Mr Ripley PMPS 159 (Lantus)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Mr Ripley PMPS 159

Yes, generally we tell newbies not to shoot under 200, but to wait - without feeding - and retest in 20 minutes. If the number has risen above 200, you can shoot, but perhaps a reduced amount. If he isn't rising but staying well below the 200 range for the next 30-60 minutes, it's best to skip, unless you can wait without completely throwing off your schedule.

You might add Lantus to your subject line so users can advise you on dose changes, if necessary.
 
It takes approximately 5 days for a change in dose to stabilize with Lantus.

Since you got to a "no shoot" level after a week on 1 unit Lantus, I would stick with the 0.5 for a good 5 days to see how it settles out.

What you want to get is a dose you can give every 12 hours without having to skip.

And always test before you shoot, for the safety of your cat; for now, continue with your "no shoot" level of 200. As you accumulate data, that number may be lowered gradually, as you learn what works for your cat.

Also, please read over How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!! and make sure you have a hypo kit available, should you need it. An oral syringe may be picked up at most pharmacies and can be used to syringe Karo or honey into a cat in hypo situations.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top