Mr. Pants thought he would get into brown sugar at midnight.‍♂️

Zach Pool

Member Since 2021
Just woke up at 1:11 a.m and found that my little guy got into the cupboard and chewed on the bag of brown sugar until he ripped it open and apparently licked and or ate a bite. BG was at 187...hopefully he wasnt low as he has been on .25 U twice a day because his needs have decreased. Brown sugar.......of all the things
 
That is funny. Do you have a spread sheet available for Mr. Pants. Also, you should put the date, his name, and your AMPS in the title. Alisa is right. It is amazing what cats will get in to.
Is AMPS his morning pre shot numbers? They were roughly the same....183 I believe. His pre shot pre meal numbers are typically 160-180...they'll go up to about 200 after the meal sometimes and level out around 100, 4 or 5 hours in....within the next 2 hours they will slowly rise back to 160-180. I havent filled out a spread sheet but that should give you a good idea. I'm also using an alpha trak so the numbers are a little lower than they would be with a human glucometer. He was still 186 this morning before he ate. He must not have got too much sugar.....he's more interested in the plastic bag it came in. I think all is well none the less.
 
Hi Zach,

Here is your last post from the Main forum: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ry-small-doses-eg-5u-bid.251804/#post-2841555

Cats metabolisms are fairly fast, so the brown sugar should be out of his system.

Any reason why you are not using a spreadsheet? We can't help you without seeing trends to see how low the dose takes the cat.

Also, an AlphaTrak reads higher than a human meter, not lower. This is why if you follow TR, the take action number on a human meter is 50 whereas it's 68 on a pet meter.

Have you read this yet? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/ We ask new members who have no signature or spreadsheet to post in the Welcome and Main forum until you get set up.
 
Back
Top