Hi Cindi - so happy to see you on the board - we have all been thinking about you and Merlin and sharing in your grief - well, better life through chemicals (didn't we say that in the 60s)? - what is working is cerenia and cyproheptadine (anti nausea and appetite stimulant) He ate Evo today and a very little tiki cat - not exactly ravenous this evening but he ate some I did buy everything for the liver shake (yuck) and the sardines and chicken as wellKeeping my fingers crossed on the sardines, liver shake and canned chicken. Seems like one of those excellent suggestions would work.
Hi Rachel - no worries - I was just freaking out because when he doesn't eat, or eats very little, I don't know how to dose him - he's a grazer - even with a good appetite, his MO is to eat about 20 pieces of kibble, go drink water, sometimes go down the basement to use the litter box, then lay down, then come back and eat some more - I usually try to shoot him after the first 20 pieces of kibble -otherwise I could be waiting for an hour and too long a time between testing and shooting. So I cross my fingers that he'll eat more - I hope this isn't too dangerousCarol! I'm so sorry, I just now saw that you had tagged me yesterday. For some reason, I didn't get notification of it...I wasn't ignoring you I promise!
I'm glad to hear that Murphy is eating some. If some meds are what it takes, that is what it takes.
Cindi, glad to see you! Just wanted to let you know we are all thinking about you.
wow - the chicken is only 12% - I am going to pick up a bag - for another possibility when he won't eat anything elseCarol, These aren't limited ingredient, but here are the carb % of the Natures Variety kibble the co. sent me. I give my civies the chicken. Colin hasn't had any so I don't know how it affects BG's
View attachment 18069
Wow Bobbie - a green amps - I don't think I would have the courage to do the shot - Murphy is better today and eating Evo - I have the big guns now if I need them for later - your success with Lantus and the R protocol is remarkableHi Carol, keeping good thoughts that Murphy's appy will pick back up. Sounds like you have an arsenal of flavors for him. Fingers and Paws crossed.![]()
The reason I can shoot the green amps is because it is actually his nadir. It was discovered that he nadirs at +1 and +12, so that is his lowest point and then he starts coming back up again. Remember when I was convinced that he was getting too much insulin and started taking him back down again? Well, the late nadir thing confused the heck at of me.Wow Bobbie - a green amps - I don't think I would have the courage to do the shot - Murphy is better today and eating Evo - I have the big guns now if I need them for later - your success with Lantus and the R protocol is remarkable
wow - the chicken is only 12% - I am going to pick up a bag - for another possibility when he won't eat anything else
Thanks so much Rachel. He sure has been a puzzle. The R got him over the ketones and allowed to get more insulin in him and to break through the glass floor he was stuck on. He hasn't had the R since Christmas Day. I am so very grateful for all the help I have received.Bobbie, I am so so happy to hear how well Bubba is doing. He was such a puzzle for us, and I'm so glad that Lantus and R is working for him!
The reason I can shoot the green amps is because it is actually his nadir. It was discovered that he nadirs at +1 and +12, so that is his lowest point and then he starts coming back up again.
don't worry about hijack - that's what these threads are for @Bobbie And Bubba - how did you get your 2016 spreadsheet to pop up before 2015?Hi Bobbie, I don't want to hijack Carol's post, but what you just wrote about Bubba makes me think about the (uncharacteristically) low PMPS I got last night... @Rachel - what do you think? You can answer on Wynk's thread, I really don't want to take over Murphy's postings! I am SO Happy Murphy is eating better, Carol!!
I had help, Squeaky and KT did it for me. After this morning debacle, I was terrified of touching it again! LOLdon't worry about hijack - that's what these threads are for @Bobbie And Bubba - how did you get your 2016 spreadsheet to pop up before 2015?
which one has the 12% carbs? Bobbie Well, I tried to get some help but to no avail - I set up my spreadsheet myself at at the beginning and who knows what will happen tomorrowThere are 2 kinds of the chicken NV, plain and the one with Raw Boost(that's the one I get) Petsmart had a sample bag of the RB type @$5
Cindi, it was so nice to hear from you! I think of you often and I am glad that you are okay and staying busy. Thanks for cheering me and Bubba on. He is responding to Lantus nicely and it's like Sue always said, "the best insulin is one that works for your cat" He was helped also with the addition of Novolin R and Jill and Libby are quite the "ketone busters" ! Happy New Year to you and all my ProZinc family.First of all, thank you all for your kind thoughts. I am doing ok. Missing Merlin but trying to spend more time with the other kitties. I have been out busy rescuing Red Tail Hawk and Great Horned Owls which is taking some time away from the household. So all is better ... thanks.
Secondly, @Carol & Murphy; I don't know if this will help but I stumbled on this moist/dry food at Pet Club (you probably don't have this store near you - only in the West it appears) but am sure you can find online. Anyway, it is a moist dry food and this is what I ended up giving my dad's kitty. Here is the email with the carb & phosphorous content. It is not as low as YA but in an emergency. I bet that the company will send you a sample pack if you are interested.
