Murphy eating and low amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
Starting another thread as the last one was 2 pages already
Murphy is eating this morning (not everything but he's clearly hungry) the shocker was that his amps was 210 the 1st time I checked it- rechecked about 30 minutes later and it was 232. Wonder if he went low last night - caused me quite the dilemma re: insulin dose this morning - I gave him a 2.5 knowing that will probably be too low but I have no clue what he will do today I'm giving him tiny amounts of wet food - combining pureed tiki cat chicken (0 carb and very low fat) with a topper of NV rabbit (also low fat) - he'd eat it all but I'm so hesitant to give him more than a tsp or so (so he won't get another episode of pancreatitis and/or IBD flare up). I also gave him another Zolfran (anti-emetic) this morning just in case but no appetite stimulant Fingers crossed he has an uneventful day
 
That's great news Carol!! I think 2.5 is fine. If it's not enough so be it...we'll know that for later.

I'm so glad he's eating by himself! I think taking it easy on the wet food is good. Hopefully he won't get sick that way!
 
whoa- he was 82 was +4.5 - didn't think I would ever see a green again - luckily he was hungry so I steered with a little tiki cat chicken/NV rabbit and the new food Cindi told me about - Waggers - its' a semi-moist/dry food that is supposedly 12% carbs (website says 7.5%) So really don't know what is going on with him - maybe whatever was inflamed (intestines, pancreas)? is not any more and his sugars are going down - makes dosing so difficult - some times he seems impervious to however much insulin I give him - other times he is sensitive
 
How nice to see a green and possibly almost mid-cycle. So glad that he is eating today. The green ought to make him feel a little better today too.
 
How nice to see a green and possibly almost mid-cycle. So glad that he is eating today. The green ought to make him feel a little better today too.
Thanks Carl
Cindi I am so glad you found that Waggers - I bought a bag of the chicken yesterday but am keeping it for when he won't eat anything else - he'll usually try something new and he certainly ate it today Please let me know when you've read "Wesley the Owl" I'm anxious to hear your reaction as I don't know anyone else I know who works with raptors
 
Murphy's tests results came back from Texas A&M - he has pancreatitis - so it confirms what we suspected. He won't eat again this morning - he even threw up the anti-emetic but hopefully the drugs will kick in soon most anxious for the ultrasound in a week
 
Ah, Carol, I am late to reading yesterday's good news eating and a green and now today no eating and the pancreatitis DX. At least you know now and can treat. Hope the drugs start doing their thing ASAP.
 
Well, that is not a surprise and you are already working to minimize those issues. You might "follow" the people you know that are dealing with pancreatitis so you can read their threads when they post. Is there a forum of cat pancreatitis people?

The good news, Carol, is that he gets decent numbers when he feels well, so you will have a plan to move forward when you figure out if he has other issues, and compensate for them.

Be sure to give yourself credit for being a wonderful mom for Murphy. We all do! You have done so much to try to help him and you continue to do so.
 
:bighug: (((Huge Hugs))) to you and to Murphy, Carol!

I know nearly nothing about pancreatitis... I know you'll be doing everything he needs as you manage these multiple issues! I hope his appetite continues... That I *do* have experience in, and it is so emotionally draining to manage. Please keep us updated on how he's feeling. We care about you!!
 
I think he has triaditis - he had hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver) a few years ago and seems GI issues started then. The ultrasound next Tuesday will help determine whether he also has IBD - the ibdkitties Facebook page is so depressing - so many cats have to be PTS every day it seems - part of the hallmark of the disease is constant food aversions and not eating a particular food at the drop of a hat - he's done that now to Evo.
Well, all I can do is what I can do -the food situation is quite stressful though
 
My heart goes out to you Carol! I have an Awful lot of kitties...And many of them are becoming extremely geriatric. The last year or so they've started to consume nearly every waking moment that I'm not at work. Their health and comfort and happiness is paramount to me. And I'm driving myself crazy researching different things and trying to make sure that I have left no stone unturned, when it comes to how best to care for them.

Veterinarians have their place, but recently I have started to go above and beyond what they have told me. I lost a really sweet baby last year to hepatic lipidosis. He had been on methimazole for a thyroid condition, and in retrospect we just didn't want his liver values closely enough. He became jaundiced… I'm in tears as I'm writing this. I lost 3 in 2014.

So there's one thing I want to tell you, about what I'm starting to realize about all of this... And you may be way ahead of me, but when it comes right down to it, we are all trying so hard. And all of the striving is originating from a loving heart. What power there is there!!! And I believe if we take the extra moments in the day to connect and emote and Encourage them, that the kitties can feel this motivational energy.

And it's that that we must focus on. Not the disease state, not even the food and how much they're eating, and not the treatment and whether we're doing everything correctly. We continue to do those things, of course ( how can we not? ). The pain feels like it's going to break us sometimes, but it teaches us how to "be". Which is so valuable!!!

