Mr Pou's mid-march thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrPou

Member
Hi everyone! We've been a little MIA for the last few days, I had company over and was extremely busy. We're back to normal now and ready to take high BGs by the horns. We really need a remission because I finish school at the end of April and I am moving 6hours away for 3 months... He howls in the car and would do so the entire ride......and I would have to drive him there and back here for September. If he's better, I can leave him here with my mom. But she is unable to care for him with diabetes full time.

I know you cannot force remissions but any ideas on how to give it our darndest shot? I read on another site that 6h shots might help? Anyone ever try this?

Also still no pee has gone to the vet, they only work 4 hours on weekends and don't send out labs, so we shall try again this week. New thing, he has a scab under his jaw, I have no clue where he got it from... Doesn't look like he cares about it.
 
Hi everyone! We've been a little MIA for the last few days, I had company over and was extremely busy. We're back to normal now and ready to take high BGs by the horns. We really need a remission because I finish school at the end of April and I am moving 6hours away for 3 months... He howls in the car and would do so the entire ride......and I would have to drive him there and back here for September. If he's better, I can leave him here with my mom. But she is unable to care for him with diabetes full time.

I know you cannot force remissions but any ideas on how to give it our darndest shot? I read on another site that 6h shots might help? Anyone ever try this?

Also still no pee has gone to the vet, they only work 4 hours on weekends and don't send out labs, so we shall try again this week. New thing, he has a scab under his jaw, I have no clue where he got it from... Doesn't look like he cares about it.
You can have remission as a goal but kitties have their own ideas about these things. If you had to take him with you you could try a small dose of a sedative maybe?
 
You can have remission as a goal but kitties have their own ideas about these things. If you had to take him with you you could try a small dose of a sedative maybe?
We will try anything for remission, does anyone have any cat hypnotherapy skills lol.... Yes we will have to figure something out.....
He is having such a great day!!! He's all cuddles and purrs right now, its adorable, he wont let me type!!!
 
WOW...check out the instant bounce! Grrrrrrr..... should I lower dosage for a week and see if he bounces less?
 
That does seem like a fast bounce. Any chance it's an error? Every once in awhile, especially if there is too much or too little blood, the meters will just read funny.
 
That does seem like a fast bounce. Any chance it's an error? Every once in awhile, especially if there is too much or too little blood, the meters will just read funny.

Maybe I didn't get enough blood I don't know anymore....But I think I needed to add blood at +7 so lets assume he was going back up then (as he usually does) this is still a bounce, should I reduce or keep this or go up? I still don't know when to do what, but when they bounce we shouldn't give more right? He is getting 1.2 AM and 1.0 PM.
 
Maybe I fed him to much? He ate at +6 and +7 some friskies turkey giblet (almost a meal of 1/4 cup)
 
Can we get insulin pumps for cats???

Gosh, i wish we could!!! wouldn't that just be so nice! Go on vacation, not have to worry about them....

Maybe I fed him to much? He ate at +6 and +7 some friskies turkey giblet (almost a meal of 1/4 cup)

I free feed and that does sometimes make me wonder about the mid-readings. Maybe that's why your kitty hit that high number?

As for dose, I'm not really qualified to give advice on that, but he doesn't seem that low at the mid-cycle to me. I guess it would depend on how bouncy your kitty is? Hopefully one of the experts will chime in before shot time!
 
His numbers seemed better on a lower dose (keep in mind the .8-.9 weren't accurately measured then), I will try a slight decrease this week and re-assess fri-sat-sun (I will be off those days) and I will also do my best to collect urine before hand and maybe solve this mystery.
 
I got some pee in the middle of the night but my vet's office said 2am pee is no good. I need to bring it within the hour?
Anyone else know about this kind of stuff?
But then the last pee test (with the same vet) I was told to put it in the fridge and bring it the next day.

Anyhow, I ran my own test and got :
negative ketone :smuggrin: YAY!
highest glucose (++++) (level 6)
low protein (1(17)) (level 2)
PH between 5-6 (level 1-2)
lower blood than last time (3rd level now when he was at level 7 before )
highest SG (1030)

(I forget the URO, NIT, LEU and BIL) - it was in the middle of the night..... I didn't write this down.

Anyhow take 2 this afternoon or tomorrow am to try and get the urine in ASAP and re-do my own too.

I will be home at about +6 cannot wait to check his BG, he got a .8 last night and this AM. I forgot to update AMPS but was about 17ish. I want to stop the bouncing!!! I will re-name him Mr Tigger if he keeps this up!
 
He has a UTI! We we're sold some Clavaseptin 62.5mg - anyone have any intel on this?
I've given Teasel Clavaseptin in the past (more than once) for UTIs. He tolerated it fairly well and continued eating, etc. while on it. They were tiny tablets that could be mixed into his food and apparently were flavoured for cats.
 
