max&emmasmommie
Member Since 2012
***The body of this post is exactly the same as "Newbie asks: Time to raise the dose? +200 pt swings," but with a different Subject Line to make sure people who would respond to a time change question (but not a dose change question) will read it.
The intersection of these issues is troublesome. I read the post at http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65070, but I hope I can move the time of the shot more than 4 times in a week byt 15 minute increments and/or more than 2 times in a week by 1/2 hour increments. In fact, that post seems to indicate that I could, in theory, move the dose back an entire hour at once when we consider my cat's current high BG values. Nonetheless, I'm worried about bouncing/Somogyi effect due to a sudden jump like that being the equivalent of a dose increase. Adding in the .25 dose increase he seems to need just makes it that much more problematic. God forbid he needs another .25 increase about a week after the first one. Messy, huh?***
Hello everyone, and good morning. I'm not getting good test results.
Max acts very normal. He goes outside, he is not waking us up early in the morning for food. He cleaned his bowl while we slept last night and was hungry this morning at 9:00. He looks good -- clean, fluffy, not oily or with spiky fur. He's using his litter box or going to the bathroom outside. He's not drinking as much water as he used to.
Last night his BG values went from 474 at PMPS time to 260 at +3 to 474 at +11. I don't know what it was at +6 or at +9. This can't be good for him, his liver or his kidneys, let alone his other organs.
1. Dose incorrect? Max's BG readings are not leveling out. I haven't had time to do a full curve yet, and I didn't get far with the mini curve I tried to do last night. However, I do believe that this dose (2u) is not working out. Please take a look at the spreadsheet. As to food, today he is having 1/4 can Hills m/d mixed with 3/4 can Wellness Beef and Chicken. Tomorrow it will be 1/8 Hills, and Sunday, he will be eating only Wellness. If I do increase the dose I intend to increase it by only .25u. Before I do, do I need more BG level information? If so, do I need a full curve or could I use a mini curve?
2. A complication: I need to change his shot time by 2 hours. He was getting it at 10:00, and I just gave him one at 9:45. We are leaving on vacation in 9 days, and the cat sitter needs to give him his shot at 8:15 or 8:30. So, I'm planning to move his shot time back 1/2 hour for a day, then another 1/2 hour for a day, and so on. I'll run full curve once we are firmly established at 8:15. Questions: 1. Should I move it by only 15 minute increments? 2. Can I move it EVERY shot time, or only once a day?
3. How many days of a new dose should pass before I leave? In order to know if the new 2.25u is working, I need his shot time to be stable, right? If so, it will take me until the day before we leave to get an answer if I move the shot time only once a day by only 15 minutes. If I move it twice a day, we'll be done in 3 1/2 days. Likewise, if I move it by 1/2 hour increments only once a day, we'll be there in 3 1/2 days. However, I could get there in 2 days if I move it twice a day by 1/2 an hour each time. Then, I would have over 5 days at 2.25u without any movement of the time going on, and I could run a full curve. Then, I could raise it again if I had to.
4. Leaving him at above 200 at PS time for a couple of weeks? I hate to raise the dose right before we leave. I'm worried that the pet sitter will not be able to test him, and he'll be on a new dose without monitoring. If his AMPS and PMPS levels are above 200 for the 10 days we are gone, and I can get them down shortly after we get back, that's better than risking a Hypo. Any comments?
Thank you.
The intersection of these issues is troublesome. I read the post at http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65070, but I hope I can move the time of the shot more than 4 times in a week byt 15 minute increments and/or more than 2 times in a week by 1/2 hour increments. In fact, that post seems to indicate that I could, in theory, move the dose back an entire hour at once when we consider my cat's current high BG values. Nonetheless, I'm worried about bouncing/Somogyi effect due to a sudden jump like that being the equivalent of a dose increase. Adding in the .25 dose increase he seems to need just makes it that much more problematic. God forbid he needs another .25 increase about a week after the first one. Messy, huh?***
Hello everyone, and good morning. I'm not getting good test results.
Max acts very normal. He goes outside, he is not waking us up early in the morning for food. He cleaned his bowl while we slept last night and was hungry this morning at 9:00. He looks good -- clean, fluffy, not oily or with spiky fur. He's using his litter box or going to the bathroom outside. He's not drinking as much water as he used to.
Last night his BG values went from 474 at PMPS time to 260 at +3 to 474 at +11. I don't know what it was at +6 or at +9. This can't be good for him, his liver or his kidneys, let alone his other organs.
1. Dose incorrect? Max's BG readings are not leveling out. I haven't had time to do a full curve yet, and I didn't get far with the mini curve I tried to do last night. However, I do believe that this dose (2u) is not working out. Please take a look at the spreadsheet. As to food, today he is having 1/4 can Hills m/d mixed with 3/4 can Wellness Beef and Chicken. Tomorrow it will be 1/8 Hills, and Sunday, he will be eating only Wellness. If I do increase the dose I intend to increase it by only .25u. Before I do, do I need more BG level information? If so, do I need a full curve or could I use a mini curve?
2. A complication: I need to change his shot time by 2 hours. He was getting it at 10:00, and I just gave him one at 9:45. We are leaving on vacation in 9 days, and the cat sitter needs to give him his shot at 8:15 or 8:30. So, I'm planning to move his shot time back 1/2 hour for a day, then another 1/2 hour for a day, and so on. I'll run full curve once we are firmly established at 8:15. Questions: 1. Should I move it by only 15 minute increments? 2. Can I move it EVERY shot time, or only once a day?
3. How many days of a new dose should pass before I leave? In order to know if the new 2.25u is working, I need his shot time to be stable, right? If so, it will take me until the day before we leave to get an answer if I move the shot time only once a day by only 15 minutes. If I move it twice a day, we'll be done in 3 1/2 days. Likewise, if I move it by 1/2 hour increments only once a day, we'll be there in 3 1/2 days. However, I could get there in 2 days if I move it twice a day by 1/2 an hour each time. Then, I would have over 5 days at 2.25u without any movement of the time going on, and I could run a full curve. Then, I could raise it again if I had to.
4. Leaving him at above 200 at PS time for a couple of weeks? I hate to raise the dose right before we leave. I'm worried that the pet sitter will not be able to test him, and he'll be on a new dose without monitoring. If his AMPS and PMPS levels are above 200 for the 10 days we are gone, and I can get them down shortly after we get back, that's better than risking a Hypo. Any comments?
Thank you.