:bighug:

I reread this, and it's pretty schmaltzy. But I'm going to post it anyway because it's from the bottom of my heart. Take from it what you want to. I'll be thinking about you, and Murphy.
 
Well, all I can do is what I can do -the food situation is quite stressful though
Hi, Carol - Gee, am sorry to hear of the pancreatitis DX. We all know how deeply committed you are to Murphy, and that you're doing all you can ...
so just wanted to say that you're doing a great job in the face of a difficult situation. And that you & Murphy are in my thoughts & prayers every day. Sending you a whole lotta these: :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks everyone - you are all so sweet -we'll see what tomorrow brings - he's doing okay now - he stopped eating Evo tonight but actually ate a ton of Young Again Zero Carb tonight - he hasn't eaten that since his last bad bout with pancreatitis - I hope he stays on Young Again for awhile - his sugars should be much improved if he'll eat it!! (that's why I gave him 2.5 units - thinking he wasn't getting the carb load he has been getting)
 
Thanks everyone - you are all so sweet -we'll see what tomorrow brings - he's doing okay now - he stopped eating Evo tonight but actually ate a ton of Young Again Zero Carb tonight - he hasn't eaten that since his last bad bout with pancreatitis - I hope he stays on Young Again for awhile - his sugars should be much improved if he'll eat it!! (that's why I gave him 2.5 units - thinking he wasn't getting the carb load he has been getting)
Good luck with the YA Carol and hope the p'titis drugs kick in and Murphy will be as good as new ASAP.
 
Oh I am so sorry for the diagnosis but am so glad that you now know. Murphy is so appreciative of all the things that you are trying, I am sure. Please remember to take care of yourself and do something for you too. One day at a time....
 
Yes, gave him pain meds & fluids last night - better today - ate Young Again and tiki cat chicken (low in fat) this am - I gave him 2.5 units prozinc (lower than the 3 I was going to give him - but decided to decrease the dose as he does so well on Young Again) just checked him at +5 and he's hypo - bs 50 (alpha trak)
I fed him some wet and some dry (D/M and Royal Canin) and put a few dabs of karo on his cheeks - holding steady at 53. he's laying in the sun and I'm checking him again in a few minutes Usually, when he is low, he goes to his food dish, but this time I woke him to get a routine test. He's absolutely fine and I can handle this, but now if he goes between hyper and hypo and I am utterly clueless as to how to dose him day to day. I really need some guidance again
 
Oh Carol. Murphy knows how to make things difficult for you. I am sure one of the wise ones will be able to help you dose. Good job at catching the hypo.
 
Oh Carol. Murphy knows how to make things difficult for you. I am sure one of the wise ones will be able to help you dose. Good job at catching the hypo.
thanks Bobbie - i keep thinking this is a nightmare I will wake up from Actually it could be worse - if his ultrasound shows IBD, that will be a nightmare on steroids!!! He's up to 90 now so all is good
Bobbie - you did it - Bubba is now looking so good - that is so remarkable
 
thanks Bobbie - i keep thinking this is a nightmare I will wake up from Actually it could be worse - if his ultrasound shows IBD, that will be a nightmare on steroids!!! He's up to 90 now so all is good
Bobbie - you did it - Bubba is now looking so good - that is so remarkable
What does up to 90 mean? I am pretty sure Bubba had mild IBD and ever since I put him on the Nuturvet digestive enzymes and probiotics ( on recommendation of my holistic doctor) he has had no more diarrhea and or constipation. He would go between the two and throw up a lot which has also stopped. I give it to all my animals as it is for dogs and cats and not too expensive, maybe 25 buck for a big tub of it. Maybe it could help Murphy. I hope he will continue to eat for you.

Bubba is working the insulin now. The fun begins with keeping him in blue and green and safe. His poor ears as I have stuck him hourly today. ;)
 
I meant his blood sugar is up to 90 on last check -Murphy has I think triaditis - he had hepatic lipidosis, & pancreatitis, and we'll see if his intestines are thick. He has had life long intolerance to something in wet food (I think fat or carrageenen) - now very frequent nausea and food aversions. Doesn't really have too much of a problem with constipation and diarrhea only with pancreatitis flare. I do give him Nuturvet digestive enzymes -I put a pinch on his teaspoon of wet food and give him probiotics as recommended by IBDkitties. Don't know how to give digestive enzymes on dry food.
 
Is the pain med buprenorphine? If so, what dose?
 
I meant his blood sugar is up to 90 on last check -Murphy has I think triaditis - he had hepatic lipidosis, & pancreatitis, and we'll see if his intestines are thick. He has had life long intolerance to something in wet food (I think fat or carrageenen) - now very frequent nausea and food aversions. Doesn't really have too much of a problem with constipation and diarrhea only with pancreatitis flare. I do give him Nuturvet digestive enzymes -I put a pinch on his teaspoon of wet food and give him probiotics as recommended by IBDkitties. Don't know how to give digestive enzymes on dry food.
Maybe put it in water? Or just try sprinkling it over the dry and he'll get some and maybe he will lick up the bowl. I know both my cats love the YA and they will lick their dish at the end.
 