Hi Cindi,
Thank you for interest in our product it is greatly appreciated. All three flavors contain the same amount of protein, carbs, and phosphorous. Our food is fairly high in protein (roughly around 40%) and is low in carbohydrates (less than 12%). Our food also is starch free which contributes to the concept of no added sugar.
The percentage of phosphorous is 0.7%, the dry matter is 72.56% and the calorie content is 3750 Kcal per bag and 475 Kcal per cup.
I hope this answered your question Cindi and have an awesome weekend!
Sincerely,
Waggers Customer Service
--
Helping people nurture & share happy moments with their pets
Molly Bailey
Customer Service/ Administration
Waggers Pet Products
W: waggers.com
E: molly@waggers.com
T: 1-888-962-4763
Thirdly - Wow @Bobbie And Bubba . I like all the blues in the last few days. Sure looks good. You are now such an expert on what ever you did to get him to this point. Amazing! I am so happy for you two.
Happy New Year Everyone!
..... I was wondering about Murphy too. Lots of new things to try, food-wise... Is anything working out?@Carol & Murphy, how is Murphy doing?
thanks Cara but they are having to call in a radiologists to come to the cat hospital to do the procedure, plus I have to drive 100 miles to have the ultrasound done, and I need to take my Mom to the doctor toward the end of this week. I think (I hope) we'll be okay until next Tuesday - I just gave him the cerenia and appetite stimulant - it usually takes an hour or so to work (in fact, it looks like he's walking to his multiple bowls of food now - keep your fingers crossed)Oh Carol - I hate to hear this! I was hoping that out of the many things that you had he would be interested in something. Although I have never made the liver shake, the things that I read about it sounded extremely good… apparently kitties will eat it when they won't eat anything else. So I'm hoping that you'll be able to entice him with that.
Can you call first thing Monday morning and see if they will move you sooner for the ultrasound? If you tell them you're very worried maybe they can squeeze you in.
I'm sorry that I don't have any guidance on the insulin, but I'm sure that others on the board will. I'm sure thinking about you both!![]()
Oh, thanks Lynn I am fairly certain he has IBD/chronic pancreatitis.Ah, Carol, so sorry that you are still having trouble with Murphy's eating. I can feel your frustration and disappointment. You are doing such a good job, I sure wish you would be rewarded with some positive progress soon. I know we all wish we could give you a big hug. No matter what, I know your Murphy has to know how much you love him! Hang in there, sweetie.![]()
He is eating now but being so picky - he would definitely eat wet food, but I'm having to be so careful of reintroducing it very slowly - given his history - and now he will hardly eat any dry food - looks like the only dry food he will eat is --drumroll.....Royal Canin glycobalance and Hllls DM-- so after all these months, I'm now back to the very beginning of his diagnosis and what the vet prescribed. God knows what he will eat tomorrow I'm taking this day by day
I gave him 3 units of insulin - I was going to give him 3.5 but cut back - but as I said originally, with these higher carb foods, it's like a game of darts. I never know what dose of insulin to give him now This is definitely not going forward - and just one month ago, I was so optimistic![]()
Thanks Sharon!
Maybe he has his own stash of something and that is why he is not eating for you! Glad at least he isn't losing weight. About the insulin when he grazes, my thought is that the insulin onset is not immediate anyway so maybe you'll be okay. There was a great sticky floating around (I think it was from Carl) about shooting when the cats aren't eating and that DKA is a much bigger threat to the kitties that hypo. If I can find it I will post it for you in case you haven't seen it. Carol, I know how exhausted you must be to have so many things to worry about.Fingers and paws.Shockingly, I weighted him yesterday and he gained weight (from 11.4 lbs to 11.7 in a few weeks)!!
Thanks so much, Sharon! The worst part is that he hasn't been playing or running or really doing anything for a few weeks now He just sleeps and gets ear pokesSo glad he's eating today-hope that continues! Also hope the Zofran helps. It's good he's keeping his weight up despite his inappetance. I guess that where it's good that YA and Evo are such high calorie so it doesn't take as much. That's a tuff one deciding on insulin dosage when you don't know if he's going to eat. Sure hope you get answers soon.
Since I have not let Bubba outside, two weeks tomorrow, that's all he does too, eat, sleep and gets poked........it is sad.....Thanks so much, Sharon! The worst part is that he hasn't been playing or running or really doing anything for a few weeks now He just sleeps and gets ear pokesHow is Colin doing?
Hopefully the highs will be a thing of the past soon!Colin's high as usual. We're getting used to it(bad I know). He doesn't seem to feel bad, eating good, grooming...he doesn't play either, but he's always been a sedentary cat, so that's not new. Thanks for asking.
That is adorable. He is the chicken keeper!Colin goes outside. He mostly sits on the front porch, but sometimes walks out to watch the chickens
View attachment 18113
That is adorable. He is the chicken keeper!
thanks everyone - he is better today -----Shockingly, I weighted him yesterday and he gained weight (from 11.4 lbs to 11.7 in a few weeks)!!