Mr Sensitive's first day on lantus (Magellan)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julia Rae

Member Since 2015
Ok people here we go talked to the vet and he agrees that .5 is a good start point for Magellan. I also need to be prepared to up the does if he does not respond enough. Though not quite sure what amount of time is "enough" but this is a lot like voodoo to me so here we go and wish me luck.
 
You really want to hold the initial dose for 5-7 days to let his depot fill with Lantus (unless he earns a reduction during that time - with Magellan, that's actually a possibility)!! I think the 0.5U is a good starting point for him as he's proven himself to be very sensitive to insulin so using the weight-based calculation really wouldn't have worked well for him I don't think. I'm glad your vet is being conservative with the dosing as a starting point.

Oh, and it can seem a bit like voodoo for all of us - although we have methods for calculating doses and reductions, our cats don't read the rule books and often seem to do as they please with a dose!! Good luck with your first day on Lantus, and please keep us updated on how he's doing! :)
 
Will do so, not doing so would be beyond rude with all the help you and the others have give. Right now he is in his porno king pose and seems happy, not over sleepy or screaming at me for food so far so good.
 
Sounds as though he's happy with life at the moment! :D That really is good to hear - I hope Lantus is going to prove to be a much better insulin for him and control those fast drops a bit better so that you can have a bit more relaxation time too! :)
 
Yes to do such things as clean house, do the dishes and if I find time sleep! He had a minor jump on his blood sugars on hour +1 but I understand that is normal???
 
I know what you mean - there were days with Rosa early on where I'd suddenly remember I'd forgotten to even eat anything! A food spike around +1 is completely normal and nothing to worry about - and definitely better to see than the start of a BG crash that early in the cycle!! :)
 
Hello all I have a question on suggested dosage Magellan is 152 pmps and the info says 150 -200 give token or skip. Considering his hyper sensitivity to insulin what would you guys do??
 
Well, he was at 154 this morning and stayed fairly flat. That might well change as his depot builds, but because Lantus works differently, it's quite possible that he'd stay fairly flat again tonight. However, the final decision has to be yours - if you're not comfortable shooting that number, then you can of course skip and start over tomorrow.
 
As close as it to the do not shoot number I think I will skip better a bit high the the dives again thanks for the answer.
 
That's fine - you have to do what you're comfortable with for now until you know for sure how he reacts to Lantus. :) And skipping will give you a chance to sleep! :)
 
That and it is hotter then darn.. right now it is still 88 deg does high heat and humidity affect sugar kitties??
 
Isn't it just! It was still somewhere around 82 or 83 degrees outside here at 9pm - I'm not sure it's got any cooler even now! And apparently it's going to be even hotter over the next few days - I like a decent summer as much as anyone, but a few degrees cooler at least at night would be nice!

I guess as with people, the high heat and humidity might affect some sugar kitties. It certainly stops my 2 wanting to eat much for a lot of the day - and of course that alone can have an effect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top