Murph back in amps reds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
Just when the dose reduction went so well yesterday (1.75 nice blues all day) I messed up and only gave him 1.75 for his pm dose when I meant to give 2.25 so he's back in the reds today - hope it's not too much of a set back. We'll see if the reds are a bounce to the nice numbers, or because of an inadequate dose last night. One question I've been thinking about - everyone talks about the greens being the target - but for Alphatrak users, there seems to be such a small margin of error between a 99 and 80 (when I'm told to start watching for hypo- the hypo # being 68. Is it okay to set a target for low blues?
 
@Robin & BB uses an AT. (I so hope she is feeling better!) In hunting around, I found this from her: As for my own experience, I've found the "<69" hypo-alert to be quite accurate. But that said, I have always tended to steer with a little low-carb food whenever she's nadired down around the 80 mark. (I figure it's always better to be safe than sorry.)

I'd say that the important thing is for you to decide what is a "watch it" number for you and what is a good low number.

Your 1.75 may have been too low for the pmps. So you have that info for the future. No worries.
 
Data collection!! Don't worry about it. I can tell you that several times (SEVERAL) I got up, tested Gypsy, fed Gypsy, put her insulin shot together...then walked out the door without giving it. I realized that much later at work. In retrospect, I needed more sleep. o_O

You're not alone! We've all given the wrong dose before...at least you didn't give too much. :)
 
Hi Sharon - I tried to find it in the newspaper here but there was no score for the game last night - who won?
actually, I am terrified Murphy will drop further into hypo or near hypo territory as his nadir is a few hours away - so I;m not so happy about the greens. Since I use alphatrak, I think the greens dont' give enough margin (I have to start worrying at 80, and that's only 19 points away from 99) so I don't like greens - I want the low blues. I was going to go for a walk but now I can't until his sugars go up (I just got him to eat a little canned) But hey, look at Colin - below the renal threshold - maybe it was his teeth all along. If so, there's a very good lesson there.
 
Murphy will be fine, you're watching him and he ate some. I've been reading some other hypo threads, there's been a couple today, something in the air? Anyway, if he had to go low, better today than tonight. You're awake and there are people here to help. When was his last test?

As for the game, I'd rather not talk about that:arghh:
 
Oh, then I won't try to find score of game. Sorry - (I mean it)
His last test was about 25 minutes ago- he would only eat about a tablespoon of food
 
It's ok about the game, I wasn't expecting them to win, just hoped.

Do I remember that Murphy is on the canned food only now? Do you think that's why he's doing so well now? How often will you test?
 
Murphy eats about 1/6 of a 5.5 oz can of Royal Canin Venison novel protein twice a day -I can't imagine trying to feed him more - it takes him forever to eat just that amount - he also gets 1/8 cup of Forever Young mature zero twice a day I guess I'll test him in about 15 minutes - I truly hate this (worrying about a hypo) also, by going in the greens, he'll probably bounce now -- when are Colin's nadirs? I find Lantus so confusing -
 
Murphy is looking good today. He is so close to nadir too! Hope you are only feeding your regular low carb food to see where it takes him. I am in the same boat this am too. Got a 45 at +4. Giving only low carb food and it seems to be maintaining this number. Suppose to be going over to my daugther's house about 30 minutes ago but am on hold. Oh well. I do try to hit 40 or 50 although most of the time we don't get that low. I am happy with 40 pts above that, due to the variance of the meter anyway. With that being said, if Merlin has dropped too fast, say at +3, then I do start feeding my LC food. I only give 1 tsp at a time as that seems to work. I hardly ever have to pop the can of the medium carb. If you can keep with your low carb as long as possible, I have found that the kitty is less likely to bounce.
 
Coin is on Levemir, which I find confusing too. It has a very slow, steady action. The only thing I don't like about it is a late onset. Sometimes his nadir is at PS time, but with the slow,late onset, you shoot anyway. I'm having trouble remembering that.
So if Murphy is off the higher carb dry, maybe that's why he's been going blue more often
 
I guess the food worked because his +6 was 104 - thanks for the advice Cindi - I did feed him just his regular canned food and learned a lesson not to bring out the big guns too soon -but looking at Merlin's SS - you must have nerves of steel. Very early in the dance, Murphy got to 26 (on an alphatrak). I also dont' want him to get any lower than 90 because he is not used to it, and will bounce.
Yes, Sharon, I am sure getting Murphy only on FDMB approved food (canned and YA) is the answer his numbers have improved. But if he goes off the venison, I have no other options (and sometimes he doesn't seem all that thrilled with it) so I am just crossing my fingers - Did you call Young Again? Cindy- I hope you get to your daughter's house soon
 
You feed them whatever they'll eat! Yes I called them and am waiting for the sample. Glad Murphy has come up to where you're comfortable.
 
You feed them whatever they'll eat! Yes I called them and am waiting for the sample. Glad Murphy has come up to where you're comfortable.
well, I'm sure its the food but the other day, his nadir wasn't until +8 so I still have a ways to go Hope I can get my walk in - its a beautiful day
 
Carol, Murphy has hit blues and green for five out of the last seven days....woo hoo! Way to stay steady today. It won't be before too long that 90's isn't going to be enough and you too will want something lower. Just remember, the more that you can get into those greens, the less of a reaction that you will get from Murphy's liver/pancreas because Murphy's liver/pancreas will say, "oh this is where I should be!" Oh and yeah...I am heading over to my daughters now....well maybe not. I am into watching the Packers and Panthers football game now.
 
