Murph back in amps reds

Status
Not open for further replies.
the bartender (me) is having an extra dirty martini with Chopin vodka (I love olives) , but the house is also serving pumpkin martinis made with:

1 tablespoon sugar, 1/4teaspoon pumpkin pie spice; 1.5 oz (or 2) vodka, 2 tablespoons half and half, 1 tablespoon canned pure pumpkin puree, 1 tablespoon maple syrup, and 1/4teaspoon pure vanilla extract
pick your poison
 
Oh I'll try a pumpkin! Just got in from feeding the horses and Colin's giving me the look. I used to feed the horses just before his shot time, but now it gets dark earlier and it's moved up and he thinks he should move up to. Make mine a 2oz!
 
the bartender (me) is having an extra dirty martini with Chopin vodka (I love olives) , but the house is also serving pumpkin martinis made with:

1 tablespoon sugar, 1/4teaspoon pumpkin pie spice; 1.5 oz (or 2) vodka, 2 tablespoons half and half, 1 tablespoon canned pure pumpkin puree, 1 tablespoon maple syrup, and 1/4teaspoon pure vanilla extract
pick your poison
OMG! You had me at Pumpkin! Although, I enjoy the extra dry dirty tinis too! You are the hostess with the mostest. If we get virtually drunk at you house, will we have virtual hang overs tomorrow?? Thanks for that recipe! Good thing I have plenty of pure pumpkin around due to a constipated kittie!
 
Oh I'll try a pumpkin! Just got in from feeding the horses and Colin's giving me the look. I used to feed the horses just before his shot time, but now it gets dark earlier and it's moved up and he thinks he should move up to. Make mine a 2oz!
This is so much fun, since I have no social life anymore outside this forum. Make mine a double!! Extra olives.
 
I've never tried the Ramos Gin Fizz although I've heard of it, I've never been a gin drinker. What all is in it?
 
They are from New Orleans, and All I remember about them is Huey Long (Gov. Of La) took a bartender with him to NY just to make this drink for him. We actually learned that in school, La. History class
 
well, they are delicious
Ramos gin fizz[edit]
Ramos fizz
IBA Official Cocktail

Ramos gin fizz at the Sazerac Bar, Roosevelt Hotel, New Orleans
Type Cocktail
Served Straight up; without ice
Standard drinkware

Collins glass
IBAspecified ingredients*
  • 4.5 cl gin
  • 1.5 cl lime juice
  • 1.5 cl fresh lemon juice
  • 1.5 cl simple syrup
  • 6 cl cream
  • 1 egg white
  • 3 dashes orange flower water
  • 2 drops vanilla extract
  • Soda water
Notes All ingredients are poured, except the soda, in a mixing glass, dry shaken (no ice) for two minutes, then ice is added and shaken hard for another minute
Strained into a highball glass without ice and topped with soda

[4][better source needed]

A Ramos gin fizz (also known as a "Ramos fizz" or "New Orleans fizz") contains gin, lemon juice, lime juice, egg white, sugar, cream, orange flower water, and soda water. It is served in a large non-tapered 12 to 14 ounce Collins glass.

The orange flower water and egg significantly affect the flavor and texture of a Ramos, compared to a regular gin fizz. The key to making this egg cocktail is dissolving the sugar before adding ice; the sugar acts as an emulsifier, and it and the alcohol "cook" the egg white.[5] Many modern bartenders prefer using powdered egg white to eliminate the possible health risks associated with raw eggs.

Henry C. Ramos invented the Ramos gin fizz in 1888 at his bar, the Imperial Cabinet Saloon on Gravier Street, New Orleans, Louisiana. It was originally called a "New Orleans fizz", and is one of the city's most famous cocktails. Before Prohibition, the drink's popularity and exceptionally long 12-minute mixing time[6] had over 20 bartenders working at the Imperial at once making nothing but the Ramos gin fizz - and still struggling to keep up with demand. During the carnival of 1915, 32 staff members were on at once, just to shake the drink.

The Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans also popularized the drink, abetted by Governor Huey Long's fondness for it. In July 1935, Long brought a bartender named Sam Guarino from the Roosevelt Hotel to the New Yorker Hotel in New York City to teach its staff how to make the drink so he could have it whenever he was there. The Museum of the American Cocktail has newsreel footage of this event. The Roosevelt Hotel group trademarked the drink name in 1935 and still makes it today.
 
See it is more fun at Carol's house! Merlin is gray...he is definitely the odd man out. I have never had a martini. I wouldn't mind trying but would never know what to order. For me, I like my beer and tequila.
 
@Merlin Cindi - are you still on the board - Murphy's pmps is 181 - I will stall for awhile to see if I get to above 200 but I still won't know what dose to give - any ideas?
 
Yes, I'd stall. A 181 would be fine on a ReliOn - feels enough lower on an AlphaTrak . His cycle today was beautiful. We'd expect a bounce from Murphy, which could come during your stall.

What are you thinking? 2 units and a test before bed?
 
They are from New Orleans, and All I remember about them is Huey Long (Gov. Of La) took a bartender with him to NY just to make this drink for him. We actually learned that in school, La. History class
Can't believe that you learned that in school. See why I love the South!!!???
 
See it is more fun at Carol's house! Merlin is gray...he is definitely the odd man out. I have never had a martini. I wouldn't mind trying but would never know what to order. For me, I like my beer and tequila.
Merlin can still be in the Ginger Head Club! Let's get Cindi hooked on tinis!!!!! Although beer and tequila are just fine!
 
I am a total wreck for these pm doses - I fed him small amounts of his regular venison wet food twice today - especially when I got the 92 as his nadir a few days previously was +8 and I was expecting him to go a lot lower, based upon his previous numbers so he may have gone lower if I hadn't fed him a little - if he doesn't bounce, I think 2 might be too high -I was thinking 1.75 again. I've never shot into a blue
Should I wait until he gets above 200? I'd like to not have to test too many times tonight as I tore the edge of his ear earlier (I poked and he jerked) poor little thing -
 
If you are nervous and want to sleep easy, then go with 1.75. He has been in some lovely ranges; he'll get there again. IMHO, the 2.25 is a great dose for your higher numbers. I'm not sure what a good dose for his 200s is, but you'll figure it out.
 
Does anyone see a post from Luanne and Smokey with him being 47? Bettyadhank posted that she had posted that he was 47 and she recommended him going to ProZinc forum. I am not seeing it.
 
Bettyandhank thought it was a hpyo, she is @+8 146, she might need dosing advice in about 4 hours. I tagged Sue, Rachel and BJM She was on 4 units and has reduced it. This am she shot units. What did I miss here at the party? What are we drinking now girls?
 
I'll take a pumpkin tini!!!

Carol, did you decide to go with the 1.75 or are you still stalling right now?
 
There's something in the air, several hypo scares around the board, Murphy is nice and low, Paula(woodsywife) also has a low PMPS, what's wrong with Bubba and Colin? I need another drink!
 
There's something in the air, several hypo scares around the board, Murphy is nice and low, Paula(woodsywife) also has a low PMPS, what's wrong with Bubba and Colin? I need another drink!
BARTENDER!! I hear you. I have to test Bubba @+2. And another reason I didn't increase, I think his 303 PM number was probably lower yet because I couldn't get the poor guy to bleed and had to poke him 5-6 times and he was getting so mad! Trying to bite me, I had to have my husband help me hold him down! Poor boy. Make mine another double Carol!
 
I'm on pins and needles waiting to see what Carol and Paula are going to do. They've both disappeared.
 
I'll take a pumpkin tini!!!

