? mr b's rollercoaster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Very Active Member
this little goofball of mine! Afrr making me crazy with reds is having a great day.

His pmps is 203. I'm not sure if i should dose or stall? Thoughts?
 
Holy moly, Jen! This is a wonderful PS. I think you have enough data to shoot 4 u if you can monitor tonight or you could stall 20 minutes or you could lower a tiny bit, say to 3.8 u. Lowering is my least favourite choice because of the battle you've had to get his numbers down.
 
Holy moly, Jen! This is a wonderful PS. I think you have enough data to shoot 4 u if you can monitor tonight or you could stall 20 minutes or you could lower a tiny bit, say to 3.8 u. Lowering is my least favourite choice because of the battle you've had to get his numbers down.
Thanks kris! I stalled but i'm dosing now.

Sorry teasel is giving you a hard time. Did i see black?
 
Holy moly, Jen! This is a wonderful PS. I think you have enough data to shoot 4 u if you can monitor tonight or you could stall 20 minutes or you could lower a tiny bit, say to 3.8 u. Lowering is my least favourite choice because of the battle you've had to get his numbers down.
Yes, black a while ago. He's been very fond of pink and red too these days. I'm happy to see a yellow.

Yay yellow!
 
Wow! That's great! You're getting some traction with Mr. B. This type of dosing - ie., giving a full dose at a low-ish number - is the best way to cut through any insulin resistance that might have developed. Yes, bouncing can happen but I think it's important to keep at it and not retreat. I'm trying to get Teasel "unstuck" by slowly raising his dose. It's a process ... :confused:
 
Wow! That's great! You're getting some traction with Mr. B. This type of dosing - ie., giving a full dose at a low-ish number - is the best way to cut through any insulin resistance that might have developed. Yes, bouncing can happen but I think it's important to keep at it and not retreat. I'm trying to get Teasel "unstuck" by slowly raising his dose. It's a process ... :confused:
You can imagine my surprise at his amps today!

TG i'm home testing now.

I have to go to work so hoping he wont go horribly high before i can get back.

Nice to see teasel doing better!
 
You can imagine my surprise at his amps today!

TG i'm home testing now.

I have to go to work so hoping he wont go horribly high before i can get back.

Nice to see teasel doing better!
This is great, Jen! I think you're close to breaking through that "glass floor" some refer to, meaning getting up to a dose range that has enough oomph to push numbers down into territory where they become more insulin sensitive.
 
This is great, Jen! I think you're close to breaking through that "glass floor" some refer to, meaning getting up to a dose range that has enough oomph to push numbers down into territory where they become more insulin sensitive.
Lovely! If he is high enough when you get back, you could give a tiny dose and shoot 8 hours later (if he is sure rising then).

See, those patience pants work!

thank you both! I dosed when i came home and found him in the red. It was 20 hours since his pm shot yesterday.

Could i have done anything differently today to have better results? I couldnt dose him before i left for work at 108. I dont know what else i could do.

So he's either bouncing now or was high because it had been so long since a dose. Hope this doenst throw us off..
 
thank you both! I dosed when i came home and found him in the red. It was 20 hours since his pm shot yesterday.

Could i have done anything differently today to have better results? I couldnt dose him before i left for work at 108. I dont know what else i could do.

So he's either bouncing now or was high because it had been so long since a dose. Hope this doenst throw us off..
Heavens! I see a blue at +6 after that red! You did the right thing - the red isn't surprising.
 
has your kitty been feeling better with these lower numbers? peeing less?
We've been up and down but overall yes the drinking and peeing have calmed down. He had been drinking a lot more and peeing oceans before we started seeing the blues making more appearances. Thank u!
 
Last edited:
That pink this AM isn't surprising. Don't lose heart.

I'm ok thank u! :) we're a little off track from trying to get back to a normal shot time, so i'm not surprised about the pink. Will be testing in a minute which will be +13. Overall he seems to feel better. He has even shown interest in getting on the couch again, which he hadnt been for months. He can make it with aid of a footstool.
 
We've been up and down but overall yes the drinking and peeing have calmed down. He had been drinking a lot more and peeing oceans before we started seeing the blues making more appearances. Thank u!
I had recently read a post by you where you were becoming very frustrated with his accidents... I'm glad it's lessened so things can get back to a more peaceful state. I know how stressful that can be, I've definitely been there.
 
I know isnt that bizarre? I cant figure him out. Yesterday he got full dose, stayed pink. Today he got less insulin and got yellow. But he sure went right up fast tonight. I really get confused.
The weirdness plus the recent blues are a hint that you're crossing some sort of threshold. Just keep at it!
 
wow ok he did better yesterday after a partial dose/fur shot than he is doing today on an increased dose.

he's drinking tons again. laying by the water bowl and drinking drinking drinking.

i'm feeling one of my meltdowns coming on. why is this so hard? how can daily results vary so widely? i just plain dont get it. i'm sorry i sound like a broken record but i dont understand.
 