I've given Teasel Clavaseptin in the past (more than once) for UTIs. He tolerated it fairly well and continued eating, etc. while on it. They were tiny tablets that could be mixed into his food and apparently were flavoured for cats.
Thanks, he ate his like it was a treat (with a snack of course). I am so hopeful that we can get back on track after this! Should this affect his BG?
 
Thanks, he ate his like it was a treat (with a snack of course). I am so hopeful that we can get back on track after this! Should this affect his BG?
I don't think the meds will affect his BG. However, clearing up an infection could so watch him over the next few days. There should be a positive effect on the UTI in about 3 days or so.
 
Hi everyone!
We're doing well, finally a yellow PMPS. I am hopeful that this will help us get back on track!
He thinks the meds are treats so I am relieved I don't have to fight him over taking them.
I changed his feeder times to have a 4hour gap between his big meal and snacks (2 hours)
I am adding more water to his food too.
 
Well we're having some explosive litter box visits.....!!! Sounds like a an empty squeezable ketchup bottle!!! Poor guy....good thing I was here, his left paw was covered......yuk!!! His numbers aren't the best either.. Also my dog has a cold and I have wisdom tooth pain.....My gosh! I am taking the rest of the week off to care for us all.
 
Well we're having some explosive litter box visits.....!!! Sounds like a an empty squeezable ketchup bottle!!! Poor guy....good thing I was here, his left paw was covered......yuk!!! His numbers aren't the best either.. Also my dog has a cold and I have wisdom tooth pain.....My gosh! I am taking the rest of the week off to care for us all.
Poor you! I suspect it's the antibiotic. How is he feeling otherwise?
 
He's fine... I know its the antibiotic... I just finished 10 days for my tooth and had the same symptoms...In retrospect maybe adding more water to his diet may not be the best idea until he's off the meds!
 
Ugh! Been there with the AB causing some litter box...ummm...shall we say issues? Do you have any forti flora? I think that's a probiotic as well as being just tasty...might help.
 
Ugh! Been there with the AB causing some litter box...ummm...shall we say issues? Do you have any forti flora? I think that's a probiotic as well as being just tasty...might help.
Wow that looks like a great idea!!! Thanks for the tip, I will look for some!
 
Hooray for Fortiflora! It does take a couple of weeks to work, so it's not an immediate fix. I've heard Slippery Elm Bark is a more diarrhea-right-now kind of help. I've never used it, but if you search the forum, there are several threads that talk about it.

You might want to continue with the added water in the food though, since diarrhea can dehydrate kitties quickly. Hope you all feel better soon!
 
Hooray for Fortiflora! It does take a couple of weeks to work, so it's not an immediate fix. I've heard Slippery Elm Bark is a more diarrhea-right-now kind of help. I've never used it, but if you search the forum, there are several threads that talk about it.

You might want to continue with the added water in the food though, since diarrhea can dehydrate kitties quickly. Hope you all feel better soon!

Very good point about hydration, hopefully I can catch him every time he goes. I'll put his box in my bedroom at night even though I really don't like that idea, I rather clean him when he goes than clean the carpets floors and furniture! Its like melted peanut butter LOL.... I will give him a couple days to adjust and if not I'll look for slippery elm bark this weekend.
 
Oh, the things we do for our kitties! Agreed about not wanting to run around the house cleaning off poop-y footprints! Sending good thoughts for a quick recovery!
 
No poo in the night yay just 1 little pee! But high BG this am. I suspect he's bouncing from last night. Reducing to .6 for today to reassess dosage.
 
Today was a bad BG day! He barely ate his friskies, he had breakfast and didn't eat till I have him chicken and then decided he was hungry when he was in his 2 hours before PMPS... but he is in a good moods and is so cuddly.....Why are they so cute? Lets hope tomorrow is better for him. Good night all!
 
Today was a bad BG day! He barely ate his friskies, he had breakfast and didn't eat till I have him chicken and then decided he was hungry when he was in his 2 hours before PMPS... but he is in a good moods and is so cuddly.....Why are they so cute? Lets hope tomorrow is better for him. Good night all!
They're cute so we'll look after them come hell or high water! ;)
 
I cannot remember if I shot .6 or .8 doing the conversion this AM..............fuzzy brain....I should have my coffee before shooting! It will be a surprise day for us!
 
Maybe grab a +4 to see how fast he is dropping and from there you can decide if you need to get another at +5...
 
Lovely blues!
Too blue to be trueeeeeeee <3 (last test may be too little blood, it asked for more then it beeped on its own) - he's gone to eat now.

So I am on my last box of 50 strips again, ordering another 200! (We've gone through 350 since jan 7! WOW)
 
After having a pink day all day and seeing the same numbers over and over again, and giving the look to the glucometre, this morning he showed me a nice YELLOW AMPS! We lowered to .5 last night and this AM, I will test at +3 and +6 (if I can hold back from testing more!)

Also my mom caught him playing with a round LINDT chocolate (it was wrapped) but hilarious I swear he understands us! We hid the chocolate to make sure he doesn't actually eat any or really hide them around the house or give them to the dog.

Happy Sunday all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top