Carol, did you decide to go with the 1.75 or are you still stalling right now?
I stalled for a good 45 minutes and he was up to 205. I gave him 1.75 although he doesn't really want to each much tonight - I've tried all the tricks- he ate about half his YA after I put the probiotic on it (Feliflora?) but just had a few laps of the canned food - so I popped a cyproheptadine in his mouth to hopefully stimulate his appetite in a few hours. I'm 1.5 hrs off schedule but that's ok - what a day.
 
Maybe I'll try one next time I go to NO, I don't go very often. It's a pain to drive there and I have to rush back to feed everyone!
 
I stalled for a good 45 minutes and he was up to 205. I gave him 1.75 although he doesn't really want to each much tonight - I've tried all the tricks- he ate about half his YA after I put the probiotic on it (Feliflora?) but just had a few laps of the canned food - so I popped a cyproheptadine in his mouth to hopefully stimulate his appetite in a few hours. I'm 1.5 hrs off schedule but that's ok - what a day.
You poor gal! Can I make you a cosmopolitan?
 
Cosmos can be a little sweet but maybe that's okay
Sue - I really can't handle greens yet - like I said, with an alpha track, I think there is too little margin for error I know I should be happy when I see them. But especially early in the cycle, I worry about an impending hypo, or an impending bounce!! The spreadsheets have a different meaning depending on human meter or AlphaTrak - that's why I'm sticking with AlphaTrak for now - until he gets regulated, as have a comfort level with the numbers and what they mean.
 
The trick is to see lower numbers often enough, and get comfortable with them. Because you know how to bring him up if he is low. Getting him in lower ranges is what he needs. You're doing great, Carol. Remember that breathing thing.
 
well I am not very happy - I just took a reading at +3.5 and he is at 143 he's been eating his wet food little amounts for the past 2 hrs (had his meal and then some) and it is still at 143. It's 11:30 pm here and now I need to be up for a few hrs I guess :(
 
I wish I were in your shoes. Colin is as high as he's ever been. I wish he'd keep me up at night, that way I'd know he was getting better. I'm back to thinking he doesn't have a chance.
 
That's not bad, Carol. He still has a long way to drop and often at night, his nadir is a little earlier.
And all this time spent in these nice ranges have to be so good for his pancreas. It's true that you worry when they are high and you worry when they are low, but lower is better.

Sorry Colin is high again, Shannon. Is he bouncing? He did have some nice numbers earlier, right?
 
Sharon -I looked at his SS and it is not as high as it has ever been - maybe Sue is right and he is bouncing from the yellows
when they talk about insulin resistance - it is resistance to all types of insulin or could they be resistant to say prozinc but not Lantus, etc?
don't give up - my friend the feline vet said it can take up to a year to get some cats regulated
Sue I'll try not to worry - I hope his nadir is at +4 tonight
 
He's in the 400's now going up instead of down. I'm just feeling sorry for myself and Colin again. I was so excited the other day with the blue, and now I feel defeated again. I guess I'll raise his dose tomorrow and see what happens.
 
I haven't been posting on the L&LL . The protocol said hold the dose 6 cycles and evaluate. Tomorrow AM is the 6 the cycle. Since he's only showed a couple yellows in that time, I'm guessing an increase. He had the blue at 6u's, so maybe that will be his number.
 
Last edited:
I haven't been posting on the L&LL forum. I've been exchanging emails with one of the members who has a high dose cat on Levimer. She said hold the dose 6 cycles and evaluate. Tomorrow AM is the 6 the cycle. Since he's only showed a couple yellows in that time, I'm guessing an increase. He had the blue at 6u's, so maybe that will be his number.
I hope the magic number is 6 for Colin
 
I wish I were in your shoes. Colin is as high as he's ever been. I wish he'd keep me up at night, that way I'd know he was getting better. I'm back to thinking he doesn't have a chance.
Ah, Sharon, this pulled at my heart strings when I read it. Always a chance! You need to give the Levemir a chance. Sending you lots of GNV (good number vibes ) :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top