Murphy - Interesting Changes AMPS 97 PMPS +3 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

missmurphy2010

Member Since 2011
Hi all. I'm not sure that anyone is even receiving or reading my posts. I ended up having to rejoin.

Update on Murphy, she has been throwing up -- apparently empty stomach issue. Took her to the vet yesterday, and vet did an ultrasound on her entire abdomen. Liver, pancreas, gall bladder, stomach, kidneys all look good. We think she is just developing gastric acids on empty tummy. Her numbers have been a little wonky lately. We are switching diets, to Merrick Thanksgiving Dinner, because her fructosamine was 241 yesterday!! I am hopeful that this is good news, but not sure what exactly that means. I cannot figure out the vomiting -- in the middle of the night last night. And, when I came home from work -- actually, I left early on Friday -- just had a gut feeling something wasn't right -- she was hypo -- BG was 67, and for her, I think that might be super low. She looked super drunk, large pupils and could hardly get out of her little bed.

I imagine my vet will lower her dosage of Lantus, although I do not know the protocol for the diet change and insulin changes. So far, numbers are good. Around 115 or so.

Does anyone know what could be making her vomit on empty stomach?.
 
Excess stomach acid for sure could make her vomit with an empty tummy.

Is it clear and slimey and/or frothy?

You should buy Pepcid AC - not extra strength just Pepcid AC. Give her 1/4 tab 1 hour before feeding. Make sure you chase pills with water or food so they don't get stuck in their throats and cause issues.
 
We sort of figured that it was acids, but would this be common with pancreatitis and diabetes? I think the low glycemic diet will be a change for her, and we've lowered the Lantus to one unit twice per day to see what gives. She was looking for stomach ulcers, which we thought would be uncommon, but her belly was a little full and girgly when we took her in yesterday. Her pancreas looked excellent her vet said, which is a good thing. The fructosamine I'm assuming is in line with normality. I think the range is up to 450, so she's at 241. She was definitely not going to eat the Evo cat and kitten food any longer. She would have starved herself for sure. So, I cannot tell right now if she's into the Merrick food. She is as finicky as I've ever seen her. But, when I came home on Friday -- she looked like she'd been out at a bar drinking all night. I'm glad I have a good gut intuition. Something just did not feel right. This a.m., 3:15 -- I heard her vomiting and it is usually clear foamy liquid. She gets those clear little teary eyes.

I'm taking a few days off from work. This has been really stressful on top of dealing with a heavy trial desk at work, I am about to lose my mind. Last week, I was so weepy for Murphy.

Off the Lantus topic, because it appears that I am getting no responses on the FDMB board, do other diabetic cats have constipation issues on a higher protein diet? If so, are they also pancreatic, and what are you giving for poos?
 
My kittie also vomits when she is really hungry, so I just try to feed her at least every 6-7 hours and during the day usually every 4-5 hours, but they are just like small meals throughout the day, about a 1/4th of a 5.5 oz can 5 times a day is what it amounts to. Seems to be working so far...
 
Maverick does this and we don't know why. When he does vomit clear fluid we put him on a week of Pepcid AC and thats it, and he's fine for another few weeks or more. A lot of CRF cats will have issues with stomach acid. Maverick's blood work was all normal. Probably just something from having an empty tummy. He actually hasn't needed it since he was switched to low carb wet food.

Have you tried the Pepcid AC yet?

Is she eating a food well? Maybe you should focus on feeding her a food that she eats well, pepcid and Lantus to control BG.
 
The fructosamine level is good -- it looks like Murphy's BG was averaging at approx. 120.

The link to Murphy's SS doesn't work. Could you please check the link? I don't think you included all of the info from the URL. We can't help with dosing if we can't get to your SS.

The reason you needed to re-register is that the Board crashed several days ago.
 
hiya! don't have much to add re: dosing, but I will say that long ago when I switched my cats from dry to canned and then from canned to raw, each time there was a corresponding decrease in the amount of poo. Willie now has a small to medium bowel movement every 2-3 days. It's not constipation, but rather his diet has little to nothing in it that his body isn't using. With most dry foods, so much of the food is grain and a cat can do nothing with that, so in one end and out the other...

I know some folks have supplemented with psyllium husks to help keep a cat moving... I had Willie on a supplement containing it for awhile, but didn't find that it made a huge difference for him. ECID, though.

Hope you have a good night!
 
Hi all. Thanks for welcoming me back (and my girl!). Yes, I was so pleased to see the 241 fructosamine level. I talked with my vet, and we are decreasing to 1.5 units of Lantus. Doesn't seem like enough of a decrease, and I hope that I don't see a hypo incident like I did on Friday afternoon again. We're testing foods to she will eat now. I thought she would like the Merrick, but it is not a pate and she won't eat it. The Merrick has a weird consistency to it - almost like turkey dumplings. So, I tried Oscie's Wellness grain free chicken canned tonight, and she ate almost the entire thing. My vet scared me though and said that we really have to watch the hypoglycemia thing now especially, so that she doesn't run into hepalipidosis. That would be the worst. I'm not up on treating a hypoglycemic, but the first thing I did when I came home on Friday was to feed her and then she seemed a little better. Scary -- she looked like she'd been barhopping for three days and drunk. I had a funny feeling and I'm so glad I left work. I hope I can keep her from becoming so finicky -- I think the Evo cat and kitten just is too dense, although she really needed that because she was so sick. No more MRSA and demodex infections or mites, so I'm pleased that her immune system is responding.

See if my spreadsheet is working now.
 
SS is good.

I'm confused. I don't see a 67 on Friday on your SS.

I also want to suggest that you not shoot a 40. I shoot low and I won't shoot a number in the 40s. In fact, even if its within the 2 hours prior to shot time, we recommend feeding the 40s. I especially wouldn't shoot that low if I wasn't going to get any tests until +10. This is dangerous. Whenever shooting a low number, you need to start testing at +1 if not at +0.5.
 
hi there! you mentioned murphy vomiting a foamy liquid. this is pretty common with CRF kitties. you mentioned an ultrasound, but has any bloodwork been done recently to rule out problems with the kidneys?

yikes!!! i took a peek at mrs. murphy's spreadsheet. please tell me you haven't had a chance to update her spreadsheet. you didn't really shoot an amps of 40 yesterday and didn't check again until +10?
 
No, believe me, if she shot a 40, I would have had her in the ER asap. I had marked a line through that because I was having meter problems, spilled water on my meter and had to switch to another. We did do her bloodwork two weeks ago, and everything is in line. She's doing well. I A was so pleased with the fructosamine level. So, now we're shooting 1.5 units Lantus. We'll see. So far, so good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top