Yes, he's not in pain now at all - it was a paste to put in his ear - I don't like these trans-cutaneous patches so when he gets his ultrasound next week, I'll get a pill or the SQ formulation. we're fine for now
 
Maybe put it in water? Or just try sprinkling it over the dry and he'll get some and maybe he will lick up the bowl. I know both my cats love the YA and they will lick their dish at the end.
I love it when Murphy eats YA but he stopped eating it entirely when he developed his last bad bout of pancreatitis (whenever he gets sick, he'll stop eating whatever he was eating at the time he got sick) that unfortunately, happened to be YA. He just started eating it again yesterday when he stopped eating Evo
I'll start putting it on dry food too
 
The one I mentioned, when Bob took it, was administered orally. Not a "down the throat" med. It was a liquid, and it is just given by syringe, into the "cheek pouch". Very easy to give. What my vet told me was that the most important thing was to stay ahead of the pain, rather than react to it. So he got a dose every four hours. It was either .1 or .2 ml. Not sure as it was over 2 years ago. It made him spacey, but pain free.
 
Just to make sure...you gave 2.5 this AM?
The 50 says that was too much on the 350 AMPS. At least it was today. :D
 
The one I mentioned, when Bob took it, was administered orally. Not a "down the throat" med. It was a liquid, and it is just given by syringe, into the "cheek pouch". Very easy to give. What my vet told me was that the most important thing was to stay ahead of the pain, rather than react to it. So he got a dose every four hours. It was either .1 or .2 ml. Not sure as it was over 2 years ago. It made him spacey, but pain free.
Bubba got Bup too when his eye was removed. The same administration into the cheek pouch, it is best absorbed by the mucus membranes rather than go into the stomach. He was on .49ml. The cost of the bup for 7 days ( we only used 3 days worth) was 1/6 of the cost of the surgery itself. Very expensive.
 
I thought I gave him 2.5 but my spreadsheet says 3 so it must have been 3 - so yes, it was definitely too much (only too much because he ate Young Again and the tiki cat) At least I hope it was 3 and not 2.5 - oh I hate what stress does to memory
 
If it was 3u, then 2.5 probably would have been good. And that's good data to have!
 
Bobbie, did the vet give you pre-drawn syringes of Bupe?
 
Bobbie, did the vet give you pre-drawn syringes of Bupe?
Yes, the loaded them for me. It was a really high dose for his weight and the nature of the surgery. When I started doing research for the dosage, I was shocked as most cats are on the dose Bob was on for p'titis but then further research showed that he was on the correct amount for his weight. It was good stuff........when I threw the other syringes out it was like watching money go down the drain......
 
I think they have to give it to you that way. It's a highly controlled substance and I think they have to account for every drop. I had a vet years ago who lost her license to practice because her inventory was short.

My vet gave me .4 ml syringes, but told me to try giving half to see if it worked. So I ended up getting twice as many doses for my money. It is expensive!
 
I think they have to give it to you that way. It's a highly controlled substance and I think they have to account for every drop. I had a vet years ago who lost her license to practice because her inventory was short.

My vet gave me .4 ml syringes, but told me to try giving half to see if it worked. So I ended up getting twice as many doses for my money. It is expensive!
Yep, it took them a long time to do the dispensing for just that reason. That's a shame about the vet who lost her license especially if it were a bookkeeping error.
 
Gave him 2.5 tonight - after initially eating Young Again this evening, stopped and now won't eat again (sigh) hope he stays in decent numbers tonight (of course, saying this is going to jinx any chance for that)
 
Hi all - thanks for asking - I brought Murphy to my Chicago condo (first time he has ever been here) on Friday and I think he is enjoying himself - exploring everything and scent marking. He's been eating all weekend without the help of any chemical enhancements!! Having a hard time with his insulin dose though - it so depends on what food he decides to eat, and I'm either giving too much or too little. His big day for the abdominal ultrasound is tomorrow- I will see the vet at 8:45 and then they have to prep him (shave the poor guy - hope he won't be too cold in the zero degree weather) and the radiologist will arrive around noon to do the ultrasound. No food after midnight and they said no insulin the am, but I think I will give him a small amount - what is everyone's experience with dentals or other procedures regarding insulin dosing pre-procedure? His first Chicago photo is attached! IMG_1208 (2).jpg
 
Fingers and paws crossed that you get some answers, and that they present doable solutions, Carol. I think some people give 1/2, 1/4 dose and some skip completely. Probably for you it will depend on whether he eats in the am?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top