Mr T Day 2 AMPS 325

Tomlin

Member Since 2019
AMPS higher than yesterday, but I know its early. He did eat approx 1/4 can of his wet food 2 hrs prior to the check & also had earlier snacks around 3 & 4am vs the AMPS yesterday he didn't eat since the late evening before the check. One question, & it may depend on the cat, approx how soon after they eat does the glucose become effected? I ask because I'm working around him because he has to eat tiny meals & sometimes that tiny meal happens to come before the 2 hour point. If I'm around & its close I will grab the BG a little early, but I wonder how far out from the snack I can grab one as well without it significantly impacting his #s? I question whether to take the BG or push it to the next opportunity where he hasn't eaten anything for 2 hours. I am making notes if he's eaten before a BG (like today's 2+) so it can be taken into consideration, but would like to know what your experience has been. Thank you!
 
It takes a while for food to affect glucoses. You pick up food 2 hrs prior to preshot of insulin. You do not have to pick up food any other time. So Mr. T can stay on his routine.

My Ollie, I try to keep in 3 hr food schedule. Lately that has changed and she is eating/grazing the first 4 hrs of the day cycle. Also have husband who just puts food down for any of the cats and walks away so Ollie will steal when she can. Had cats trained for 3 hr meals it was nice, was working towards 4 hr meals, husband I can't seem to train and now the 3 hr meals have turned into all day dining.
 
It takes a while for food to affect glucoses. You pick up food 2 hrs prior to preshot of insulin. You do not have to pick up food any other time. So Mr. T can stay on his routine.

My Ollie, I try to keep in 3 hr food schedule. Lately that has changed and she is eating/grazing the first 4 hrs of the day cycle. Also have husband who just puts food down for any of the cats and walks away so Ollie will steal when she can. Had cats trained for 3 hr meals it was nice, was working towards 4 hr meals, husband I can't seem to train and now the 3 hr meals have turned into all day dining.

Ohhhhh. That helps a ton!! Yesterday I would watch him, watch the clock when it was coming up on trying to grab a BG & think "please don't wake up for a munchie" LOL! My guy has really learned to schedule himself so he doesn't put himself in pain. He literally eats slowly for about 2 mins at a time like clockwork. He sits, usually does a "just in case" brace for pain (kind of like you do when you know you've swallowed a big gulp of water too fast...you know you are probably going to get hit with a sudden but short pain) & the back up for a bath about a min later. He's robotic about it.

SO funny about your husband! Star chart? Reward system? LOL
 
Happy Friday to you & Mowgli as well :)!!

So, this is normal? Just kind of ride it along until Day 7?
I think it's normal! You could even see a difference before day 7!

Every cat is different, I find for Mowgli I start seeing a new dose affect him between 3 and 5 days after he starts it (6-10 cycles) especially after an increase.
 
Thats really good to know & gives me hope! Even before we started, the vet mentioned we may need to increase the dose, but he wanted to start at the 1U. When I looked at the formula it seemed maybe just a little low, but I appreciate a conservative approach especially when starting a new medication/insulin. I'm going to get the #s I have from yesterday & then the ones from today & tomorrow & hopefully touch base with him over the weekend once we have at least the 6 cycles.
 
Back
Top