Murphy Fluctuating and Frustrating

Status
Not open for further replies.

msmurphy2010

Member Since 2010
Hi All. Long time - no write! Okay, here's the scoop and I have not updated my SS for a few days. Murphy is all of the sudden having very strange BG numbers. This a.m., 174 prior to eating, tonight prior to eating, 189. I cannot figure out what is going on. I even went back to the 10 ml vial of Lantus. She's eating the same amount of food, etc. What the heck is going on? She's only had a few times over 200, but that was b/c she was munching on my little guy's food and jumped onto the countertop. Otherwise, I'm baffled - is this something I am going to have to get used to -- ups and downs.
 
Hi Lisa!

I wouldn't be comfortable trying to figure out what's going on without your SS being up to date. If you can fill it in, I think we may be able to offer some insight.
 
I've updated her SS so you can view through this evening. There are a few times I wasn't able to get her BG, but it's because she just gave me little fits.
 
msmurphy2010 said:
Murphy is all of the sudden having very strange BG numbers. This a.m., 174 prior to eating, tonight prior to eating, 189. I cannot figure out what is going on.
how low is this dose taking murphy?
too much insulin as well as not enough insulin can cause higher numbers. the only way to figure out what's going on is to get more mid-cycle spot checks. without them, it's extremely difficult to tell if she's stalled out on this dose (requiring more insulin) or she's dropping lower than you know (requiring less insulin).
make sense?
 
When I view her spreadsheet, it doesn't appear that things are so bad. I am probably fearing something that isn't necessary. Her BG this a.m. prior to breakfast was 111.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top