Mumf 02/15 AMPS 295 +3.5 223 +6.75 214 +8 218 PMPS 234

MumfsFriend

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Good morning!
Mumf had an allergic reaction to some food yesterday. My poor baby was so itchy and miserable half the day. I hope we’ve now identified the culprit.
later though he was chipper and played a lot, it was great.
 
I have a feeling that onset came early today. About an hour and a half after his shot he jumped up from the sofa where he was sleeping, looked at me like “what the what?!”, ran to the kitchen and ate something, hahaha. Wouldn’t let me test him though, because he was busy so I let him sleep a little bit and tested him now. Looks like something‘s happening with this dose. <3
 
Last edited:
Thank you. Yes, I’m happy that this is moving in the right direction. I think I’m going to keep him at the dose for one more day because I just switched his diet and he seems to have been incredibly stressed from this allergy that he had developed over the course of the past few weeks (possibly months tbh).

by the way the vet called me back today and I mentioned to her that I wished I had known earlier that insulin has to be adjusted frequently. And she said that her happiest patients are those that really just don’t even look at the numbers and just stick to one dose. Wow.

:DNice to see his numbers improving.
 
Wow, that is so scary.:nailbiting:

But not surprising. When Checkers was first diagnosed the vet didn't mention testing at home. I just followed his advice. He was on too high a dose and had a symptomatic hypo and I had to rush him to the vet. A couple of months later after a blood test in his office he said Checkers was in remission so I stopped giving him insulin. A couple of weeks later I had to rush him to an ER vet because he had DKA.

So that's why I am on this site.

Good morning, by the way.:)
 
Just a note….there is no “SLGS-ish” ;);) I would suggest if you are following SLGS because of work & being gone during the day, you hold the dose increases for a week, as prescribed, unless he earns a reduction.

It’s a bit too soon to do any type of custom dosing for him. We usually only do that after there is enough data to show he needs something other than SLGS or TR to get him regulated. It does seem like you are testing enough to do TR. I don’t know if that will change for you but right now, your schedule is allowing enough tests. We can also make suggestions for you if work is an issue. Have you see this post on working and doing TR?

As an aside…I am not trying to pressure you in switching to TR if it’s not possible but if it’s not, than I’d like to see you follow SLGS as written for the time being. Just my thoughts :)
 
Hi Marje! :)

I had this discussion just a couple of days back with Jana. Her work keeps her away for 12 hours a day and she can't come home in between to test. Which is why she isn't following TR. However, she has the next week off from work and I suggested she follow TR till she needs to get back to work. Maybe she can get Mumf to a good dose before then. She has agreed to do that. That's why the faster increases in dose.

I just realized she hasn't updated her signature.
 
I had a conversation with Bhooma about trying TR this week, and about why it wouldn’t work once I go back to work . I copied the link. We were talking about trying to find a good dose for him safely this week because his numbers were so high. So we were thinking of doing TR for this week. Do you think that’s not a good idea? I will be going back to work on Monday and then it won’t be possible anyway, then I will go back to SLGS because I can only test pre-shot and then in the evening.

I just called it “-ish” because I had lower no-shoot numbers… I usually shoot a full dose up to 180 and after that I give a reduced dose. At least that was the case last year, when we saw lower numbers more frequently.

Just a note….there is no “SLGS-ish” ;);) I would suggest if you are following SLGS because of work & being gone during the day, you hold the dose increases for a week, as prescribed, unless he earns a reduction.

It’s a bit too soon to do any type of custom dosing for him. We usually only do that after there is enough data to show he needs something other than SLGS or TR to get him regulated. It does seem like you are testing enough to do TR. I don’t know if that will change for you but right now, your schedule is allowing enough tests. We can also make suggestions for you if work is an issue. Have you see this post on working and doing TR?

As an aside…I am not trying to pressure you in switching to TR if it’s not possible but if it’s not, than I’d like to see you follow SLGS as written for the time being. Just my thoughts :)
 
OK, we just commented at the same time. :D
Thanks for clarifying. I did forget to update my signature, will do that now!

Hi Marje! :)

I had this discussion just a couple of days back with Jana. Her work keeps her away for 12 hours a day and she can't come home in between to test. Which is why she isn't following TR. However, she has the next week off from work and I suggested she follow TR till she needs to get back to work. Maybe she can get Mumf to a good dose before then. She has agreed to do that. That's why the faster increases in dose.

I just realized she hasn't updated her signature.
 
Back
Top