Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2nite.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well split-dosing may have been the magic bullet for her, because right now she just earned her first dose reduction ...Luckily I will be with her all day to keep on top of her numbers...after a morning preshots of 243 & 188 I certainly wasn't expecting a 38 at +4.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Oh no! Not relaxed at all...especially not today...+4.5 -31 just fed her a little more with a karo chaser. Glad the weather is shitty out and I wasn't planning on going anywhere today...as Princess Fluffy Pants seems to want a little extra attention today...<sigh>

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Musette, you are going in the wrong direction!

Just a thought, Mel, but she may bounce a lot tonight. If she does that, you might want to wait until tomorrow am to reduce the dose. I think that the bounce needs the extra insulin otherwise the shed empties too fast dealing with those high numbers. Your call, of course.
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Good idea Sheila! Probably will depend on how high she decides to bounce tonight, but I'm expecting her to do her best impression of a rubber ball, especially with the extra food and now the Karo.

On the upside, Jon is out of town this week so I can set the alarm to wake me up to test overnight without disturbing his beauty sleep...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Charlotte,

Instead of giving her 1unit every 12 hours she gets two .5u shots two hours apart in the morning and the evening. She was being a very bouncy kitty before if I tried giving her the full 1 unit bid she would drop into the basement and then shoot through the ceiling. But if I would reduce her dose she would stay too high all day, so by spliting her dose and spacing it out it let her smooth out and have a lot less dives and flying highs. At least until today when she decided that she had to keep me on my toes.

So for an example:

She gets .5u at 6:30 am
then .5u at 8:30 am
then at night she gets .5u at 6:30 pm
and another .5u at 8:30 pm

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

No problem. While I don't know for sure I suspect that since she is such a tiny little thing..Maybe 7.5-8 lbs she is just so little that her body while it needed a full unit of insulin, she just couldn't handle it all at once.

That and the fact that her previous owners didn't treat her diabetes correctly when she was first dxed. She was diagnoised way back in March of last year, but didn't start receiving a proper diet or insulin on a regular basis until she fell into DCIN's hands in June when her owners' surrendered her to be put to sleep, then I didn't get her until late June...so she is taking awhile to get use to having insulin in her body to work with.

Hopefully now that I have her on the split dosing I can take enough pressure off her pancreas that it will have a chance to heal and she can join Maxwell as a diet controlled diabetic. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

I was wondering when this was going to happen for her. Split dosing has a build up effect. I don't believe you can do split dosing indefinitely, but if it gets her off the juice, then I guess that's true as well!
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

That is why I figured when it came time to reduce her dose to start by shaving it off that second split dose, so that I slowly reduce the second half until I have her back on a B.I.D schedule, now granted I may have to gently up that first half dose slightly as I take down the second half. But hopefully this just smoothes her out enough to handle the b.i.d schedule.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

MommaOfMuse said:
That is why I figured when it came time to reduce her dose to start by shaving it off that second split dose, so that I slowly reduce the second half until I have her back on a B.I.D schedule, now granted I may have to gently up that first half dose slightly as I take down the second half. But hopefully this just smoothes her out enough to handle the b.i.d schedule.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Hmm, that might just work. Everyone is watching... :-D
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Way to go Musette!! Keep up the good work, Mel!

:RAHCAT :thumbup
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

No Sheila no job conflicts at all here...I am a full time fur mom and college student, but since I take all my courses online there is absolutely nowhere I have to be at any set time.

The only reason I was trying out the split-dosing was because it was suggested by Venita. I'm not sure I truly understand how tid works, all I really can say for certain is bid doesn't work for Musette, so far the split-doing has helped her a lot, her curves have gotten a lot smoother and she has spent a lot more time down in the normal numbers. But I'm always open to suggestions as I would like to not only avoid those high bouncy numbers but those deep drops like she took yesterday. She is determined to be a tough nut to crack.

So someone want to explain exactly what t.i.d. is? I'm assuming it is giving 3 shots a day as opposed to 2, but how far apart do you space them? I'm pretty much stuck with using Lantus for now since there is no way to get a different insulin out here at this time of year it would freeze instantly out here right now, even the dog doesn't want to spend anymore time outside than he has to and he is part wolf and chow chow.. :lol: But if I can't get it to work for her by spring here I may see about switching her to Lev., may do that anyhow if it looks like she has no chance of remission and it going to remain insulin dependent.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

TID is every 8 hours, yes. You would pick a daily total dose and divide by 3. It may make dosing more difficult, because wouldn't that be .33U for her?

I can tell you that TID worked very well for Gandalf toward the end when he was receiving prednisolone and Lev could no longer maintain any kind of duration for him. As long as the dose is right, TID works very well with Lev. Member Terri & Lucy used it with Lev. She doesn't seem to post on the board much now, since Lucy passed earlier this year, but you might see if she's been on PZI ISG lately or PM her.

I bet TID works pretty well with Lantus too, it's just that I don't know of anyone who's tried it.
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Vicky, I thought that Terri was doing split dosing like Mel is trying? At least with lev. Maybe she did tid with PZI?

There must be someone trying tid with lantus. But on 1u, split in thirds - and since she dropped so low yesterday you could make that .3u each shot - and being home to monitor, I can't see it being harmful to try, if you wanted to. It does mean that you are shooting right before bedtime and again right after you get up (Assuming about 8 hrs of sleep), and somewhere mid-afternoon.

I always thought that tid would have worked really well for Beau, but I couldn't do it with my work schedule and then he went OTJ so fast I didn't have to worry about it.
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Mel,

You and Musette are doing great!! Yes, TID is an option. When Bastian was here, I did split dosing most of the time. (There was one day when I shot him a half dose about every six hours because of personal commitments.) I didn't see him go OTJ, be Stefani did, using the split dosing I set up for him.

You may want to ask Stefani (and Toonces) to tell you how she got Bastian OTJ. You will have to PM her, because she, like me, does not browse the Board. I have no idea how Stefani went from split shots to OTJ, but it did happen for Bastian.

Bastian is now a diet controlled diabetic that needs a home. His blog page, with pictures and a video, is here. (Sorry if you feel that I highjacked your thread. But it isn't really a high-jack. Bastian went OTJ, a situation that started with a split shot dosing to control his bounces.)
 
Re: Musette +4 = 38! Guess who is gettin a dose reduction 2n

Well technically Musette is getting 2u in total in a 24 hour period right now, so that would be .6u per shot if I went to t.i.d, if I have my math right. Although as low as she dropped the other day I could probably get away with dropping that dose slightly. So if I went with a straight .5 t.i.d that would shave a little off each shot.

T.I.D might actually work better for my schedule around here, with Jon's new band getting ready to start gigging again after the first of the year. That way I could go o the shows, run home, test and shoot and still make it back to the shows by second set.

What is 8 hours of sleep? I haven't seen a full 8 hours of sleep since I had my first child at 18... :lol: :lol: :lol: Remember I have 3 siamese alarm clocks... ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top