MURPHY 10/1/10 +1 PMPS 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

msmurphy2010

Member Since 2010
Murphy is doing very well this last week, but especially today. We have just started to migrate to her new diet, which I'm excited about, although because of the pancreatitis, will take approximately 14 days. The new diet is Evo Cat and Kitten grain free. Very slowly migrating over as I'm not in a hurry to cause any digestive problems. Tonight, she was actually playing with her little swinging toy on the stick and rolled over for the first time while she was playing. I'm seeing progress in little subtle ways. ;-)

Lisa and Murphy
 
It's great to hear that Murphy is feeling better!!

What would you think about raising Murphy's dose to 2.25u? If you want to raise the dose, you're going to need to be doing a bit more testing. It would be wonderful if you could get a curve tomorrow. It's important for you to know when Murphy's Lantus onset and nadir are and what the duration of a shot is. You'll need to test every 2-hours for curve.
 
Yes, I'm doing a curve today every two hours and so far, b/4 breakfast, she was at 291, and 2 hours after, she is at 259. This will be a good day to test her to she where she's at. And, I'm going to purchase one of the automatic pet feeders but I'm not sure which one is best. Just for a once per day 1/4 feeding of the dry at like noon.
 
Murphy's curve went relatively well today. I tried to do every two hours as much as I could. I haven't gotten her +2 tonight, she's been napping, and she is really hating the pricking in the ear, just wimpering and wimpering. So far, today, her numbers seem better though.

L
 
I hope in "flat day," we mean "good day." This a.m. before she ate, she was 187!!! Do any of you leave food out during the day and at night while you are gone and while you sleep?
 
I think pretty much everybody leaves food out - for me, I want to know Shadow has something if she were to go low on BG. and I like her to have a +9 snack, so I leave that out too. I'm sure there are some nights that the +9 is consumed way early, but what are you gonna do? I have an auto feeder but Shadow hasn't figured it out yet.

So what did you think about Sienne's suggestion to up her insulin dose a little?
 
I've been looking at the automatic feeders because I've got Oscie to think of too. I won't change the dosage of Lantus until Murphy's vet tells me, especially since we are just now changing her diet. I have a feeling that the more the diet increases in protein over the next two weeks or so, her #s will hopefully go down. At least, that's what we're hoping for. I would like to find a decent auto pet feeder though. That way, I can control the intake during the day, but they'll have something. Does anyone know where I can get Ph strips for urine? I have to watch Oscie's now because he has struvite and with the diet change, I have to be careful with him as well.
 
what is the food you're switching from?

One thing to keep in mind is that the longer a cat stays in higher numbers, the more their body gets used to those numbers and the harder it is to get them to come down.
 
I've already seen subtle progress over the weekend, and I think we are looking at 10 days for the entire switch because right now, she's so fragile. I won't change anything until I speak with her vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top