Who are you rooting for Merlin

Just realized I called you Merlin! Sorry Cindi!
 
Last edited:
just tested Murphy and he was 112 - I will test again in about 25 minutes and if he is still up, I"m going out -- I've been noticing that the majority of cats on FDMB are orange - could this be true?
 
Murphy is looking good. Did you feed him more, or is he holding his own? I was thinking there were lots of black cats, but maybe I just notice them more because I have so many of them.
 
He's high and flat again today. Starts the AM good though. How's Bubba?
Post surgery great. He was stuck in yellows ,flat cycles since before the surgery. This AM I upped him to 2.6 ( he started in the pinks last night) and it was like water! +6.5 he is still pinks! I am going to up it again tonight, if he hasn't moved......got to get him down. I am afraid of toxicity.
 
I know what you mean, Colin's been in the pinks since I started home testing. He was probably in them before that too. A friend has been helping me with dosing. She goes to my vet and has a diabetic cat. Also Luann said I could tag her with questions. We are going to evaluate him tomorrow for an increase. It takes a few cycles to rebuild his depot after the decreases I made.
 
Last edited:
I haven't learned the new insulin yet, heck I hadn't learned ProZinc! With Lev and Lantus the insulin is like time released & it builds a depot that gets slowly released as needed, something like that. Go to the L&LL forum and read the sticky about them. I like the insulin, don't go by Colin's response, or lack of, because I think he either has the glucose toxicity thing or is an acrocat.
 
Last edited:
I, I mean, Merlin is pulling for Green Bay. Doesn't look good right now.

Thank goodness, you scared me. Tell the Packers to put Cam Newton where he belongs, on his butt! I'm a Saints fan, love Packers too though.
 
Yeah, it is kind of like in a neighborhood, all the kids collect mostly at one house. It's like, we like hangin' at Carol's house.
@Merlin, since your at Carol's house, what do you think about me taking Bubba up some more tonight? Today, he's stuck in the Pinks. I was thinking maybe 2.8. I am worried about him being stuck so long and now he is going up......
 
Yeah, there has got to be that one magic dose that is going to be good for Bubba. I would increase as I am one of those impatient ones but you have been hanging in the 2.+ doses for a while. As always, you are always there to monitor.
 
Yeah, there has got to be that one magic dose that is going to be good for Bubba. I would increase as I am one of those impatient ones but you have been hanging in the 2.+ doses for a while. As always, you are always there to monitor.
thanks!
 
Glad everyone had a good time while I was gone!!! Actually I took my Mom to see my Aunt - I just tested Murphy (123) - I was poking Murphy's ear and he jerked, and now there is a small tear in the edge of his ear where the lancet tore through it - I feel so bad. won't be able to use his right ear for awhile :( Go ahead and make yourselves at home here while I go for a long over due walk (and I do think there are more orange cats, but black cats definitely could be a close 2nd) I wonder what the distribution is of cats in the US by coloring? Also, I have a feeling he will be pretty low for tonight's pmps so I'll have to lower his dose
 
Glad everyone had a good time while I was gone!!! Actually I took my Mom to see my Aunt - I just tested Murphy (123) - I was poking Murphy's ear and he jerked, and now there is a small tear in the edge of his ear where the lancet tore through it - I feel so bad. won't be able to use his right ear for awhile :( Go ahead and make yourselves at home here while I go for a long over due walk (and I do think there are more orange cats, but black cats definitely could be a close 2nd) I wonder what the distribution is of cats in the US by coloring? Also, I have a feeling he will be pretty low for tonight's pmps so I'll have to lower his dose
Thanks for your hospitality, Carol! I have torn Bubba's ear too when he jerked, I know how you feel! I am glad someone is enjoying lower numbers today. I raised Bubba's dose this morning from 2.4 to 2.6 and he is going up!!! I just checked at 9.75 and he is 363! WT??? Breathe.......
 
Thanks for your hospitality, Carol! I have torn Bubba's ear too when he jerked, I know how you feel! I am glad someone is enjoying lower numbers today. I raised Bubba's dose this morning from 2.4 to 2.6 and he is going up!!! I just checked at 9.75 and he is 363! WT??? Breathe.......

Sounds like Colin today...
 
Unfortunately Colin and I are used to it. He doesn't seem to mind, but I do. Hope your dose increase works.
 
Unfortunately Colin and I are used to it. He doesn't seem to mind, but I do. Hope your dose increase works.
I know what you mean, he has been down in the basement all day. He was really upset this morning and wanting to go out and he went down in the basement and cried and cried (that real guttural cry the do sometimes) it broke my heart. Wondering if today's high is because he is so stressed? Oh, Carol, could you put on some more coffee for us?
 
I was just thinking maybe he was stressed not being able to go out. I hate when they cry. Colin keeps coming In the kitchen and he has this tiny pitiful cry...
 
But what do we do with those looks they give us? I keep telling him he's hurting my feelings, but he doesn't care...
 
Now you are talking - that is exactly what I was going to suggest - actually I am about to open a bottle of pinot noir but maybe this is a martini night
I kinda think merlin is a strawberry blond. Yeah let's do martinis, keep the grapes corked, Carol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top