicariously through you! And how can you not with those big eyes and big personality? And now big swings too! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Musette amps 38, stalled 30 mins retest 33! Feeding Now

LOL well when you are ready to adopt another one, I'll help with the transport :-D Cuz I know you will want another sugarcat, right? ohmygod_smile How could you not want another sugarcat? They are just so much fun to dance with. hehehe. You know most of the Fur Gang are BIG kitties, I never realized until Musette that you could pack so much personality into a mere 6lb cat...but then again she is a tortie. :roll: I still want to meet her former housemate that use to bully her, because I didn't know you could legally keep a lion in Virginia...lol. And that is the only cat on the planet that you can convince me that can bully this girl, she reminds of a Chihuahua in cat form....lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well after a rather disturbing start to the morning...Ms. Musette appears to not want a morning shot.

The tale of the tape so far:

AmPS 38 stalled 30 mins
retest: 33 fed before eaten alive...she wanted her breakfast NOW!
+1 38 after eating
+2=49
+4=91 she is eating lunch now

So we will see how the rest of the morning goes.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Payne wants to invite Musette to join the Difficult Diabetic Kitties Club! :mrgreen:

I think she is tired of the shots and wants to visit the falls ..... good for her!! and you too Mel! what a great bean you are. Let her sleep in the sun, she deserves it!
 
I would like to offer up a new name for this club....the DKC difficult kitty commitee.
 
LOL Well as long as we don't name it the DKA (Difficult Kitties Association) or Payne and Musette will be running for the hills.. :lol:

This is the first day since she arrived that I'm actually looking forward to seeing what she does 2hrs after eating lunch...and not wanting to shut my eyes while the meter is counting down...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Oh sure get my hopes up...+6 or what should have been her +6 after a beautiful 91 at +4 she decides maybe she would like a little insulin by jetting up to 323...so just to try to keep us in some kind of normal schedule only gave her .25u

Time for those steel-toed sugar-dance shoes.

Me, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I'm with Hope! full moon!! Sue had an interesting name for the Difficult Kitty club but in all my activity today I am a blank! We could be a sub-sub-group with the other difficult to manage kitties.

I think Musette is going to do what Musette is going to do ..... at her own pace, doing the dance at her own speed! But Mel, I would keep those steel toed shoes on!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm on my second pair with Payne!
 
I'm laughing after I saw what she gave you at +6. Remember what you said earlier today?
Actually I'm kind of liking this nice slow and steady rise

This girl is all or nothin'! It doesn't matter if you have your steel toed shoes on, Musette will dance to the beat of her own drum! :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOVE HER!
 
tap, tap, tap -- tapping our paws over here - just waiting for news of a party! and of course, a new recruit for Miss Maui....might that be what Miss Musette is trying to do........
 
LOL Tell Maui not to order Ms. Musette's uniform...ummm. outfit just yet, as it seems this little girl can't quite decide if she wants to be broken or insulin dependent. At least last night she only went to yellow and was back down into the blues by +4. Here in just a little bit I'm getting ready for her morning test to see what random number she would like to give me.

Oh and Maui dearest, please remember while a pastel version, Ms. Musette is still every inch a tortie, when she does show up at the falls you may have your paws full with her...lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Don't worry Mel, Maui has lots of experience managing kitties of all types.

Ah Musette darling, are you trying to decide if you like up or down or down or up? when you figure it out, please let the rest of know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top