Last edited:
wow ok he did better yesterday after a partial dose/fur shot than he is doing today on an increased dose.

he's drinking tons again. laying by the water bowl and drinking drinking drinking.

i'm feeling one of my meltdowns coming on. why is this so hard? how can daily results vary so widely? i just plain dont get it.
No meltdown required, Jen. You're just seeing the unpredictable responses of an unpredictable kitty. Mr. B. has been unregulated a long time (like my guy) so his insulin sensitivity is compromised and variable. This will improve when he's more consistently in lower numbers. Your job is to get him there slowly and patiently even though it's heartbreaking to see him not feeling well.

Don't forget - he went 22 hours without insulin because of a fur shot. Even though there was an unexpected yellow mid-day yesterday, he's still coming off of that. Keep giving 4.2 u for a few cycles to see what happens.
 
Last edited:
P.S. I have SS data only as far back as mid August but I've been toiling away at Teasel's dosing since his diagnosis in January of this year. He's been all over the place for months and months. I understand the frustration of having a hard to regulate kitty.
 
No meltdown required, Jen. You're just seeing the unpredictable responses of an unpredictably kitty. Mr. B. has been unregulated a long time (like my guy) so his insulin sensitivity is compromised and variable. This will improve when he's more consistently in lower numbers. Your job is to get him there slowly and patiently even though it's heartbreaking to see him not feeling well.

Don't forget - he went 22 hours without insulin because of a fur shot. Even though there was an unexpected yellow mid-day yesterday, he's still coming off of that. Keep giving 4.2 u for a few cycles to see what happens.

thanks kris. seems I keep getting into this cycle of acceptance and patience, and then I lose my mind a bit. I keep looking for a pattern so I can help him, plus I get scared that his unpredictability is going to lead to him one day getting too much insulin. I mean, seriously, with numbers all over the place how can I rule that out as a possibility? :( and his legs are really giving him a hard time today and I just fall apart. I know you understand.

thanks for your helpful words.
 
thanks kris. seems I keep getting into this cycle of acceptance and patience, and then I lose my mind a bit. I keep looking for a pattern so I can help him, plus I get scared that his unpredictability is going to lead to him one day getting too much insulin. I mean, seriously, with numbers all over the place how can I rule that out as a possibility? :( and his legs are really giving him a hard time today and I just fall apart. I know you understand.

thanks for your helpful words.

Glad to help, Jen. I think before you get into a jam with Mr. B. nosediving into hypo territory you'd have warning signs that the doses are becoming more effective, ie., you'd see more low blues and even greens. So far, his SS isn't showing that. Like Teasel he can be all over the map but he doesn't dive from red to green for example. You're doing enough testing to see what's going on and that's your best safeguard.

There are trends to be found on his SS: a) he doesn't nosedive as I just described; b) the last two weeks there are more blues through a cycle and there are more yellow preshots; c) he doesn't bounce super high - few reds and no blacks. It's a spread out pattern but it's there. Let's see what 4.2 u does tonight and again tomorrow. Don't sit too long at a dose if you get mostly yellow and pink. Pay more attention to the mid cycle numbers than the PSs - although they'll guide your dosing. Eventually you'll get to a dosing level where more blues pop up and stay a while. That's a sign of breaking through resistance. You'll know it when you see it.
 
Last edited:
Glad to help, Jen. I think before you get into a jam with Mr. B. nosediving into hypo territory you'd have warning signs that the doses are becoming more effective, ie., you'd see more low blues and even greens. So far, his SS isn't showing that. Like Teasel he can be all over the map but he doesn't dive from red to green for example. You're doing enough testing to see what's going on and that's your best safeguard.

There are trends to be found on his SS: a) he doesn't nosedive as I just described; b) the last two weeks there are more blues through a cycle and there are more yellow preshots; c) he doesn't bounce super high - few reds and no blacks. It's a spread out pattern but it's there. Let's see what 4.2 u does tonight and again tomorrow. Don't sit too long at a dose if you get mostly yellow and pink. Pay more attention to the mid cycle numbers than the PSs - although they'll guide your dosing. Eventually you'll get to a dosing level where more blues pop up and stay a while. That's a sign of breaking through resistance. You'll know it when you see it.
Thank you kris! You've taken a huge weight off my mind. I see what you mean. I'll keep on keeping on. And tonights pmps was at least not worse than earlier.
 
Glad to help, Jen. I think before you get into a jam with Mr. B. nosediving into hypo territory you'd have warning signs that the doses are becoming more effective, ie., you'd see more low blues and even greens. So far, his SS isn't showing that. Like Teasel he can be all over the map but he doesn't dive from red to green for example. You're doing enough testing to see what's going on and that's your best safeguard.

There are trends to be found on his SS: a) he doesn't nosedive as I just described; b) the last two weeks there are more blues through a cycle and there are more yellow preshots; c) he doesn't bounce super high - few reds and no blacks. It's a spread out pattern but it's there. Let's see what 4.2 u does tonight and again tomorrow. Don't sit too long at a dose if you get mostly yellow and pink. Pay more attention to the mid cycle numbers than the PSs - although they'll guide your dosing. Eventually you'll get to a dosing level where more blues pop up and stay a while. That's a sign of breaking through resistance. You'll know it when you see it.

