Murphy amps was 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
just to build on yesterday's vexing puzzle, Murphy's amps was: 114 at 1st test (would have been +12:45 after pm dose, I repeated the test and got 104 then waiting 45 minutes (so now +13.5 after pm dose) and it was 94. No insulin this morning but I don't like this increasing pattern of ps's too low to shoot - then high levels the rest of day - high ps - repeat the cycle the next day
 
Wow!!! Go Murphy!

I'm on the phone (heading into work) so can't see your SS but if it is a pattern you might need to reduce so you get 2 shootable preshots. I'm sure someone will check in soon with suggestions...and I'll check in tonight when I can get on the computer and see your SS.
 
I know it's frustrating Carol, but look at the bright side, Murphy is responding well to the insulin, & you will figure out the right dose soon!
 
Hey Carol - What a wonderful problem to have...getting those greens that is. So last night you tested at +4.5 and got a 354. Let me ask anyone here that if your "close to nadir" test is not low and it appears that after +4.5 the number started to lower, is it really the insulin or did the pancreas start to kick in later in the cycle? Also the 2.5u dose was also given with numbers on 11/13 (AM & PM) and 11/18. So does the pattern is more like the pancreas is sputtering or the dose too high? It is interesting that his numbers is wavering in the low and even went lower on the third test. I know it can be the meter variance but is a substantial amount of time with all three tests.
 
Cindi - what are you doing up at this time of the morning? Or maybe you are just 2 hrs behind Eastern now?
- the 4.5 may not have been that close to nadir (it seems like his nadir can be anywhere between +5 and +7) but nevertheless, I do get your point If his pancreas is sputtering, might today's pattern provide clues?
 
Yeah - I guess when the numbers start to lower towards the end of the cycle, is it really the dose or is it something else? Usually it just happens in a cycle but may not see it again for a while but you had it happen two early mornings in a row and one day before that. Murphy did not go low in any of those three cycles at nadir. I just don't know if it is the dose yet. I always like to test numbers/dose twice when it gives me a weird result, before I change anything but it is up to you.
 
His pancreas working is certainly a logical explanation to his weird numbers, Cindi. It would be unusual, as we most often see it when they are on small doses, nearing remission. But Murphy has always been unusual.

How do you feel about testing until he reaches your usual shot target and giving him a shot then, Carol? His usual pattern is to jump up pretty fast; I hate to see him in high numbers until tonight. It will throw off your schedule but it is off anyway?
 
His pancreas working is certainly a logical explanation to his weird numbers, Cindi. It would be unusual, as we most often see it when they are on small doses, nearing remission. But Murphy has always been unusual.

How do you feel about testing until he reaches your usual shot target and giving him a shot then, Carol? His usual pattern is to jump up pretty fast; I hate to see him in high numbers until tonight. It will throw off your schedule but it is off anyway?
I have to leave to give a lecture in about an hour and I'll be gone through mid afternoon - I can test him now and see what it is - but he just ate a big meal less than 2 hours ago at this point, not off schedule as I didn't give him any insulin this morning I don't know if it is worth it to test before I leave because of the big meal
 
OK. It was only an idea. We WANT you to have a life, Carol. Besides trying to help with Murphy, we want you to get out and think about other things than FD.
 
OMG I need to turn on the TV. Six weeks is a long time and plenty of time to get to know the area and the wonderful people there.
 
I really need advice - its'3:45 eastern time now and Murphy's BG is 525. I'll shoot him early tonight but the question is how much - according to the new sliding scale, I should give him 2.75

Do you think that 500+ number is a bounce? I am not sure how low he went last night He really hasn't bounced recently

I still don't know what led to the 98 at almost 14 hrs after his dose last night I am at a loss as to what dose to give I'm thinking 2.5 like last night but I need advice
 
Last edited:
Let's see if anyone else weighs in, Carol. I think I'd do 2.5 and shoot early. If you do that, and you get a low amps, you can stall and slide back up to your usual time?

If he continues these crazy numbers, I think I would consider Lantus or Levemir. Maybe their flatter longer cycles will flatten and lengthen him out.
 
Let's see if anyone else weighs in, Carol. I think I'd do 2.5 and shoot early. If you do that, and you get a low amps, you can stall and slide back up to your usual time?

If he continues these crazy numbers, I think I would consider Lantus or Levemir. Maybe their flatter longer cycles will flatten and lengthen him out.
I hesitate with those other insulins as for me, the exact q12 hr dosing may be problematic - this has only happened for a few days - prefer to see if he can stablize
 
That's fine. I just try to find something helpful when his numbers are so weird. Hopefully, it was a strange cycle and things will go back. He was doing well with the scale.
 
Do you know how many cats, unregulated on prozinc, went on to be successfully regulated on Lantus? or approximately in what proportion it worked?
 
Not really. I know a few that switched - several were high dose cats who usually don't go OTJ unless they have surgery. Jen and Eddie switched. He was a bad bouncer. He bounced quite a while on Lantus and eventually went OTJ.

It's so hard to know because there are so many factors. Some cats go OTJ right away, with depot insulin and with PZI. Some take months either with PZI and then switching, or with a depot insulin. So I don't know if it is time or insulin. I do think depot insulins have flatter longer cycles and sometimes that seems to be what the cat needs - that some how Prozinc is too harsh for them.

But the best thing anyone ever said was : The best insulin is the one that works for your cat. It is just sometimes so hard to get that figured out.........
 
Hey Carol - I was out and just got home. Did I see your SS right? You got a 525 then it went down to 424 after an hour? Anyway, I agree with Sue to go with the 2.5u. It will be interesting if he throws another low AMPS number tomorrow or if he follows the cycle like the one on 11/18 in am.
 
Hey Carol - I was out and just got home. Did I see your SS right? You got a 525 then it went down to 424 after an hour? Anyway, I agree with Sue to go with the 2.5u. It will be interesting if he throws another low AMPS number tomorrow or if he follows the cycle like the one on 11/18 in am.
@Merlin Hi Cindi - it was 525 and then an hour later 454 - I figured this was meter variance. I gave him 2.5 units early (5:15 pm eastern) I'll be able to check at + 5.5 tonight and then plan to check him at +13 - let's keep our fingers crossed -- hope you had a good day - we're preparing for a winter storm (up to 6" snow) I'd like to keep this sliding scale btw, I read your story about your torte - how sweet is that. She sounds adorable. Do you really think a coyote got her kittens?
His pm 5.5 test was 312 - not that much of a drop with what should be his near nadir - we'll see what his amps is
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top