Mr.Moonie 3/1-AMPS=203/+3=136/+6=101/+9=120/+11=101/PMPS=123/+4=266

Beautiful blue cycle today! Have you decided on a dosing method? I'm sure you've read the yellow stickies at the top of this forum's page regarding the two different dosing methods...TR and SLGS.
I hope you're having a wonderful evening.
 
I've read both dosing methods, more than once, but it's still hard for me to understand fully. We have a second appointment with the new vet on the 9th, so I'm apprehensive to change much right now. I did go with a different food today and I think that's the difference. My funds are a bit more flexible than they have been the last 2 months making us able to go with a better food. It's really kinda scary/good to see that much blue though. Thanks for looking out.:cat:
 
It's really kinda scary/good to see that much blue though
It is scary at first. Wait til you get some greens in that SS. Eventually, when you get more comfortable, you will want to see more greens in the SS, and maybe start shooting those greens:D:D
 
I wasn't planning on doing an curve today, but with such low numbers, I thought I should keep a close eye. Yup...I'm nervous.
 
I wasn't planning on doing an curve today, but with such low numbers, I thought I should keep a close eye. Yup...I'm nervous.
Data is the key to helping alleviate some nervous feelings. As you collect increasing amounts of data, you'll begin to see patterns or trends. You'll be able to anticipate the times and #s you need to pay attention to. Eventually the nerves will fade(for the most part). It's good that you're getting the data. Moonie's lucky to have you!
 
Here's your last post on this forum, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-advice.225038/

Lovely numbers for Mr. Moonie today.
I've read both dosing methods, more than once, but it's still hard for me to understand fully. We have a second appointment with the new vet on the 9th, so I'm apprehensive to change much right now. I did go with a different food today and I think that's the difference.
What food were you feeding before today?

There are a few key differences between SLGS and TR. Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks more like an SLGS approach. You hold doses 7 days (unless a reduction is earned by going undr 90). You would also stay at the current dose with nadirs between 90 and 149, which you are seeing today. With SLGS you test AMPS and PMPS, do a curve once a week and spot checks when you can. With TR, you hold the dose 3-5 days. Reductions are earned by going under 50. You also test both preshots, and at least one other time in each cycle. Regardless of dosing method followed, it might be a good idea to try to regularly get a test before going to bed. Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on those lows.
 
Back
Top