Still pink at +4. Even higher than his Pmps! :banghead::banghead:
 
I think he's a bit stuck in pink right now. I suggest trying 4.4 u tonight. I wouldn't bother with a fat 4.2 u because 4.4 u is only a 5% increase and it's easier to measure on the syringe. Give that 2 or 3 cycles and if there's no real movement, go to 4.6 u. Don't linger at an ineffective dose.
 
thanks kris. seems I keep getting into this cycle of acceptance and patience, and then I lose my mind a bit. I keep looking for a pattern so I can help him, plus I get scared that his unpredictability is going to lead to him one day getting too much insulin. I mean, seriously, with numbers all over the place how can I rule that out as a possibility? :( and his legs are really giving him a hard time today and I just fall apart. I know you understand.

thanks for your helpful words.

I agree with Kri's dosing advice. One thing I'd like you to think about.. You ARE helping him, daily. Yes, he is unpredictable and may feel more like himself some days than others. But you test regularly and you are keeping him in safe levels (and even if he'd drop a little low, you know how to bring him up). He generally is in better numbers, improving, having more good days than bad - all gifts you have given him. And, as someone wise once said, he doesn't know he is "sick" with diabetes. He knows he is eating delicious food and getting lots of attention from him mommy.

Remember that breathing thing - breathe deeply and often. It really does help!
 
I think he's a bit stuck in pink right now. I suggest trying 4.4 u tonight. I wouldn't bother with a fat 4.2 u because 4.4 u is only a 5% increase and it's easier to measure on the syringe. Give that 2 or 3 cycles and if there's no real movement, go to 4.6 u. Don't linger at an ineffective dose.
I agree with Kri's dosing advice. One thing I'd like you to think about.. You ARE helping him, daily. Yes, he is unpredictable and may feel more like himself some days than others. But you test regularly and you are keeping him in safe levels (and even if he'd drop a little low, you know how to bring him up). He generally is in better numbers, improving, having more good days than bad - all gifts you have given him. And, as someone wise once said, he doesn't know he is "sick" with diabetes. He knows he is eating delicious food and getting lots of attention from him mommy.

Remember that breathing thing - breathe deeply and often. It really does help!

thank you, both. (inhaling deeply)

will increase tonight if he's still pink.
 
i increased last night
and i realize it was outside of protocol but i increased this am too
his +6 today is less than inspiring
 
Yellow's not bad, Jen. Stay with this dose the next couple of cycles. It might take some time to show its effect.

you're right. you know me - i was hoping for a better drop from an increased dose. just a few days ago he went into the blues after a lower dose, and it throws me off when i cant find a pattern. i know its an overall thing but ugh i am so so soooooooo sick of the pinks.

maybe he'll have a later nadir today. that can happen.

he hasn't pooped in a couple days but shows no distress. i'm also a little worried about that. its unusual for him.

thanks, kris!
 
If you can be around to do more testing this weekend (sooner if possible) you might try pushing him a little dose-wise, maybe increase by 0.2 u after 2 cycles until some blues pop up. Then, once you have a feel for how low these blues are, start pushing again providing you can monitor. It's nerve-wracking but if you can monitor and steer with food if needed you might shift him out of the dosing doldrums.
 
If you can be around to do more testing this weekend (sooner if possible) you might try pushing him a little dose-wise, maybe increase by 0.2 u after 2 cycles until some blues pop up. Then, once you have a feel for how low these blues are, start pushing again providing you can monitor. It's nerve-wracking but if you can monitor and steer with food if needed you might shift him out of the dosing doldrums.

I'm going to try that, i think.
 
I feel like I'm reading some of my own posts!! Jen I feel your pain! Have you asked your Vet about possibly using Glucosamine/Chondroition for his legs? Chuck has arthritis in his backend... Vet said it's probably from the diabetes and once his BG is regulated better he'll get better but I started him on the supplement before the new vet. She thought if it was working I should continue it. I have discontinued it recently... I plan on starting it again soon. It made a big difference in his hind end so when I read your baby was having issues I wondered if you have considered it.
 
I feel like I'm reading some of my own posts!! Jen I feel your pain! Have you asked your Vet about possibly using Glucosamine/Chondroition for his legs? Chuck has arthritis in his backend... Vet said it's probably from the diabetes and once his BG is regulated better he'll get better but I started him on the supplement before the new vet. She thought if it was working I should continue it. I have discontinued it recently... I plan on starting it again soon. It made a big difference in his hind end so when I read your baby was having issues I wondered if you have considered it.
Sorry i somehow was not getting notifications! Just saw your reply now.

We used dasuquin which didnt seem to make a difference. I think that because mr b's bg has been unregulated for so long, nothing isgoing to turn around his leg issues until we get regulaged for a while, which i am beginning to doubt strongly that regulation will ever happen.

We do zobaline for neuropathy though also cannot tell if makes a difference.

Right now i'm trying to figure out if he's on too much insulin or too little. Either way he's in the 300's a lot of the time and i'm going insane.

Thanks for your suggestion!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top