Murphy back to low amps -cycles make no sense

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was looking at the spreadsheet and thought of 2 as well - but I was trying not to change the dose so much - but yes, I feel comfortable with a 2 so I'll go with that - thanks for getting back to me in time for me to shoot him at 6:30 I'll leave some YA out for him tonight
 
You have had quite a dance the last few days, Carol! Sorry I can't be of any help, but you are in good hands here. Just wanted to wish you luck and hope you get Murphy's numbers better and less bouncing. :bighug: Thanks for sharing the beautiful picture of your snow, I never thought I would say this, but I miss it!
 
Carol, you're not a pest!! We've all been in your shoes...even when I was making decisions on my cat's dose myself, I kept coming here and asking for help. I was never comfortable deciding things without input from Sue or others. So don't feel bad...I'm here because I want to pay it forward. If you weren't here...how could I do that? :)
 
No problem Carol and Bobbie. Just wished we could get better results with a blink of an eye. I don't know how many times I have had one sliding scale, updated to a new one and then only to revert back to the old one. Sometimes, they just decide to settle in better with certain doses after you have made the change. You just have to find what that "certain" dose is.

@Bobbie And Bubba and @Carol & Murphy - Sue can attest to this but I was asking about doses almost every day for probably six months and then a few times there after. I do remember around that sixth month time frame, I wrote to @Sue and Oliver (GA) saying that "hey, I think I am getting this!" A few months after that, I really felt good about my confidence about dosing even though Merlin's pre-shot numbers were still not the greatest. He was pretty good at getting a nice blue/green at nadir but his pre-shots were still in the pink/red. I was giving him a higher dose back then too. Merlin really started getting better pre-shot numbers just last June 2015 (18 months after diagnosis), just six months ago, and his doses have decreased by 50% since June 2015 too. I attribute it to changing my food from 5% low carb, wet food to 4% low carb wet food. It made that much of a difference! It clearly shows on my ss. So you just have to figure out what works and continually to be patient, to analyze your ss data, clearly report the data and any changes that occur, try new things and feel great about what you have done so far. It is definitely a long, hard process for most of us.

You guys are already at that 5-6 month and already are doing very well at dosing and trying new things. Pretty soon, your kitties will get on board and hopefully it won't take as long to figure out what works, as it did for me i.e. 18 months.
Cindi, thank you for the above. It helps to hear about your journey because sometimes I feel so isolated even though I know I am in good company and receiving great advice. It is helpful to read it while I am wallowing in my self imposed isolation. :bighug:
 
I feel the same way too i.e. isolated. We are the ones that hold the syringe, makes the decisions and we are the only ones in the house responsible for our kitty. Fortunately, here we all have support of each other and we can bounce ideas off from each other as well.
 
Cindi, thank you for the above. It helps to hear about your journey because sometimes I feel so isolated even though I know I am in good company and receiving great advice. It is helpful to read it while I am wallowing in my self imposed isolation. :bighug:
Yes, thank you @Merlin @Rachel @Robin&BB @Sue and Oliver (GA) and especially the story of how you all struggled at the beginning as well It doesn't seem like it should be so difficult But boy, is it ever.
 
You have had quite a dance the last few days, Carol! Sorry I can't be of any help, but you are in good hands here. Just wanted to wish you luck and hope you get Murphy's numbers better and less bouncing. :bighug: Thanks for sharing the beautiful picture of your snow, I never thought I would say this, but I miss it!
thanks Lynn - it sure likes like Levemir is going to work out well for you!! we will anxiously follow your progress but please keep hanging out here the snow - we got 9" yesterday but will probably melt soon so not so bad
 
Sorry, Carol - I was out running many errands, just now back for a few ... what did you end up shooting? 2.0 or 2.25?
 
Hi Robin - I wanted to do the 2.25 but he went too low on me (301) and was probably still dropping -2.25 felt too high. I do agree with you that the bounces and changes are too much, so hopefully beginning tomorrow things can start to stabilize. It's going to be difficult with the sliding scale however. It's all so frustrating - like I'm starting from square One. Thanks for checking in
 
That's ok, Carol - I'd rather see you get some decent rest tonight, and I think that the 2.0 you shot will be less worrisome; tomorrow is another day (said Scarlett).;) I know that Murphy's little roller coaster ride has been pretty stressful for you lately --- you need to take care of you, too!:bighug: (And with that, gotta go shoot the Bat...)
 
Wow, Carol, that was a lot of snow early on, but nice it will melt. In SD if it snowed this time of year, it usually did not melt and each snowfall would just keep piling up. The winds are crazy up there too, so that made it even more interesting. lol

Rupert is doing pretty well so far, but was high at pmps, I am trying to get back on schedule too, after yesterday's stall, so I was advised to shoot early if he was high, which I did at +11.5. I played it safe though, maybe should have shot earlier, since his BG was 422, but still new at this at not much data to go on yet. I might be braver next time! :rolleyes: Good luck with getting Murphy back on schedule!
 
[QUOTE="Lynn & Rupert, post: 1541578, member: 13077" :rolleyes: Good luck with getting Murphy back on schedule![/QUOTE]
thanks very much Lynn. Please keep posting here so we can follow Rupert's progress with you. The Lantus/Levemir forum is daunting.
 
Carol, it is rather daunting, but a few very nice people, including our own Sharon, have been helpful and supportive. Along with the great support from my PZI family, it hasn't been too bad. Whoo hoo, I see Murphy is looking much better today! :joyful: Go Murphy! Rupert is in the 300's and just got a 226 at +6, not as good as I was hoping for, but not too bad. He seems to react with lower numbers with a dose or insulin change, then settles back into his pattern of high amps and pmps numbers. *sigh* But, hoping the Lev is storing up and will start to do it's "thing" soon. I will increase the dose after Thanksgiving. Thanks for asking. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top